Sustainable for qualitative growth

Ensuring resilience

Stability and growth

The stability of the financial system is a fundamental prerequisite for the sustainable development of the Swiss economy. The Federal Council is committed to the swift conclusion of the regulatory work that remains to be completed in the area of too-big-to-fail. It implements international standards (specifically Basel III) in step with other major financial centres. The FDF regularly reviews the regulatory framework as regards the risks stemming from systemically important financial institutions.

Crisis resistance

Thanks to a sustainable financial policy, the Federal Council ensures that it has sufficient room for manoeuvre to react swiftly and effectively to future crises. It combats excessive debt in the corporate sector and households, removes false incentives and designs the framework such that insurable risks can be covered and corresponding solutions are available on the market. At international level, within the IMF and the G20 Finance Track, the FDF advocates a sustainable global financial architecture, as well as transparent and sound public finances and debt.

Increasing transparency for sustainable investment

Sustainable finance

The Swiss financial centre should further strengthen its position as a leading location for sustainable financial services.15 The framework conditions should be designed to ensure that the competitiveness of Switzerland's financial centre is continuously improved and the financial sector can make an effective contribution to sustainability. For financial markets to adequately take environmental risks into account, it is an important precondition that a high-quality data basis in both the financial sector and the real economy is available, taking international standards into account. Moreover, increased transparency on environmental risks and environmental impact allows investors to make decisions efficiently, promotes innovation capabilities in the financial sector and helps to avoid greenwashing. In order that risks to financial market players are more clearly visible and palpable, external costs of environmental and climate damage from economic activities in the real economy need to be internalised. The Federal Council continues to advocate at international level that greenhouse gas emissions should be appropriately priced using market economy tools, such as charges or emissions trading systems.

Green fintech

Thanks to the more efficient use of digital technology, fintechs are becoming increasingly important for the financial centre, either by acting as innovation partners of traditional financial players or occasionally by replacing their value added. Fintechs are thus essential for the future sustainability and competitiveness of the Swiss financial centre. The Federal Council will position the Swiss financial centre as a global leader in exploiting the potential of digital technology in the area of sustainable finance (green fintech).

Combating financial crime

Money laundering and terrorism financing

The Federal Council greatly values the integrity of the financial centre and has made huge efforts in recent years to identify risks early and improve the mechanism for combating money laundering and terrorist financing. This includes that the relevant international standards are being implemented in national legislation in an efficient and tailored manner. The Federal Council views an effective mechanism for combating financial crime as a prerequisite for the good reputation and sustainable success of a world-leading financial centre. At international level within the FATF, the FDF advocates effective and appropriate solutions, as well as globally harmonised implementation of standards, for example as regards the revision of recommendations on transparency and identifying the beneficial owner in the case of legal entities. The Federal Council will examine whether additional measures may be needed owing to new developments in Switzerland, and involves Parliament and interested groups at an early stage.

Illegal financial flows

The Federal Council is committed to ensuring that causes of illegal financial flows (drugs trade, terrorism, corruption, tax evasion and money laundering) can be effectively combated. In the international debate on illegal financial flows, it advocates appropriate and globally balanced solutions. The FDF, together with the competent offices, coordinates the measures at international level, thereby ensuring the integrity and competitiveness of the financial centre. The FDF maintains its commitment in matters regarding international tax administrative assistance and examines the option of automatic exchange of information (AEIO) with other states and territories that meet the criteria of the global AEIO standard, and particularly with emerging market and developing countries. The Federal Council is committed to repatriating illegally obtained assets and ensures effective international cooperation among judicial authorities. Where there are illegal financial flows which threaten Switzerland's integrity as a financial centre and tax location, the Federal Council raises this for discussion, both bilaterally and within international bodies. As part of technical assistance, Switzerland assists affected states in strengthening their institutions to combat illegal financial flows.

Cyber-risks

The FDF supports financial service providers and the competent authorities with regard to prevention, incident management and improving resilience to cyber-risks. In addition, it is setting up a cybersecurity crisis organisation to deal with cyber-risks in the financial sector, and ensures close cooperation with the National Cybersecurity Centre (NCSC). This supports the industry in developing stable and secure electronic payment systems and value storage systems.

Last modification 22.01.2021

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/zusammenfassung/handlungsfelder/nachhaltig-qualitatives-wachstum.html

Nachhaltig für ein qualitatives Wachstum

Resilienz sichern

Stabilität und Wachstum

Die Stabilität des Finanzsystems ist eine grundlegende Voraussetzung für die nachhaltige Entwicklung der Schweizer Volkswirtschaft. Der Bundesrat strebt einen raschen Abschluss der noch verbleibenden regulatorischen Arbeiten im Bereich Too big to fail an. Er setzt die internationalen Standards im Gleichschritt mit anderen bedeutenden Finanzplätzen um (namentlich Basel III). Das EFD prüft regelmässig die regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen zu Risiken systemrelevanter Finanzinstitute.

Krisenfestigkeit

Dank einer nachhaltigen Finanzpolitik sorgt der Bundesrat dafür, dass er genügend Handlungsspielraum hat, um im Falle künftiger Krisen rasch und effektiv reagieren zu können. Er bekämpft eine übermässige Verschuldung von Unternehmen und Privathaushalten, beseitigt Fehlanreize und setzt die Rahmenbedingungen so, dass versicherbare Risiken abgedeckt werden können und entsprechende Lösungen am Markt bestehen. Auf internationaler Ebene setzt sich das EFD im IWF und im G20 Finance Track ein für eine nachhaltige globale Finanzarchitektur sowie für transparente und solide öffentliche Finanzen und Schulden.

Transparenz für nachhaltige Investitionen erhöhen

Sustainable Finance

Der Schweizer Finanzplatz soll seine Position als führender Standort für nachhaltige Finanzdienstleistungen weiter stärken.15 Die Rahmenbedingungen sind so zu gestalten, dass die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Schweizer Finanzplatzes kontinuierlich verbessert wird und der Finanzsektor einen effektiven Beitrag zur Nachhaltigkeit leisten kann. Damit die Finanzmärkte die Umweltrisiken gebührend berücksichtigen können, ist es eine wichtige Voraussetzung, dass sowohl in der Finanz- wie auch der Realwirtschaft eine qualitativ hochwertige Datengrundlage in Anlehnung an internationale Standards vorhanden ist. Eine erhöhte Transparenz zu Umweltrisiken und -wirkung erlaubt zudem eine effiziente Entscheidungsfindung der Anleger, fördert die Innovationskraft der Finanzwirtschaft und hilft, Greenwashing zu vermeiden. Damit die Risiken für die Finanzmarktakteure klarer sicht- und spürbar werden, müssen die externen Kosten der Umwelt- und Klimaschädigung von wirtschaftlichem Handeln in der Realwirtschaft internalisiert werden. Der Bundesrat setzt sich weiterhin international dafür ein, dass Emissionen von Treibhausgasen anhand marktwirtschaftlicher Instrumente, wie Abgaben oder Emissionshandelssystemen, einen adäquaten Preis bekommen.

Green Fintech

Dank der effizienteren Nutzung digitaler Technologien werden Fintechs für den Finanzplatz zunehmend an Bedeutung gewinnen, entweder indem sie als Innovationspartner traditioneller Finanzakteure auftreten oder indem sie deren Wertschöpfung punktuell ablösen. Für die Nachhaltigkeit und künftige Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Schweizer Finanzplatzes sind Fintechs daher von zentraler Bedeutung. Der Bundesrat positioniert den Finanzplatz Schweiz als weltweit führend in der Ausnützung des Potenzials digitaler Technologien im Bereich Sustainable Finance (Green Fintech).

Kriminalität auf dem Finanzplatz bekämpfen

Geldwäscherei und Terrorismusfinanzierung

Der Bundesrat legt hohen Wert auf die Integrität des Finanzplatzes und hat in den vergangenen Jahren grosse Anstrengungen unternommen, um Risiken frühzeitig zu erkennen und das Dispositiv zur Bekämpfung von Geldwäscherei und Terrorismusfinanzierung zu verbessern. In diesem Rahmen sollen auch einschlägige internationale Standards effizient und massgeschneidert in nationales Recht umgesetzt werden. Der Bundesrat erachtet ein effektives Dispositiv zur Bekämpfung von Finanzkriminalität als Voraussetzung für die gute Reputation und den nachhaltigen Erfolg eines global führenden Finanzplatzes. Auf internationaler Ebene setzt sich das EFD in den Arbeiten der FATF für effektive und sachgerechte Lösungen sowie eine weltweit einheitliche Umsetzung der Standards ein, beispielsweise zur Revision der Empfehlung zur Transparenz und Feststellung des wirtschaftlich Berechtigten bei juristischen Personen. Der Bundesrat prüft, ob aufgrund neuer Entwicklungen in der Schweiz weitere Massnahmen erforderlich sind und bezieht das Parlament und die interessierten Kreise frühzeitig mit ein.

Illegale Finanzflüsse

Der Bundesrat setzt sich dafür ein, dass die den illegalen Finanzflüssen zugrundeliegenden Ursachen (wie Drogenhandel, Terrorismus, Korruption, Steuerhinterziehung und Geldwäscherei) wirksam bekämpft werden. Er wirkt in der internationalen Debatte zu illegalen Finanzflüssen darauf hin, dass sachgerechte und global ausgewogene Lösungen erarbeitet werden. Das EFD koordiniert mit den zuständigen Ämtern die Massnahmen auf internationaler Ebene und sorgt dabei für die Integrität und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Finanzplatzes. Das EFD engagiert sich weiterhin bei der internationalen Steueramtshilfe und prüft die Einführung des automatischen Informationsaustauschs über Finanzkonten (AIA) mit weiteren Staaten und Territorien, welche die Voraussetzungen des globalen AIA-Standards erfüllen, so insbesondere auch mit Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern. Der Bundesrat engagiert sich bei der Rückführung von unrechtmässig erworbenen Vermögenswerten und sorgt für eine wirksame internationale Zusammenarbeit der Justizbehörden. Wo illegale Finanzflüsse bestehen, welche die Integrität des Finanz- und Steuerstandorts Schweiz gefährden, bringt er dies bilateral und im Rahmen internationaler Gremien in die Diskussion ein. Im Rahmen der technischen Unterstützung hilft die Schweiz betroffenen Staaten bei der Stärkung ihrer Institutionen zur Bekämpfung von illegalen Finanzflüssen.

Cyberrisiken

Das EFD unterstützt die Finanzdienstleister und zuständigen Behörden bei der Prävention, der Bewältigung von Vorfällen und der Verbesserung der Resilienz gegenüber Cyberrisiken. Zudem schafft es eine Organisation zur Bewältigung von Cyberkrisen im Finanzsektor und stellt hiermit die enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Nationalen Zentrum für Cybersicherheit (NCSC) sicher. Dies unterstützt die Branche bei der Entwicklung von stabilen und sicheren elektronischen Zahlungs- und Wertaufbewahrungssystemen.

Letzte Änderung 22.01.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/finanzmarktpolitik/zusammenfassung/handlungsfelder/nachhaltig-qualitatives-wachstum.html