Leading worldwide, rooted in Switzerland: Policy for a future-proof Swiss financial centre

A strong financial centre is key for the Swiss economy and Switzerland's standing as an international location. Switzerland should therefore maintain its place among world-leading, modern and globally active financial centres. The Federal Council wants to assist and support this with a sound and dynamic financial market policy.

This financial market policy builds on traditional Swiss strengths such as high productivity, stability, security and trust. In order to maintain a leading position on the international stage in the future while also meeting the needs of the population, these strengths need to be combined with an openness for new technological and international developments, and efforts to increase international competitiveness. In its new strategy presented here, the Federal Council has therefore defined nine specific areas of action for a future-proof Swiss financial centre under the three key thrusts "innovative", "interconnected" and "sustainable".

Policy for a future-proof Swiss financial centreinnovativeinterconnectedsustainable

Innovative

Existing and new financial centre players must be able to exploit the many possibilities offered by new technologies and data-driven business models in an optimal manner. To enable this, the Federal Council is creating a technology-neutral regulatory framework for digital access, digitalising the interfaces with the authorities and promoting innovation in the financial sector.

Interconnected

The international financial market regulatory framework is constantly being refined in the competent international bodies. Through its active involvement in the framework design, the Federal Council represents Switzerland's interests, also with the aim of improving market access from Switzerland. The Federal Council provides attractive and internationally compatible conditions which ensure that the financial centre has global reach. The Federal Council supports the financial sector in communicating its appeal to an international audience.

Sustainable

For financial service providers, as for all sectors of the economy, sustainable growth in all its aspects is the only viable path for future development. This involves not only the fundamental stability of the Swiss financial sector, its integrity and the effective combating of criminal risks, but also – against the background of the 2030 Agenda and especially climate change – tools to ensure the measurability and transparency of service quality and of effective product prices.

Last modification 22.01.2021

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/zusammenfassung.html

Weltweit führend, verankert in der Schweiz: Politik für einen zukunftsfähigen Finanzplatz Schweiz

Ein starker Finanzplatz ist für die Schweizer Volkswirtschaft und ihre internationale Standortqualität entscheidend. Der Finanzplatz Schweiz soll daher weiterhin zu den weltweit führenden, modernen und global tätigen Finanzplätzen gehören. Der Bundesrat will das mit einer soliden, dynamischen Finanzmarktpolitik begleiten und unterstützen.

Diese Finanzmarktpolitik baut auf den traditionellen Schweizer Stärken wie hoher Produktivität, Stabilität, Sicherheit und Vertrauen auf. Um in Zukunft international zu bestehen und gleichzeitig den Bedürfnissen der Bevölkerung entsprechen zu können, ist eine Kombination dieser Stärken mit Offenheit für neue technologische und internationale Entwicklungen und dem Streben nach Steigerung der internationalen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit nötig. Deshalb hat der Bundesrat in seiner vorliegenden neuen Strategie unter den drei Stossrichtungen «innovativ», «vernetzt» und «nachhaltig» neun konkrete Handlungsfelder für einen zukunftsfähigen Finanzplatz Schweiz definiert.

Politik für einen zukunftsfähigen Finanzplatz Schweizinnovativvernetztnachhaltig

Innovativ

Bisherige und neue Akteure des Finanzplatzes müssen die vielfältigen Möglichkeiten neuer Technologien und datenbasierter Geschäftsmodelle optimal nutzen können. Dazu gestaltet der Bundesrat die regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen für den digitalen Zugang technologieneutral, digitalisiert die Schnittstellen zu den Behörden und fördert die Innovation im Finanzbereich.

Vernetzt

Das internationale Regelwerk im Finanzmarkt entwickelt sich in den zuständigen internationalen Gremien ständig weiter. Der Bundesrat vertritt aktiv und gestaltend die Schweizer Interessen, auch mit dem Ziel, den Marktzugang aus der Schweiz heraus zu verbessern. Er sorgt für attraktive und international kompatible Rahmenbedingungen, die dem Finanzplatz eine globale Reichweite ermöglichen. Der Bundesrat unterstützt die Fi-nanzbranche dabei, ihre Attraktivität international zu kommunizieren.

Nachhaltig

Nachhaltiges Wachstum in allen seinen Dimensionen ist auch für Finanzdienstleister der einzige zukunftsfähige Entwicklungspfad. Dazu gehören nicht nur die fundamentale Systemstabilität des Finanzsektors, seine Integrität und die wirksame Bekämpfung der Risiken im kriminellen Bereich, sondern vor dem Hintergrund der Agenda 2030 und insbesondere des Klimawandels auch Instrumente zur Messbarkeit und Transparenz der Qualität der Dienstleistungen und der effektiven Preise der Produkte.

Letzte Änderung 22.01.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/finanzmarktpolitik/zusammenfassung.html