Illicit financial flows

How Switzerland supports the fight against financial crime, corruption, tax evasion and over-indebtedness, and furthers the recovery of assets

  • The Swiss financial centre is one of the world's most important and has a strong international focus.

  • As with all financial centres, there is a risk of abuse. Switzerland has taken many steps to mitigate this risk as far as possible.

  • Switzerland acknowledges the problem of illicit financial flows and has committed to internationally established standards to combat financial crime, tax evasion, money laundering and corruption.

  • In recent years, Switzerland has made a substantial contribution to the development of international standards, which it then transposes into national law and enforces effectively.

  • As part of its development cooperation, Switzerland has long supported programmes in developing countries to strengthen the institutions that counter illicit financial flows.

o   Automatic exchange of financial account information (AEOI)

Switzerland has participated in the AEOI mechanism since 2017 and has signed AEOI agreements with around 100 partner states, including emerging and developing countries. In principle, Switzerland applies AEOI with all states and territories which meet the requirements of the OECD standard (particularly regarding the legal basis required for implementation, as well as confidentiality and data security) and which have expressed an interest in implementing AEOI with Switzerland.
In 2019, Switzerland transmitted data on some 3.1 million financial accounts to partner states.

o   Administrative assistance

Within the framework of mutual administrative assistance in tax matters, tax authorities provide tax-related information in accordance with the international standard. Switzerland's network for requesting mutual administrative assistance in tax matters currently comprises 141 states. From 2015 to 2018, Switzerland responded to over 3,000 requests (more than almost any other country). In March 2020, the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes rated Switzerland's implementation of international administrative assistance in tax matters as "largely compliant".

o   Legal assistance

Within the framework of international mutual legal assistance, the Swiss judicial authorities cooperate with their counterparts abroad in cases of cross-border crime. This has included some large-scale cases such as Petrobras (Brazil) and 1MDB (Malaysia). From 2014 to 2018, Switzerland received more than 10,000 requests for mutual legal assistance from abroad.

o   Prevention of base erosion and profit shifting by companies (BEPS)

Switzerland exchanges country-by-country reports in implementation of the OECD minimum standard to prevent base erosion and profit shifting. The BEPS standard requires all large multinational enterprises to report on the global distribution of their revenues and taxes paid. Switzerland currently exchanges such information with the tax authorities of over 50 partner states, including emerging economies, and is open to extending this in the future to all countries that comply with the international standards. The information in the country-by-country reports is used for risk assessment by tax authorities and is not intended for public disclosure.

o   Anti-money laundering/countering the financing of terrorism (AML/CFT)

Switzerland has adapted its AML/CFT legislation several times in recent years in compliance with international standards. The global coordinating body (FATF) has consistently found that Switzerland's structures are generally sound and effective. In the past several years, Switzerland has strengthened its preventive legal framework, especially in relation to politically exposed persons (PEPs), and has improved the transparency of beneficial owners (e.g. by abolishing anonymous bearer shares) and added tax fraud as a predicate offence. In 2018, the Money Laundering Reporting Office Switzerland (MROS) received over 6,000 suspicious activity reports. This was twice as many as in 2016, testifying to the high level of awareness in the financial sector. Within the framework of international development cooperation, Switzerland also supports various global initiatives to strengthen AML/CFT capacity in recipient countries.

o   Extractive sector

Switzerland supports the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) through funding and representation on the EITI Board. The revised Swiss company law will introduce new disclosure requirements for commodity firms. Companies operating in the extractive sector will be required to disclose payments of CHF 100,000 or more made to government agencies. In its 2018 report on the extractive sector, the Federal Council reaffirmed Switzerland's commitment, particularly through cooperation programmes with developing and Eastern European countries that have an extractive industry and in relation to AML/CFT efforts.

o   Asset recovery

If – despite the comprehensive preventive measures in place – assets originating from offences listed in the United Nations Convention against Corruption (corruption, money laundering, etc.) enter the Swiss financial sector, Switzerland is prepared to provide assistance, within the framework of mutual legal assistance in criminal matters, to freeze these assets with a view to their confiscation and, where appropriate, their return. Switzerland has acquired considerable experience and achieved concrete results in the area of asset return. Over the past thirty years, Switzerland has returned more than USD 2 billion to the benefit of affected populations in countries such as Nigeria, the Philippines, Peru, Angola and Kazakhstan. Its pioneering role in this field is internationally recognised. This restitution mechanism is an important pillar of Swiss anti-corruption policy.

Further information can be found on the website of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), see link.

o   Anti-corruption

Switzerland is an active member of several international anti-corruption mechanisms, such as the G20 anti-corruption working group, the OECD Convention on Combating Bribery of Foreign Public Officials in International Business Transactions, the Criminal Law Convention on Corruption of the Council of Europe, and the United Nations Convention against Corruption. Switzerland also engages in anti-corruption dialogue with international sports federations. In its development cooperation, Switzerland contributes to strengthening anti-corruption and financial supervisory authorities and the International Organization of Supreme Audit Institutions (INTOSAI). Furthermore, close cooperation with foreign investigative agencies and the analysis of suspicious activity reports by Switzerland's financial intelligence unit (MROS) have helped in the detection of several international corruption cases.

o   Institutional strengthening and capacity development

Capacity development helps to strengthen state institutions in developing and emerging countries. This includes efforts to establish an efficient correspondent banking network (through initiatives within the Financial Stability Board). Switzerland supports the Global Forum's 2017 plan of action to assist developing countries in building the necessary capacity for the automatic exchange of information (human resources, IT infrastructure, legal framework, risk management). Switzerland also makes financial contributions to the IMF's AML/CFT Topical Trust Fund, the Inter-American Center of Tax Administrations (CIAT), the African Tax Administration Forum (ATAF) and the World Bank's Global Tax Programme (GTP), among others, thereby giving developing countries a voice in international tax discussions.

o   Debt sustainability

At the core of the debt problem are weak institutions and misaligned economic policies in indebted countries. Switzerland therefore advocates structural reforms and a more transparent set of analytical tools for debt sustainability, primarily in the IMF, the World Bank and the G20. Through its development cooperation, Switzerland is one of the world's largest providers of technical assistance for debt management and the mobilisation of domestic revenue in developing countries. Switzerland thereby supports various IMF and World Bank initiatives, as well as efforts by the UNCTAD Debt Management and Financial Analysis System to improve debt recording and reporting.                                                                                                         

Last modification 09.10.2020

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/illicit-financial-flows/iff.html

Illegale Finanzflüsse

Wie die Schweiz Finanzkriminalität, Korruption, Steuerhinterziehung und Überschuldung bekämpft und die Rückerstattung von Vermögenswerten fördert:  

  • Der Finanzplatz Schweiz gehört zu den bedeutendsten der Welt und ist international ausgerichtet.

  • Wie bei allen Finanzplätzen der Welt besteht das Risiko von Missbräuchen. Die Schweiz hat vieles getan, um diese Risiken so weit wie möglich zu verringern.

  • Die Schweiz anerkennt die Problematik der illegalen Finanzflüsse[1] und bekennt sich zu international etablierten Standards in der Bekämpfung von Finanzkriminalität, Steuerhinterziehung, Geldwäscherei und Korruption.

  • Die Schweiz hat in den vergangenen Jahren grosse Anstrengungen unternommen, um an der Entwicklung internationaler Standards mitzuwirken und sie anschliessend in nationales Recht umzusetzen und effizient zu vollziehen.

  • Die Schweiz unterstützt im Rahmen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit seit langem Programme zur Stärkung von Institutionen in Entwicklungsländern, die illegalen Finanzflüssen entgegenwirken.

o   Automatischer Informationsaustausch (AIA) zu Finanzkonten

Die Schweiz setzt den automatischen Informationsaustausch über Finanzkonten (AIA) seit 2017 um und hat diesen inzwischen mit rund hundert Partnerstaaten eingeführt, darunter auch mit Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern. Grundsätzlich führt die Schweiz den AIA mit allen Staaten und Territorien durch, welche die Voraussetzungen des OECD-Standards erfüllen (insb. für die Umsetzung erforderliche Rechtsgrundlagen, Vertraulichkeit und Datensicherheit) und die ein Interesse am AIA mit der Schweiz bekunden. 2019 tauschte die Schweiz Daten zu rund 3,1 Millionen Finanzkonten mit Partnerstaaten aus.

o   Amtshilfe

Im Rahmen der steuerlichen Amtshilfe übermitteln Steuerbehörden Informationen über steuerliche Belange gemäss internationalem Standard. Das Netzwerk der Schweiz für die Steueramtshilfe auf Anfrage umfasst derzeit 141 Staaten. 2015-2018 beantwortete die Schweiz über 3000 Anfragen (mehr als fast alle anderen Länder). Das Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes hat der Schweiz im März 2020 attestiert, die internationale Amtshilfe in Steuersachen «weitgehend konform» durchzuführen.

o   Rechtshilfe

Im Rahmen der internationalen Rechtshilfe arbeiten die Schweizer Justizbehörden in Fällen grenzüberschreitender Kriminalität mit ausländischen Justizbehörden zusammen, auch in umfangreichen Fällen wie Petrobras (Brasilien) oder 1MDB (Malaysia). 2014-2018 wurden mehr als 10 000 ausländische Rechtshilfeersuchen an die Schweiz gestellt.

o   Bekämpfung der Gewinnverkürzung und -verlagerung von Unternehmen

Mit dem Austausch von länderbezogenen Berichten (Country-by-Country Reports) setzt die Schweiz einen Mindeststandard der OECD zur Bekämpfung der Gewinnverkürzung und -verlagerung (Base Erosion and Profit Shifting BEPS) um. Grosse multinationale Unternehmen müssen darlegen, wie ihre Umsätze und die entrichteten Steuern weltweit verteilt sind. Die Schweiz tauscht zurzeit solche Informationen mit den Steuerbehörden von über 50 Partnerstaaten aus, darunter auch Schwellenländer. Die Schweiz ist bereit, diesen Austausch künftig auf alle Staaten auszuweiten, welche die internationalen Standards einhalten. Diese Berichte dienen der Risikoanalyse durch Steuerbehörden. Sie sind nicht zur Veröffentlichung bestimmt.

o   Bekämpfung der Geldwäscherei und Terrorismusfinanzierung

Die Schweiz hat in den letzten Jahren die gesetzlichen Grundlagen zur Bekämpfung der Geldwäscherei und Terrorismusfinanzierung mehrfach an internationale Standards angepasst. Das zuständige zwischenstaatliche Gremium GAFI/FATF, hat der Schweiz wiederholt ein insgesamt gutes und wirksames Dispositiv bescheinigt. In den letzten Jahren wurden unter anderem der präventive gesetzliche Rahmen verstärkt, insbesondere auch bei politisch exponierten Personen (PEP), die Transparenz der wirtschaft­lich Berechtigten erhöht (inklusiv anonyme Inhaberaktien abgeschafft) sowie der Steuerbetrug als zusätzliche Vortat eingeführt. 2018 verzeichnete die Meldestelle für Geldwäscherei (MROS) über 6000 Verdachtsmeldungen, eine Verdoppelung seit 2016, was den hohen Grad der Sensibilisierung des Finanzsektors bezeugt. Zudem unterstützt die Schweiz im Rahmen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit verschiedene globale Initiativen zur Stärkung der Abwehrdispositive der Zielländer.

o   Rohstoffsektor

Die Schweiz unterstützt die Extractive Industries Transparency Initiatives (EITI) finanziell und durch Repräsentation im Aufsichtsrat. Die Revision des Gesellschaftsrechts sieht neue Berichtspflichten für Unternehmen im Rohstoffsektor vor. Unternehmen, die in der Rohstoffgewinnung tätig sind, werden Zahlungen von mehr als 100 000 Franken an öffentliche Einrichtungen veröffentlichen müssen. Zudem bestätigt der Bundesrat im Rohstoff-Bericht von 2018, dass die Schweiz ihr Engagement weiterführt, insbesondere durch die Entwicklungs- und Ostzusammenarbeit mit rohstofffördernden Staaten und im Bereich der Geldwäschereibekämpfung.

o   Rückführung von Vermögenswerten (Asset Recovery)

Gelangen Vermögenswerte, die aus einer in der UN-Konvention gegen Korruption aufgeführten Straftat stammen (Korruption, Geldwäscherei usw.), trotz umfangreichen präventiven Massnahmen in die Schweiz, so bietet die Schweiz im Rahmen der Rechtshilfe in Strafsachen ihre Unterstützung für eine Sperrung, Einziehung und  gegebenenfalls  Rückerstattung an. Die Schweiz hat auf dem Gebiet der Rückerstattung von Vermögenswerten viel Erfahrung aufgebaut und konkrete Ergebnisse erzielt. In den letzten dreissig Jahren hat die Schweiz mehr als zwei Milliarden US-Dollar zugunsten der betroffenen Bevölkerung unter anderem in Nigeria, den Philippinen, Peru, Angola oder Kasachstan restituiert. Ihre Pionierrolle auf diesem Gebiet ist international anerkannt. Der Rückerstattungsmechanismus ist ein wichtiger Pfeiler der schweizerischen Politik zur Korruptionsbekämpfung.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Webseite des Eidgenössischen Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA), siehe Link.

o   Korruptionsbekämpfung

Die Schweiz ist ein aktives Mitglied von mehreren internationalen Instrumenten zur Korruptionsbekämpfung: der G20-Antikorruptions-Arbeitsgruppe, der OECD-Konvention gegen die Bestechung ausländischer Amtsträger im internationalen Geschäftsverkehr, dem Strafrechtsübereinkommen über Korruption des Europarates und der UN-Konvention gegen Korruption. Sie nimmt auch an einem Dialog mit internationalen Sportverbänden über die Korruptionsprävention teil. Ausserdem unterstützt die Schweiz in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit die Stärkung von Antikorruptions- und Finanzaufsichtsbehörden sowie die International Organisation of Supreme Audit Institutions (INTOSAI). Zudem haben die enge Zusammenarbeit mit ausländischen Ermittlungsbehörden und die Analyse der Berichte über verdächtige Transaktionen durch die MROS zur Aufdeckung von internationalen Korruptionsfällen beigetragen.

o   Stärkung von Institutionen und Aufbau von Kapazitäten

Der Kapazitätenaufbau stärkt die behördlichen Institutionen in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern. Es wird aber auch ein effizientes Korrespondenzbankgeschäft angestrebt (durch Initiativen im Financial Stability Board FSB). Die Schweiz unterstützt den Aktionsplan des Global Forum von 2017, wonach die Entwicklungsländer beim Aufbau der für den AIA unerlässlichen Infrastruktur (Human Resources, IT-Infrastruktur, rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen, Risikomanagement) gefördert werden. Ebenso leistet die Schweiz finanzielle Beiträge unter anderem an den IMF Anti-Money Laundering and Combating the Financing of Terrorism Topical Trust Fund, das Inter-American Center of Tax Administrations (CIAT), das African Tax Administration Forum (ATAF) und das Global Tax Program (GTP) der Weltbank und verschafft so Entwicklungsländern eine Stimme in internationalen Steuerdiskussionen.

o   Schuldennachhaltigkeit

Kern der Schuldenproblematik sind schwache Institutionen und inkohärente Wirtschaftspolitik in den ver­schuldeten Ländern. Die Schweiz setzt sich deshalb für Strukturreformen ein und für ein transparenteres Analyseinstrumentarium für die Schuldennachhaltigkeit, vorab im IWF, in der Weltbank und der G20. Im Rahmen ihrer Entwicklungszusammenarbeit gehört die Schweiz weltweit zu den grössten Gebern von technischer Assistenz beim Schuldenmanagement und bei der Mobilisierung von inländischen Einnahmen in Entwicklungsländern. So unterstützt die Schweiz verschiedene Initiativen von IWF und Weltbank sowie die Anstrengungen des UNCTAD Debt Management and Financial Analysis System (DMFAS) zur Verbesserung von Debt Recording and Reporting.

[1] Ohne eine international anerkannte Definition verwendet die Schweiz für den englischen Begriff «illicit financial flows» den deutschen Begriff «illegale Finanzflüsse». Damit bezeichnet die Schweiz rechtlich unzulässige Aktivitäten.

Letzte Änderung 09.10.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/finanzmarktpolitik/illicit-financial-flows/iff.html