BEPS Minimum standards

An implementation duty (minimum standards) exists concerning country-by-country reporting, the abolition of/amendments to harmful tax practices, the criteria for taxing intangible property (patent boxes), the spontaneous exchange of information on advance tax rulings, access to the mutual agreement procedure for resolving disputes and the inclusion of anti-abuse clauses in double taxation agreements (DTAs). The implementation of the minimum standards is monitored by the Inclusive Framework on BEPS.

BEPS action 5 (Counter harmful tax practices more effectively, taking into account transparency and substance) 

  1. On 28 September 2018, the Parliament adopted the Federal Act on Tax Reform and AHV Financing (TRAF). With this law, the tax statuses which are no longer accepted internationally are abolished and a patent box is introduced in line with the OECD standard.

    Canton Nidwalden's patent box has been amended in line with the asset requirements of the final report on BEPS action 5 (nexus approach).

  2. The spontaneous exchange of information on advance tax rulings entered into force on 1 January 2018.

Review:

  1. In the Progress Report 2018, four Swiss regimes are indicated as being in the process of being eliminated (auxiliary company regime, mixed company regime, holding company regime, commissionaire ruling regime). The regime applicable to patent income in the Canton of Nidwalden, considered not to comply with the nexus approach, has been modified and is now evaluated as not harmful.

  2. The first two reports which concerned 2016 and 2017 do not contain any recommendations for Switzerland. In 2016 and 2017, Switzerland had not yet begun with the spontaneous exchange of information. Switzerland will be examined on the effective exchange from examination year 2018 .

BEPS action 6 (Prevent treaty abuse)

The provisions to prevent treaty abuse and to improve the resolving of disputes will either be introduced via the multilateral agreement or in the context of the negotiation of double taxation agreements (DTAs).

Review:

The monitoring of the implementation of minimum standards in line with BEPS action 6 has been launched and an initial report is scheduled for publication in early 2019. The monitoring will be based on the Terms of Reference published in June 2017 for the review of this minimum standard.

BEPS action 13 (country-by-country reporting)

The law, the ordinance and the multilateral agreement on the exchange of country-by-country reporting entered into force in December 2017. In Switzerland, the submission of the reports for the 2016 and 2017 tax years is still optional and will become mandatory for the 2018 tax year and onwards. The first regular exchange will take place in 2020.

Review:

The monitoring of the implementation of the minimum standard in line with BEPS action 13 was launched in February 2017. The first report was published on 24 May 2018 by the OECD. It contains recommendations addressed to 65 countries and territories. Switzerland is not affected. A report on the exchange of information is to be published in 2019. A third report on confidentiality and the proper use of the country-by-country reports is planned for 2020. 

BEPS action 14 (Improving effectiveness of dispute resolution mechanisms)

Within the scope of action 14, Switzerland has committed to meet 17 minimum standards aimed at improving the effectiveness of dispute resolution mechanisms. These minimum standards are organised around three areas: (i) ensuring that the mutual agreement procedure obligations under double taxation agreements (DTAs) are carried out in good faith and that disputes leading to a mutual agreement procedure are resolved in a timely manner; (ii) ensuring that administrative processes to prevent and resolve DTA disputes in a timely manner are effectively implemented; and (iii) ensuring that taxpayers are able to use the mutual agreement procedure when they are entitled to do so. Switzerland largely meets the minimum standards set out in action 14 and plans to make the necessary changes.

Review:

The monitoring of the implementation of minimum standards in line with BEPS action 14 was launched with the publication of the documents relevant for the review of the minimum standard in October 2016.

The first stage of the review started for Switzerland in December 2016 and the first review report on Switzerland was published by the OECD in September 2017. The overall results of this report are positive.

The second stage of the peer review of action 14 aims to follow up on the actions implemented by countries following the findings of the first stage of the peer review. For Switzerland, few changes are required to meet all minimum standards. The report on the second phase of the peer review of Switzerland is expected in the first half of 2019. 

Last modification 08.05.2019

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/unternehmensbesteuerung/mindeststandards.html

BEPS Mindeststandards

Eine Pflicht zur Umsetzung (Mindeststandards) besteht betreffend die länderbezogene Berichterstattung (Country-by-Country Reporting), der Abschaffung/Anpassung von schädlichen Steuerpraktiken, die Kriterien zur Besteuerung von Immaterialgütern (IP-Boxen), des spontanen Informationsaustauschs über Steuervorbescheide (Rulings), des Zugangs zu Verständigungsverfahren zur Streitbeilegung und die Aufnahme von Missbrauchsklauseln in den Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA). Die Umsetzung der Mindeststandards wird durch das Inclusive Framework on BEPS geprüft.

BEPS-Massnahme 5 (Wirksamere Bekämpfung schädlicher Steuerpraktiken unter Berücksichtigung von Transparenz und Substanz)

  1. Das Parlament hat am 28. September 2018 das Bundesgesetz über die Steuerreform und die AHV-Finanzierung (STAF) verabschiedet. Mit dieser Vorlage werden die international nicht mehr akzeptierten Steuerstatute abgeschafft und eine Patentbox nach OECD-Standard eingeführt.

    Die Patentbox des Kantons Nidwalden wurde an die Substanzanforderungen des Schlussberichts zu BEPS Massnahme 5 angepasst (nexus approach - Anknüpfungspunkt).

  2. Der spontane Informationsaustausch von Steuervorbescheiden (Rulings) ist in der Schweiz seit dem 1. Januar 2018 in Kraft.

Überprüfung:

  1. Im Fortschrittsbericht 2018 wird auf vier Schweizer Steuerregimes hingewiesen, an deren Aufhebung derzeit gearbeitet wird (Regime der Domizil- und Verwaltungsgesellschaften, der gemischten Gesellschaften, der Holdinggesellschaften und der Kommissionärsgesellschaften). Das bisher als nicht konform geltende Regime für die Patenterträge im Kanton Nidwalden wurde geändert und wird nun als nicht schädlich bezeichnet.

  2. Die ersten beiden Prüfberichte, die die Jahre 2016 und 2017 betreffen, enthalten für die Schweiz keinerlei Empfehlungen. 2016 und 2017 hatte die Schweiz den spontanen Informationsaustausch noch nicht umgesetzt. Die Schweiz wird im Rahmen der Prüfungen des Jahres 2018 über den effektiven Austausch geprüft werden.

BEPS-Massnahme 6 (Verhinderung von Abkommensmissbrauch)

Die Bestimmungen, mit denen der Abkommensmissbrauch verhindert und die Streitbeilegung verbessert werden soll, werden entweder via das multilaterale Übereinkommen oder im Rahmen der Aushandlung von Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA) eingeführt.

Überprüfung:

Die Überprüfung der Umsetzung des Mindeststandards nach BEPS-Massnahme 6 wurde lanciert und ein erster Bericht soll Anfang 2019 veröffentlicht werden. Die Überprüfung erfolgt auf der Grundlage der im Juni 2017 für die Überprüfung dieses Mindeststandards publizierten Terms of Reference

BEPS-Massnahme 13 (Länderbezogene Berichterstattung)

Das Gesetz, die Verordnung und die multilaterale Vereinbarung über den Austausch der länderbezogenen Berichterstattung traten im Dezember 2017 in Kraft. In der Schweiz ist die Abgabe der Berichte für die Steuerjahre 2016 und 2017 noch freiwillig und wird erst ab 2018 obligatorisch. Der erste reguläre Austausch wird 2020 stattfinden. 

Überprüfung:

Die Überprüfung der Umsetzung des Mindeststandards nach BEPS-Massnahme 13 wurde im Februar 2017 gestartet. Der erste Prüfbericht wurde am 24. Mai 2018 durch die OECD publiziert. Er enthält Empfehlungen an die Adresse von 65 Ländern und Gebieten. Die Schweiz ist nicht betroffen. 2019 soll ein Bericht über den Informationsaustausch erscheinen. Ein dritter Bericht über die Geheimhaltung und sachgemässe Verwendung der länderbe­zogenen Berichte ist für 2020 vorgesehen. 

BEPS-Massnahme 14 (Verbesserung der Wirksamkeit von Streitbeilegungsmechanismen)

Die Schweiz hat sich im Rahmen der Massnahme 14 verpflichtet, 17 der Mindeststandards zur Verbesserung der Wirksamkeit der Streitbeilegungsmechanismen einzuhalten. Die Mindeststandards verfolgen drei Stossrichtungen: i) sicherstellen, dass die in den Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA) verankerten Pflichten hinsichtlich des Verständigungsverfahrens in gutem Glauben erfüllt und die Rechtsstreitigkeiten, die zu einem Verständigungsverfahren führen, zu gegebener Zeit gelöst werden können; ii) sicherstellen, dass die der Prävention dienenden administrativen Prozesse und die zu gegebener Zeit vorgenommene Beilegung von Differenzen zu DBA tatsächlich umgesetzt werden; und iii) sicherstellen, dass die dazu befugten Steuerpflichtigen das Verständigungsverfahren tatsächlich in Anspruch nehmen können. Die Schweiz erfüllt die in der Massnahme 14 vorgesehenen Mindeststandards weitgehend; die noch erforderlichen Änderungen sind bereits geplant.

Überprüfung:

Die Lancierung der Überprüfung der Umsetzung des Mindeststandards nach BEPS-Massnahme 14 erfolgte bereits mit der Veröffentlichung der für die Überprüfung des Mindeststandards relevanten Unterlagen im Oktober 2016.

Die erste Phase der Überprüfung hat für die Schweiz im Dezember 2016 begonnen und der erste Prüfbericht über die Schweiz wurde im September 2017 durch die OECD publiziert. Les résultats de ce rapport sont dans l’ensemble positifs.

Die zweite Peer Review Phase der Massnahme 14 sieht ein Monitoring der Massnahmen vor, welche die Länder aufgrund der Feststellungen in der ersten Peer Review Phase umgesetzt haben. In der Schweiz sind nur wenige Anpassungen erforderlich, um die Einhaltung aller Mindeststandards zu erreichen. Der Bericht zur zweiten Phase der Peer Review der Schweiz wird für die erste Hälfte des Jahres 2019 erwartet.

Letzte Änderung 08.05.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/multilateral/unternehmensbesteuerung/mindeststandards.html