United States of America

Switzerland's intergovernmental contacts with the US regarding financial and tax matters are diverse and are regularly used by the authorities. In recent years, the focus has been on the amendment to the double taxation agreement, the implementation of the FATCA agreement and the US banking programme.

Double taxation agreement

The protocol of amendment to the double taxation agreement (DTA) in the field of income tax between Switzerland and the US entered into force on 20 September 2019. It is a milestone in the tax relations between the two countries as it introduces the exchange of information upon request between Switzerland and the US in tax matters, in accordance with international standards. Furthermore, the entry into force of the protocol paves the way for a further revision of the DTA. The aim of such a revision is to make further improvements which take account of developments since the DTA was signed in 1996.

Agreements with the United States

FATCA

The Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) is a unilateral set of US regulations that applies worldwide for all countries. With FATCA, the United States wishes to ensure that all accounts held abroad by US taxpayers can be taxed. The agreement between Switzerland and the United States on cooperation to simplify the implementation of FATCA entered into force on 2 June 2014; the corresponding implementing act has been in force since 30 June 2014.

FATCA agreement

US banking programme

As a result of the Joint Statement signed in August 2013 and the unilateral US programme of the US Department of Justice (DoJ) that came into force at the same time, 80 Swiss banks have registered with the DoJ. In doing so, they have taken the opportunity to regularise their past.

Those banks against which the DoJ had already opened criminal investigations before August 2013 were not allowed to participate in the US programme. These banks sought individual solutions to regularise their past. A number of banks are still in negotiations with the DoJ.

Further information

Last modification 19.08.2020

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/bilateral/lander/vereinigen-staaten-von-amerika-usa.html

Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika USA

Die zwischenstaatlichen Kontakte der Schweiz mit den USA in Finanz- und Steuerfragen sind vielfältig und werden von Behördenseite regelmässig wahrgenommen. Im Zentrum standen in den vergangenen Jahren die Änderung des Doppelbesteuerungsabkommens, die Umsetzung des FATCA-Abkommens und das US-Bankenprogramm. 

Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

Das Änderungsprotokoll zum Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen auf dem Gebiet der Steuern von Einkommen (DBA) zwischen der Schweiz und den USA ist am 20. September 2019 in Kraft getreten. Es handelt sich um einen Meilenstein in den steuerlichen Beziehungen zwischen den beiden Ländern, indem es den Informationsaustausch auf Ersuchen im Steuerbereich nach internationalem Standard zwischen der Schweiz und den USA einführt. Zudem ebnet das Inkrafttreten des Protokolls den Weg für eine weitere Revision des DBA. Ziel einer solchen Revision sind weitere Verbesserungen, die den Entwicklungen seit der Unterzeichnung des DBA im Jahr 1996 Rechnung tragen.

Abkommen und Vereinbarungen mit den USA

FATCA

Der Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act» (FATCA) ist eine unilaterale US-Regelung, die weltweit für alle Länder gilt. Mit FATCA wollen die USA erreichen, dass sämtliche im Ausland gehaltenen Konten von Personen, die in den USA steuerpflichtig sind, besteuert werden können. Das Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und den Vereinigten Staaten über die Zusammenarbeit für eine erleichterte Umsetzung von FATCA ist am 2. Juni 2014 in Kraft getreten; das entsprechende Umsetzungsgesetz ist seit dem 30. Juni 2014 in Kraft.

FATCA-Abkommen  

US-Bankenprogramm

Aufgrund des im August 2013 unterzeichneten Joint Statement und des gleichzeitig in Kraft getretenen unilateralen US-Programms des US-Justizdepartements (DoJ) haben sich 80 Schweizer Banken beim DoJ gemeldet. Damit haben diese die Möglichkeit zur Regularisierung ihrer Vergangenheit ergriffen.

Diejenigen Banken, gegen die das DoJ vor August 2013 bereits strafrechtliche Ermittlungen eröffnet hatte durften am US-Programm nicht teilnehmen. Diese Banken suchten individuelle Lösungen zur Bereinigung ihrer Vergangenheit. Einzelne Banken stehen noch mit dem DoJ in Verhandlungen.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 20.08.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/bilateral/lander/vereinigen-staaten-von-amerika-usa.html