International tax policies

As a small, open economy, Switzerland relies on an attractive tax policy. The tax burden is also moderate by international standards. Switzerland's tax policy serves to ensure tax receipts and strengthen the attractiveness of the country.

Attractive company taxation as a locational factor

The Federal Department of Finance (FDF) and the entire Federal Council advocate tax competition within Switzerland as well as internationally. It is understood as an adjustment factor that spurs the state decision-makers to be economical with the financial resources entrusted to them. It forces the politicians and governments of competing locations to combine public services and the tax burden in an attractive manner.

Attractive company taxation and double taxation agreements (DTAs) are important factors in this regard. DTAs with the most important economic partners are fundamental. The aim of DTAs is to overcome obstacles for cross-border economic transactions.

International cooperation in tax matters

The number and diversity of international tax issues is steadily increasing. Switzerland is also affected by this development, and the
country has a great interest in working together with other countries on tax matters. For this purpose, Switzerland participates in various international bodies that discuss topics of international tax law and that elaborate general standards. The focus here is on the OECD and the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information, which is responsible for monitoring the OECD standard on the exchange of information in tax matters.

Further information

Last modification 19.02.2018

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/themen/internationale-steuerpolitik.html

Politique fiscale internationale

Petite place économique ouverte, la Suisse se doit de mener une politique fiscale concurrentielle. C'est pourquoi la charge fiscale y est modérée en comparaison internationale. La politique fiscale suisse est au service du maintien et du renforcement de l'attrait économique de la Suisse.

Imposition attrayante des entreprises: un avantage pour la place économique suisse

Le Département fédéral des finances (DFF) et l'ensemble du Conseil fédéral préconisent la concurrence fiscale tant à l'intérieur de la Suisse qu'entre les Etats. Cette concurrence est considérée comme un élément régulateur incitant les responsables de l'Etat à ménager les finances qu'ils ont à gérer. Elle force les politiques et l'administration des lieux en concurrence à offrir une combinaison avantageuse entre les prestations publiques et la charge fiscale.

En plus d'une imposition favorable aux entreprises, les conventions contre la double imposition (CDI) avec les principaux partenaires économiques de la Suisse constituent traditionnellement le deuxième pilier de la politique fiscale suisse. Les CDI ont en effet pour but d'aplanir les obstacles aux échanges économiques internationaux.

Collaboration internationale en matière fiscale

La diversité des thèmes en matière fiscale augmente constamment. La Suisse est aussi concernée par cette évolution et a tout intérêt à collaborer avec d'autres Etats dans le domaine de la fiscalité. A cet effet, la Suisse participe à différents organismes internationaux qui discutent de droit fiscal international et élaborent des normes générales. On citera en particulier l'OCDE et le «Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information», qui est compétent pour vérifier les normes de l'OCDE relatives à l'échange de renseignements en matière fiscale.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 19.02.2018

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/themen/internationale-steuerpolitik.html