Spontaneous exchange of information

On 1 January 2017, the OECD/Council of Europe Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters (administrative assistance convention) entered into force for Switzerland. This makes provision for the obligation to provide spontaneous administrative assistance in Article 7. For the purposes of spontaneous administrative assistance, the convention will be applicable in Switzerland for tax periods from 1 January 2018.

Information should then be exchanged spontaneously if the transmitting country suspects that the information available might be of interest to another country. In this context, spontaneous means that no request was submitted beforehand. As the initiative is always taken by the transmitting state, the spontaneous exchange of information has been handled very differently from country to country up to now. 

Within the scope of the OECD and G20 project to combat base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS), the spontaneous exchange of information was specified for the first time in the area of advance tax rulings. These rulings are where there is a risk of base erosion or profit sharing. The Federal Council adopted the current international standard in this area in the context of a revision of the Tax Administrative Assistance Ordinance. Switzerland spontaneously exchanges information on advance tax rulings since 2018. 

35_EN

SIF, the FTA and the cantons are working an together to ensure the uniform implementation of spontaneous administrative assistance throughout Switzerland. Application questions in connection with spontaneous administrative assistance can be addressed to spontane.amtshilfe@estv.admin.ch

Further information

Last modification 20.08.2018

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/steuer_informationsaust/spontaner-informationsaustausch.html

Échange spontané de renseignements

La convention du Conseil de l'Europe et de l'OCDE concernant l'assistance administrative mutuelle en matière fiscale (convention concernant l'assistance administrative en matière fiscale) est entrée en vigueur pour la Suisse le 1er janvier 2017. Son article 7 prévoit l'obligation de fournir une assistance administrative spontanée. En Suisse, la convention est applicable aux fins de l'assistance administrative spontanée pour les périodes fiscales qui se succéderont à partir du 1er janvier 2018.

Dans le cadre de la convention, un État livre spontanément des informations à un autre État s'il estime qu'elles peuvent avoir un intérêt pour lui. Dans ce contexte, l'adjectif «spontané» signifie que les autorités n'ont pas besoin de déposer une demande pour recevoir des renseignements. Étant donné que l'échange spontané dépend toujours de l'État qui fournit les renseignements, il est appliqué de manière très différente d'un pays à l'autre. 

Dans le cadre du projet de lutte contre l'érosion de la base d'imposition et le transfert de bénéfices (Base Erosion and Profit Shifting, BEPS) de l'OCDE et du G20, l'échange spontané de renseignements a été concrétisé pour la première fois dans le domaine des décisions anticipées (rulings fiscaux) présentant un risque d'érosion de la base d'imposition ou de transfert des bénéfices. Le Conseil fédéral a transposé dans le droit suisse les normes internationales applicables en la matière au moyen d'une révision de l'ordonnance sur l'assistance administrative fiscale. La Suisse a commencé avec l’échange spontané de renseignements sur les décisions anticipées en matière fiscale en 2018. 

35_FR

Le SFI, l'AFC et les cantons collaborent pour garantir une mise en œuvre uniforme de l'échange spontané de renseignements à l'échelle nationale. Les questions relatives à l'application de l'assistance administrative spontanée peuvent être adressées à spontane.amtshilfe@estv.admin.ch

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 27.12.2018

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/multilateral/steuer_informationsaust/spontaner-informationsaustausch.html