Sharing economy

OECD Model Rules for sharing and gig economy platforms

In July 2020, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) adopted Model Rules for the automatic exchange of information (AIA) on natural persons and legal entities that earn their income by offering services via online platforms. In June 2021, the Model Rules were expanded. The Model Rules are not binding for the countries.

In view of the increasing number of natural persons and legal entities that earn their income by offering services via online platforms, many countries have taken measures to ensure the correct taxation of this income. These include, for example, withholding tax regimes or obligations to exchange information between tax authorities and online platforms. Due to a lack of harmonisation, these unilateral measures lead to disproportionately high costs for the relevant sectors because they have to be aware of and implement a large number of regulations. The OECD Model Rules were therefore created to provide a globally standardised set of rules.

The Model Rules provide for a regular exchange of information about service providers on online platforms. The information that is to be exchanged must be collected by the online platforms of the respective country and transmitted to the tax authorities of that country. These authorities then forward the information to the tax authorities of those countries with which a corresponding AEOI agreement exists. In particular, this concerns the rental of immovable property such as holiday homes and personal services, e.g. transport services.

The Model Rules define the information to be exchanged for online platforms. They include identification information of the providers (e.g. name, address, tax identification number, etc.) and financial information (income generated by the respective providers). This AEOI is not binding for the countries (no minimum standard).

SIF has looked into the possible introduction of the OECD rules. Work via internet-mediated platforms is still not very widespread in Switzerland (see Federal Statistical Office press release of 19 Mai 2020). Introducing the OECD Model Rules would incur considerable costs for the online platforms concerned. At the same time, the additional tax receipts will probably be small. Moreover, Switzerland as a data provider is unlikely to play a major role internationally. SIF has therefore concluded that it would be premature to introduce the OECD Model Rules in Switzerland at this time. It is monitoring national and international developments in this regard and, should the situation change, it will re-examine whether to introduce the Rules.

OECD, July 2020 “Model Rules for Reporting by Platform Operators with respect to Sellers in the Sharing and Gig Economy

Last modification 23.07.2021

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/steuer_informationsaust/automatischer-informationsaustausch/sharing-economy.html

Sharing economy

Règles types de l’OCDE concernant la «Sharing and Gig Economy» (économie de partage et collaborative)

En juillet 2020, l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) a adopté des règles types relatives à un échange automatique de renseignements (EAR) sur des personnes physiques ou morales qui tirent leurs revenus de prestations fournies par l’intermédiaire de plateformes en ligne. En juin 2021, ces règles types ont été étendues. Elles ne sont pas contraignantes pour les États.

En raison du nombre croissant de personnes physiques et de personnes morales qui réalisent leurs revenus en fournissant des services via des plateformes en ligne, de nombreux États ont pris des mesures pour assurer l’imposition correcte de ces revenus. Ils ont ainsi mis en place des régimes de retenue à la source ou instauré des obligations d’échange de renseignements entre les autorités fiscales et les plateformes en ligne. Faute d’harmonisation, ces mesures unilatérales entraînent toutefois des coûts disproportionnés pour la branche concernée, qui doit connaître et appliquer un grand nombre de règles. C’est pourquoi l’OCDE a défini un ensemble de règles normalisées à l’échelle mondiale (règles types). 

Ces règles types prévoient un échange régulier de renseignements relatifs aux prestataires de services actifs sur les plateformes en ligne. Les plateformes en ligne de l’État concerné doivent collecter les informations requises et les transmettre aux autorités fiscales de cet État. Ces dernières fournissent ensuite les renseignements recueillis aux autorités fiscales des États avec lesquels il existe un accord sur l’EAR. La location de biens immobiliers, tels que les logements de vacances, et les prestations personnelles, telles que les services de transport, sont principalement concernées.

Les règles types définissent les renseignements à échanger pour ces plateformes en ligne. Il s’agit d’informations relatives à l’identité des prestataires (par ex. le nom, l’adresse, le numéro d’identification fiscale, etc.) et de renseignements financiers (les revenus réalisés par les prestataires concernés). Dans le cas présent, l’EAR n’est pas contraignant pour les États (il ne s’agit pas d’un standard minimal).

Le Secrétariat d’État aux questions financières internationales (SFI) a examiné l’opportunité d’introduire ces règles types de l’OCDE en Suisse, où le travail via les plateformes numériques est encore peu répandu (voir le communiqué de presse de l’Office fédéral de la statistique du 19 mai 2020). L’introduction des règles types de l’OCDE s’accompagnerait d’importants coûts pour les plateformes concernées alors qu’elle ne générerait que de faibles recettes fiscales supplémentaires. En outre, la Suisse ne jouerait pas un rôle de premier plan à l’échelle internationale dans la transmission de données. C’est pourquoi le SFI est parvenu à la conclusion qu’il serait actuellement prématuré d’introduire les règles types de l’OCDE en Suisse. Il continuera toutefois de suivre l’évolution de la situation sur le plan tant national qu’international, se réservant la possibilité de procéder à un nouvel examen si les circonstances venaient à changer.

OCDE, juillet 2020: Model Rules for Reporting by Platform Operators with respect to Sellers in the Sharing and Gig Economy

Dernière modification 23.07.2021

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/multilateral/steuer_informationsaust/automatischer-informationsaustausch/sharing-economy.html