Legal Entity Identifier (LEI)

In the wake of the 2008 financial crisis, international efforts to develop a uniform global identification system for financial market participants, i.e. a legal entity identifier (LEI), were stepped up. As a unique global identification number, the LEI allows not just authorities but also financial market participants to reliably identify contracting parties in financial market transactions. The LEI thus helps to identify risks in the financial sector at an earlier stage and promote financial stability.

At the international level, the LEI is currently used primarily to identify parties to derivatives transactions. On 1 January 2016, the LEI was introduced into Swiss law in the area of reporting duties such as these under the Financial Market Infrastructure Act. The LEI is becoming increasingly important, also in other financial market areas (such as in the resolution of banks or anti-money laundering).

The current structure of the LEI system has three tiers:

  • The Regulatory Oversight Committee (ROC) is an internationally broad-based committee with over 70 authorities from more than 40 countries. It comprises central banks, finance ministries and oversight authorities, and coordinates and oversees the LEI system.

  • The second tier is made up of the Global Legal Entity Identifier Foundation as the operational arm of the LEI system and a link to the third tier.

  • The third tier covers local operation units that allocate LEIs.In Switzerland, e.g. the Federal Statistical Office is an accredited issuer for LEIs.

Switzerland is represented in the ROC of the LEI with two seats that are held by the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) and the Swiss National Bank (SNB). Safeguarding Switzerland's interests includes both active involvement in the ROC and the early identification of relevant developments.

Further information

Last modification 14.08.2019

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/gremien/w_gremien/legal-entity-identifier--lei-.html

Legal Entity Identifier (LEI)

À la suite de la crise financière de 2008, les efforts visant à développer au niveau international un système d’identification standardisé des acteurs des marchés financiers se sont intensifiés, donnant naissance au legal entity identifier (LEI). En tant que numéro d’identification standardisé, le LEI permet aux autorités et aux acteurs financiers d’identifier de manière fiable les partenaires contractuels, notamment dans le cadre des opérations effectuées sur les marchés financiers. Le LEI contribue donc à prévenir les risques dans le secteur financier et à promouvoir la stabilité financière.

Au niveau international, le LEI sert pour l’instant principalement à identifier les parties impliquées dans des opérations sur dérivés. Pour ce qui est des obligations de déclarer dans ce secteur, il a fait son entrée dans le droit suisse le 1er janvier 2016, avec la loi sur l’infrastructure des marchés financiers. Il gagne en importance et s’étend à d’autres domaines des marchés financiers (notamment la liquidation des banques et la lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent).

La structure actuelle du système LEI comporte trois niveaux:

  • le premier niveau est celui du Regulatory Oversight Committee (ROC), un organe qui bénéficie d’un large soutien international et regroupe plus de 70 autorités provenant de plus de 40 pays. Comprenant des banques centrales, des ministères des finances et des autorités de surveillance, il coordonne et surveille le système LEI; 

  • au deuxième niveau, on trouve la Global Legal Entity Identifier Foundation, l’entité opérationnelle du système, qui est également chargée d’assurer la liaison avec le troisième niveau;  

  • le troisième niveau comprend les services décentralisés d’attribution des LEI. En Suisse, il est prévu de créer la base légale qui permettra à l’Office fédéral de la statistique de remplir cette fonction.

Au sein du Regulatory Oversight Committee (ROC) du LEI, la Suisse dispose de deux sièges occupés respectivement par le Département fédéral des finances (DFF) et la Banque nationale suisse (BNS). La Suisse peut ainsi faire valoir ses intérêts non seulement en participant activement aux travaux du ROC, mais aussi en identifiant suffisamment tôt les principaux développements dans le domaine.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 14.08.2019

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/multilateral/gremien/w_gremien/legal-entity-identifier--lei-.html