IMF reports and statistics on Switzerland

The monitoring and analysis of its member states' economic and financial market policy is one of the IMF's main tasks. These so-called surveillance activities help in the early detection of macroeconomic imbalances (such as balance of payment problems and unsustainable debt developments) and risks to financial sector stability. They form the basis for advising members on implementing appropriate economic policy measures.

As part of its surveillance activities, the IMF carries out country evaluations (Article IV consultations) and financial sector assessments. It also ensures that member states provide the requisite statistical data in good time and in sufficient quality, and meet the agreed international standards. The willingness to cooperate and data transparency towards the IMF are conditions of Fund membership. IMF surveillance creates an important global public good.

IMF Article IV consultations with Switzerland

Like all the IMF's members, Switzerland regularly conducts Article IV consultations with the IMF. The associated in-depth dialogue with the authorities, the private sector and civil society is summarised in a report together with recommendations on policies to foster growth and stability, and approved after discussion by the IMF Executive Board. The associated reports are published by the IMF with the agreement of Switzerland.

Swiss participation in the Financial Sector Assessment Program (FSAP)


Since 1999, the IMF has evaluated, in particular, its members' financial markets and institutions, regulation and oversight as part of its Financial Sector Assessment Program (FSAP). This evaluation includes an assessment of national financial market regulations' compliance with internationally recognised standards. Since 2010, the most systemically important financial centres have committed to carrying out a FSAP exercise roughly every five years. The observations and recommendations from the FSAP flow into the Article IV consultations mentioned above. Switzerland is in favour of these IMF activities and regularly submits to assessments of its financial sector. The reports and background studies are published by the IMF with the agreement of Switzerland.
Financial Sector Assessment Program, FSAP (IWF website)

Applying the SDDS Plus statistical standard

An essential basis for the IMF's surveillance activities is access to comprehensive, reliable and sufficiently up-to-date data from its members. Data transparency can both help to prevent economic and financial crises and contribute to resolving them. To this end, the IMF has drawn up internationally recognised statistical standards which should ensure that this continues into the future. Industrialised countries, including Switzerland, are providing economic and financial data that comply with a higher standard. Since December 2020, Switzerland has published the data relevant for the IMF's surveillance activities according to this higher standard, SDDS Plus (Special Data Dissemination Standard Plus).
> Switzerland applying IMF's SDDS Plus
> Federal Statistical Office Switzerland – National Data Summary Page (NDSP)
IMF – Dissemination Standards Bulletin Board (DSBB)

Last modification 09.12.2021

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/gremien/iwf/iwf-berichte-statistiken.html

Rapports et statistiques du FMI sur la Suisse

L’une des principales tâches du Fonds monétaire international (FMI) consiste à observer et à analyser la politique économique et la politique en matière de marchés financiers de ses membres. Cette activité du FMI, dite de surveillance, permet de détecter rapidement les déséquilibres macroéconomiques (tels que les déséquilibres de la balance des paiements et les évolutions insoutenables de la dette) ainsi que les risques pour la stabilité du secteur financier. Elle sert de base au FMI pour conseiller ses membres sur la mise en œuvre de mesures appropriées en matière de politique économique. 

Dans le cadre de ses activités de surveillance, le FMI procède à des examens de pays (consultations au titre de l’article IV) et à des examens du secteur financier. Il veille également à ce que les pays membres fournissent les données statistiques nécessaires en temps voulu et dans une qualité suffisante, et qu’ils respectent les normes internationales convenues. La volonté de coopérer et la transparence des données à l’égard du FMI sont des conditions indispensables pour l’adhésion. La surveillance du FMI crée un important bien public mondial.

Consultations du FMI au titre de l’article IV en collaboration avec la Suisse

Comme tous les membres, la Suisse procède régulièrement à des consultations au titre de l’article IV avec le FMI. Le dialogue approfondi qui en découle avec les autorités, le secteur privé et la société civile est résumé dans un rapport contenant des recommandations en vue de renforcer la croissance et la stabilité, qui est adopté par le Conseil d’administration du FMI après délibération. Les rapports correspondants sont publiés par le FMI avec l’accord de la Suisse.

Participation de la Suisse au programme d’évaluation du secteur financier (PESF)


Depuis 1999, le FMI examine, dans le cadre des évaluations du secteur financier (PESF), les marchés financiers et les institutions financières ainsi que la qualité de la réglementation et de la surveillance dans les pays membres. Une partie de cette évaluation porte sur la conformité de la réglementation nationale des marchés financiers avec les normes internationalement reconnues. Depuis septembre 2010, les places financières les plus importantes sur le plan systémique se sont engagées à se soumettre à un PESF tous les cinq ans environ. Les conclusions et recommandations issues des PESF sont prises en considération lors des consultations au titre de l’article IV mentionnées ci-dessus. La Suisse soutient ces travaux du FMI et fait examiner son secteur financier à intervalles réguliers. Les rapports et autres documents correspondants sont publiés par le FMI avec l’accord de la Suisse.
Financial Sector Assessment Program, FSAP (site web du FMI)

Application de la norme statistique SDDS Plus

Le travail de surveillance du FMI nécessite l’accès à des données complètes, fiables et suffisamment actuelles qui sont mises à disposition par les membres. La transparence des données peut contribuer non seulement à la prévention des crises économiques et financières, mais aussi à leur résolution. Le FMI a élaboré à cet effet des normes statistiques reconnues au niveau international, qui devraient également renforcer la transparence dans ce domaine à l’avenir. Les pays industrialisés, dont la Suisse fait partie, fournissent des données économiques et financières qui répondent à un standard plus élevé. Depuis décembre 2020, la Suisse publie les données pertinentes pour les activités de surveillance du FMI selon cette norme statistique supérieure SDDS Plus (Special Data Dissemination Standard Plus).
> La Suisse applique la norme SDDS Plus du FMI
> Federal Statistical Office Switzerland – National Data Summary Page (NDSP)
IMF – Dissemination Standards Bulletin Board (DSBB)

Dernière modification 09.12.2021

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/multilateral/gremien/iwf/iwf-berichte-statistiken.html