Switzerland in the International Monetary Fund (IMF)

The main task of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) is to ensure the stability of the international financial and monetary system. Switzerland has an important voice in the IMF and is a reliable partner in initiatives to maintain global financial stability. As a constituency leader, it is permanently represented in the IMF Ministerial Committee and Executive Board, where it plays an active role. The IMF's almost universal membership with 190 countries gives it a high degree of legitimacy as a multilateral player.

Switzerland has been a member of the IMF since 1992. The Head of the FDF represents Switzerland in the International Monetary and Financial Committee (IMFC). The IMFC convenes every six months, and these meetings are followed by meetings of the G20 finance ministers and central bank governors. The Executive Board oversees the day-to-day business of the IMF and approves guidelines for the institution's activities. Switzerland and Poland have alternated their seat on the Executive Board since 2014. The constituency has a voting share of 2.89%, whereby Switzerland has a share of 1.21%.
Overview of Switzerland's relations with the IMF
IMFC Statements of the head of department  (website FDF)

As an open and dynamic economy with a significant financial sector and its own currency, Switzerland has a major interest in helping to shape global financial and monetary cooperation. It is important to Switzerland that the IMF exercises its mandate to ensure the stability of the international financial system in a credible and effective manner and, as a major multilateral player, treats its members equally. Consequently, based on the principles of Switzerland's policy in the IMF, approved by the Federal Council, the country is committed to ensuring that the IMF conducts its activities in a rule-oriented and transparent manner and remains financially sound. At the same time, Switzerland promotes sustainability in the monetary, budgetary, debt and financial sector policies of the IMF's member countries.
> Principles of Switzerland's policy in the IMF

The IMF's activities cover the following dimensions. It performs these tasks in ongoing dialogue with its members:

The Federal Department of Finance (FDF) and the Swiss National Bank (SNB) jointly attend to Switzerland's membership of the IMF. Moreover, there is close cooperation with the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) and the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) regarding development policy issues. The FDF regularly reports to Parliament on Switzerland's financial commitment to the IMF, as well as on the monetary assistance provided by Switzerland. For the IMF itself, the Independent Evaluation Office (IEO) is tasked with critically reviewing the IMF's activities.
Independent Evaluation Office of the IMF (IEO)

The IMF explains its activities and current focus areas in detail on its website.

Further information

Media

Last modification 28.07.2022

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/gremien/iwf.html

Participation de la Suisse au Fonds monétaire international (FMI)

La Suisse a un droit de participation important au sein du Fonds monétaire international (FMI). À la tête d'un groupe de vote, elle occupe un siège permanent au comité monétaire et financier international (CMFI) et au conseil d'administration du FMI, dans lesquels elle s'engage de manière active. La Suisse est un partenaire fiable des initiatives visant à préserver la stabilité du système financier et monétaire international. Comptant parmi ses membres presque tous les pays du monde, soit 190 États, le FMI dispose d'une grande légitimité dans les échanges multilatéraux.

La Suisse est membre du FMI depuis 1992. Le chef du Département fédéral des finances (DFF) la représente au CMFI. Le CMFI se réunit deux fois par an, à l'issue des rencontres des ministres des finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales des États membres du G20. En sa qualité de responsable du groupe de vote composé de l'Azerbaïdjan, du Kazakhstan, du Kirghizistan, de l'Ouzbékistan, de la Pologne, de la Serbie, du Tadjikistan et du Turkménistan, la Suisse occupe un siège permanent au conseil d'administration du FMI. Depuis 2014, elle le partage avec la Pologne. Le groupe de vote auquel la Suisse appartient représente un poids électoral de 2,89 %. La quote-part de la Suisse s'élève à 1,21 %.
Aperçu des relations de la Suisse avec le FMI

Économie ouverte et dynamique, disposant d'un secteur financier fort et de sa propre monnaie, la Suisse contribue avec beaucoup d'intérêt à la coopération internationale en matière financière et monétaire. Il est important pour elle que le FMI exécute de manière fiable et efficace son mandat de stabilisation du système financier et monétaire international et qu'en sa qualité d'acteur essentiel du multilatéralisme, il traite ses membres sur un pied d'égalité. Se fondant sur les principes adoptés par le Conseil fédéral concernant l'engagement de la Suisse au sein du FMI, la Suisse veille à ce que le FMI exerce ses activités conformément à la réglementation et au principe de transparence et conserve une assise financière solide. En outre, elle contribue à ce que les États membres du FMI appliquent une politique durable en matière de monnaie, de finances, d'endettement et de secteur financier.
Principes de l’engagement de la Suisse au sein du FMI

Les activités du FMI comprennent les tâches énumérées ci-après. Celui-ci les accomplit dans le cadre d'un dialogue constant avec ses membres.

La Suisse est représentée au sein du FMI par le DFF et la Banque nationale suisse (BNS). Les questions liées à la politique de développement sont en outre traitées en étroite collaboration avec le Secrétariat d'État à l'économie (SECO) et la Direction du développement et de la coopération (DDC). Le DFF rend compte régulièrement au Parlement de l'engagement financier de la Suisse envers le FMI et de l'aide monétaire octroyée par celle-ci. En ce qui concerne le FMI lui-même, le Bureau indépendant d'évaluation (BIE) est chargé de vérifier les activités du fonds.
Independent Evaluation Office du FMI (IEO)

Le FMI décrit en détail sur son site Internet les activités qu'il mène et les thèmes qu'il traite en priorité à l'heure actuelle.

Informations complémentaires

Médias

Dernière modification 13.10.2021

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/multilateral/gremien/iwf.html