Correspondent banking

Against the background of strengthened supervision regarding duties of due diligence, an increasing number of banks are choosing to dismantle their network of correspondent relationships with foreign banks.

As correspondent banking is one of the cornerstones of the global money transfer system, this trend could have an adverse effect on the stability of the financial system. Furthermore, restricted access to the international payment system could divert some capital flows to illegal channels. The Financial Stability Board working group lead by Switzerland, which was given the responsibility of coordinating international work in this area, has been making significant progress since 2016. In particular, the working group conducted and published a study in 2017 which is unique worldwide and investigated the factors and consequences of de-risking in correspondent banking. Since then, this data has been updated annually by the Committee on Payments and Market Infrastructures (CPMI).

The working group concentrates on various aspects as de-risking factors are closely linked with each other. The profitability of such business relationships is particularly dependent, for instance, on the nature of due diligence duties and risk management. Other works cover the clarification of regulatory expectations, the coordination of technical support and the development of specialist instruments to reduce operational costs, etc. These are carried out in close cooperation with the private sector. The money transfer companies which are mostly used by migrant workers who encounter difficulties accessing banking services are also confronted. The working group addresses this issue by means of an analysis and recommendations for improving the situation. Previous trends show that an internationally coordinated approach is decisive and that there is an urgent need to find a solution which will allow good cooperation to return to this business sector.

Further information

Last modification 26.08.2019

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/gremien/fsb/correspondent-banking-.html

Correspondent banking

Dans un contexte de renforcement de la surveillance en matière d’obligations de diligence, de plus en plus de banques choisissent de restreindre leur réseau de relations de correspondants avec des banques étrangères.

Comme la correspondance bancaire est l’une des bases du système mondial de paiements, cette tendance pourrait influer sur la stabilité du système financier. De plus, la restriction de l’accès au système de paiement international pourrait pousser certains flux financiers vers des canaux clandestins. Le groupe de travail du Conseil de stabilité financière, conduit par la Suisse et chargé de coordonner les travaux internationaux dans ce domaine, a fait d’importants progrès depuis 2016. Il a notamment conduit et publié en 2017 une étude unique en son genre au niveau mondial, qui étudie les facteurs et les conséquences du de-risking dans la correspondance bancaire. Ces données continuent d'être publiées annuellement par le Comité pour les paiements et les infrastructures de marché (CPMI).

Le groupe se focalise sur différents aspects, puisque les facteurs du de-risking sont fortement interconnectés. La rentabilité de ces relations commerciales est, à titre d’exemple, intimement liée aux obligations de diligence et à la gestion du risque. Les autres travaux incluent par exemple la clarification des attentes réglementaires, la coordination de l’assistance technique et le développement d’instruments techniques pour réduire les coûts opérationnels, en étroite collaboration avec le secteur privé. Par ailleurs, les sociétés de transfert de fonds, particulièrement utilisées par les travailleurs migrants, sont également confrontées à des difficultés d’accès aux services bancaires. Le groupe a donc intégré cet aspect à ses travaux en établissant une analyse et en formulant des recommandations visant à améliorer la situation. Les tendances observées jusqu’à présent montrent qu’il est crucial de mener une démarche internationale coordonnée et urgent de trouver des solutions qui rétablissent une bonne collaboration dans cette industrie.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 22.08.2019

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/multilateral/gremien/fsb/correspondent-banking-.html