Financial Action Task

The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) is conceived as a leading international body for combating money laundering and terrorist financing. It has issued 40 recommendations and regularly checks whether member states have implemented them into their national law.

Switzerland plays an active role in the fight against cross-border financial crime, bearing in mind the internationally recognised standard of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF). The FATF is conceived as a leading international body for combating money laundering and terrorism financing and is headquartered at the OECD in Paris. It regularly reviews its members’ national regulations for the implementation of its 40 recommendations. These mutual evaluations are performed by representatives of other FATF member states.

On 7 December 2016, the FATF published the fourth mutual evaluation report on Switzerland. Overall Switzerland receives good marks, also in comparison to the other countries which have already been reviewed. Switzerland must, however, continue its efforts in the fight against money laundering and terrorist financing. The report therefore contains a number of recommendations for improving Swiss legislation and its implementation. Switzerland is being subjected to a follow-up process, which is customary within the framework of the evaluations of the FATF. The consultation on the amendments to the Money Laundering Act (AMLA) ended on 21 September 2018. The bill takes account of the most important recommendations from the Financial Action Task Force's (FATF) Mutual Evaluation Report on Switzerland and strengthens the integrity of the financial centre.

In 2018, the FATF adopted country reports on Iceland, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, the United Kingdom and Israel. These countries are in a follow-up process, as is Switzerland.

The FATF's activities in 2018 also focused on the fight against terrorist financing. The FATF paid special attention to virtual assets and the applicability and adaptation of the corresponding recommendations. On the subject of economic entitlement, a report has been published that analyzes the techniques for disguising beneficial ownership.

Furthermore, in order to ensure improved continuity, the presidential mandate was extended by two years as of 2020. Concerning the legal status of the FATF, initial solutions have been discussed which should strengthen international perception of the FATF. A dialogue was finally set up with the private sector players concerned to discuss opportunities and challenges in the area of Fintech/RegTech.

Last modification 10.05.2019

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/gremien/fatf.html

Groupe d’action financière (GAFI)

Le GAFI est l’organisme international chef de file en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme. Il a émis 40 recommandations en la matière, dont il vérifie régulièrement comment ses États membres les mettent en œuvre dans leur droit national.

La Suisse participe activement à la lutte contre la criminalité financière transfrontalière en s’alignant sur les normes internationalement reconnues du Groupe d’action financière (GAFI). Le GAFI, organisme international chef de file en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme, a son siège à Paris, auprès de l’OCDE. Il évalue régulièrement les réglementations nationales de ses Etats membres quant à leur conformité avec ses 40 recommandations. Ces évaluations de pays sont réalisées par des représentants d’autres Etats membres du GAFI.

Le GAFI a publié le 7 décembre 2016 le 4e rapport d’évaluation mutuelle de la Suisse. Celle-ci obtient un bon résultat d’ensemble, aussi en comparaison avec les autres pays déjà évalués. La Suisse doit toutefois poursuivre ses efforts en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme. C’est pourquoi le rapport contient un certain nombre de recommandations pour améliorer la législation suisse et sa mise en œuvre. La Suisse se trouve dans un processus de suivi, ce qui est usuel dans le cadre des évaluations du GAFI. La consultation sur la modification de la loi sur le blanchiment d’argent (LBA) a pris fin le 21 septembre 2018. Le projet prend en compte les principales recommandations faites par le GAFI dans son rapport d’évaluation mutuelle de la Suisse et permet de renforcer l’intégrité de la place financière.

En 2018, le GAFI a adopté des rapports de pays sur l'Islande, l'Arabie saoudite, Bahreïn, le Royaume-Uni et Israël. Ces pays font l'objet d'un processus de suivi, tout comme la Suisse.

Les activités du GAFI en 2018 ont également porté sur la lutte contre le financement du terrorisme. Le GAFI a accordé une attention particulière aux actifs virtuels ainsi qu’à l’applicabilité et à l’adaptation des recommandations correspondantes. Au sujet des droits économiques, un rapport a été publié, analysant les techniques permettant de dissimuler la propriété effective.

Par ailleurs, afin d’assurer une plus grande continuité, il a été décidé de porter la durée du mandat de présidence du GAFI à deux ans à partir de 2020. En ce qui concerne le statut juridique du GAFI, des ébauches de solutions visant à renforcer la position de cet organisme au niveau international ont été mises en discussion. Enfin, un dialogue sur les chances et les risques que présentent les FinTech et les technologies de réglementation (RegTech) a été ouvert avec les acteurs concernés du secteur privé.

 

 

 

Dernière modification 10.05.2019

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/multilateral/gremien/fatf.html