Interconnected for a strong Swiss financial centre in the world

Strengthening the competitiveness of the financial centre

Attractive regulatory conditions

In the context of financial market policy, Switzerland is committed to providing attractive, internationally competitive and consistent conditions. The Federal Council takes care to ensure that the benefits outweigh the costs in any case. The regulatory framework is continuously being optimised, simplified where possible and regularly checked for effectiveness and efficiency. In doing so, the Federal Council adheres to the tried and tested principles of financial market regulation: risk-based, principles-based, competition-neutral, technology-neutral, proportionate and differentiated. The introduction of an insurance company regime similar to that for small banks, which reduces the complexity of regulation and oversight for small, particularly sound banks, is being considered. The use of technology in regulation is being evaluated. Switzerland should continue to be an attractive location for globally active institutions to site their head office.

Tax competitiveness

The Federal Council will seek more robust strategic steering and close cooperation with the cantons and the business community on Switzerland's attractiveness as a tax location whose design also takes account of the applicable international standards. As regards the financial market, the emphasis is on improving the tax framework for asset management and the capital markets in Switzerland, inter alia through the reform of stamp duty and withholding tax. In connection with the OECD/G20 project on taxing the digitalized economy, the Federal Council will advocate workable solutions that provide the affected companies with legal certainty without hampering innovation and economic growth. For the financial sector, appropriate exceptions are likewise under discussion.

Communication

The Federal Council communicates Switzerland's attractiveness as a business location, with its excellent financial conditions for international business activities, to the rest of the world. Special emphasis is placed on Switzerland's ambition as a leading location for sustainable finance. Tools for promoting Switzerland as a business location will be bundled and synergies will be exploited. The FDF takes advantage of opportunities for joint appearances abroad with the financial sector, for instance during visits by the Head of the FDF abroad.

Improving the exportability of financial services

Market access

Together with the EU and Switzerland's neighbouring countries, the Federal Council will explore workable market access solutions, including recognition of the equivalence of Swiss regulation and oversight, where this is meaningful from a macroeconomic perspective. As regards the UK, the Federal Council seeks as wide-ranging an agreement as possible on reciprocal recognition of financial market regulation and oversight, combined with close cooperation.

In its contacts with its partner countries, the Federal Council is committed to swift, plannable and results-oriented equivalence procedures and will examine the recognition of foreign legislation where possible and appropriate. The aim is to increase legal and planning certainty for cross-border business. In general, obtaining reciprocal market access is a priority. The FDF is in regular contact with its major partner countries, including the US and emerging markets in Asia, the Middle East and Latin America, and maintains the institutionalised dialogues on financial and tax matters.

The Federal Council monitors developments with regard to foreign financial market players in the Swiss market, particularly with respect to digital cross-border distribution channels. It regularly checks whether the applicable legal conditions are optimal in providing for such business models.

Aptness for international cooperation

To increase coherence and its capacity to act in financial foreign policy, the Federal Council proactively assesses possible courses of action in the area of tax administrative assistance. It examines whether additional measures are required in Switzerland as a result of international developments, and involves Parliament and other interested public groups at an early stage. This allows Switzerland to take up an early strategic position in an area of tension between national and international expectations. As part of a situation analysis, it continuously assesses the areas in which more in-depth cooperation with partner states would be in Switzerland's interest, particularly as regards the country's international reputation and market access, but also the repercussions for privacy and general procedural guarantees.

Tax arrangements with other countries

The Federal Council advocates optimal, non-discriminatory tax conditions abroad. It optimises the existing network of double taxation agreements (DTAs) and monitors compliance with existing agreements. At bilateral and multilateral level, it speaks out against measures that could jeopardise the legal certainty of the global DTA network, and ensures that domestic and foreign withholding tax is refunded swiftly and efficiently. In Switzerland, it promotes domestic capabilities in the negotiation and enforcement of transfer pricing, in particular through better coordination of the competent authorities.

Assisting to shape the international financial system

Stability and openness

At international level, the Federal Council strives to ensure that Swiss market circumstances are taken into consideration. The major guiding principles for this are a measured, risk-based design of regulations, the reduction of complexity and costs, technology neutrality, the establishment of legal certainty, implementability and the avoidance of duplication. The Federal Council is committed to the recognition and dissemination of Swiss regulatory and taxation principles. It is generally in favour of open markets and participates in international initiatives and measures to combat market fragmentation. At international level, it is an advocate of sustainable budget, monetary and financial market policies. Finally, the Federal Council is committed to a pragmatic discussion on new business models and technologies, innovative financial services and infrastructures, and improving and diversifying the international payment system, which takes both opportunities and risks appropriately into consideration.

Implementing international standards

As regards the implementation of international standards, the Federal Council follows a pragmatic and risk-based approach centred on the effects of new regulations. It also advocates the effective implementation of international standards by all states. In regulatory implementation, it takes account of the market conditions specific to Switzerland and the possible impact on other areas, especially access to foreign markets. The FDF examines areas in which a differentiated approach is appropriate, creates added value and makes sense given the conditions in the Swiss market.

Representing interests at international level

The FDF, together with the competent offices, actively promotes Switzerland's interests in the relevant committees and discussions of the IMF, FSB, OECD and FATF, as well as the G20 Finance Track. With a view to achieving the maximum effect of its international commitment, the Federal Council regularly assesses the optimum method of participation in existing and newly created international bodies dealing with finance and taxation. It strives to ensure permanent participation in the G20 on financial matters. The Federal Council observes and anticipates international developments that are of relevance for Switzerland. At an early stage, it identifies potential repercussions for Switzerland, sets priorities accordingly and takes a position. It informs Parliament at an early stage. Where appropriate, the Federal Council seeks to coordinate and align with like-minded countries.

Last modification 22.01.2021

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/zusammenfassung/handlungsfelder/vernetzt-starken-schweizer-finanzplatz.html

Interconnexion, au profit d’une place financière suisse forte sur le plan mondial

Renforcer la compétitivité de la place financière

Cadre réglementaire attrayant

Dans le cadre de sa politique en matière de marchés financiers, la Suisse s’engage pour des conditions-cadres attrayantes, compétitives au niveau international et cohérentes. Le Conseil fédéral veille à ce que l’utilité d’une mesure prime à chaque fois les coûts générés. Le cadre réglementaire doit être constamment optimisé, autant que possible simplifié et analysé quant à son efficacité et à son efficience. Les principes reconnus de la réglementation des marchés financiers sont maintenus: basée sur les risques et les principes, neutralité concurrentielle et technologique, proportionnalité et différenciation. L’instauration pour les assurances d’un régime analogue à celui applicable aux petites banques, qui réduit la complexité de la réglementation et de la surveillance pour les petits établissements particulièrement solides, est à l’étude. Le recours à la technologie dans le domaine de la réglementation fera l’objet d’évaluations. Enfin, la Suisse veillera à demeurer un lieu d’implantation attrayant pour le siège social d’entreprises actives au niveau mondial.

Compétitivité fiscale

Le Conseil fédéral aspire à un pilotage stratégique renforcé et à une collaboration étroite avec les cantons et les milieux économiques dans le domaine de l’attractivité fiscale, tout en veillant à ce que les normes internationales pertinentes soient prises en compte. Dans le domaine des marchés financiers, il s’agit en priorité d’améliorer les conditions fiscales applicables à la gestion de fortune et aux marchés des capitaux en Suisse, notamment à travers une révision des droits de timbre et de l’impôt anticipé. Dans le cadre du projet de l’OCDE et du G20 relatif à l’imposition de l’économie numérique, le Conseil fédéral s’engage pour des solutions praticables, qui apportent aux entreprises concernées une sécurité juridique sans entraver l’innovation et la croissance économique. Des exceptions adéquates au profit des marchés financiers sont également en cours de discussion.

Communication

Le Conseil fédéral rappelle à l’étranger l’attrait de la place économique suisse, qui offre d’excellentes conditions-cadres en matière financière pour les activités commerciales internationales. L’accent sera notamment mis sur son ambition de devenir une référence mondiale en matière de finance durable. Les instruments de promotion de la place économique suisse seront regroupés et les synergies exploitées. Le DFF saisit les occasions d’organiser à l’étranger des interventions communes avec le secteur financier, par exemple lors des voyages du chef du DFF.

Améliorer la capacité d’exportation des services financiers

Accès aux marchés

Le Conseil fédéral recherche avec l’UE et en particulier avec les pays voisins de la Suisse des solutions praticables d’accès au marché, dont la reconnaissance de l’équivalence de la réglementation et de la surveillance suisses, dans les domaines où cela s’avère économiquement judicieux. Il s’efforce par ailleurs de conclure avec le Royaume-Uni un accord aussi large que possible de reconnaissance réciproque de la réglementation et de la surveillance des marchés financiers, qui institue une coopération étroite.

Le Conseil fédéral prend contact avec les pays partenaires pour établir des procédures d’équivalence rapides, prévisibles et axées sur les résultats et examine, lorsque c’est possible et indiqué, la question de la reconnaissance du droit étranger. Le but est de renforcer la sécurité juridique et la sécurité de planification dans le domaine des opérations transfrontalières. L’accent sera mis sur le principe de la réciprocité d’accès aux marchés respectifs. Le DFF entretient d’étroits contacts avec les États partenaires importants, dont les États-Unis et les économies émergentes d’Asie, du Proche-Orient et d’Amérique latine, et poursuit les dialogues institutionnalisés sur les dossiers financiers et fiscaux.

Le Conseil fédéral ne perd pas de vue les développements du marché suisse imputables aux acteurs étrangers, notamment en ce qui concerne les canaux numériques de distribution transfrontalière des produits. Il s’assure en permanence que le cadre juridique en vigueur soit optimal pour de tels modèles d’affaires.

Capacité de coopération internationale

Le Conseil fédéral analyse de manière proactive les options pratiques offertes par l’assistance administrative en matière fiscale, afin de renforcer sa cohérence et sa capacité d’action sur le terrain de la politique financière extérieure. Il vérifie si d’autres mesures s’imposent en Suisse, en réponse aux développements internationaux, et implique de bonne heure le Parlement et les milieux concernés. La Suisse peut ainsi rapidement définir sa position stratégique face aux attentes tant nationales qu’internationales. Dans le cadre d’un état des lieux, le Conseil fédéral contrôle régulièrement dans quels domaines une coopération plus poussée avec des États partenaires servirait les intérêts de la Suisse, en prenant en considération tant sa réputation internationale et son accès au marché que les effets à prévoir pour la sphère privée ou encore les garanties générales de procédure.

Cadre fiscal en place avec l’étranger

Le Conseil fédéral s’engage pour la mise en place à l’étranger de conditions fiscales optimales et non discriminatoires. Il optimise le réseau existant de conventions contre les doubles impositions (CDI) et appelle au respect de celles en place. Au niveau tant bilatéral que multilatéral, il s’engage contre les mesures pouvant menacer la sécurité juridique du réseau mondial des CDI et veille au remboursement rapide et efficace des impôts à la source, prélevés en Suisse comme à l’étranger. Enfin, le Conseil fédéral renforce les capacités dont la Suisse dispose pour négocier et faire respecter les prix de transfert, en améliorant notamment la coordination entre les autorités compétentes.

Contribuer à façonner le système financier international

Stabilité et ouverture

Le Conseil fédéral s’engage au niveau international en vue de la prise en compte de la réalité du marché suisse. Les lignes directrices en la matière sont une réglementation modérée et axée sur les coûts, la réduction de la complexité et des coûts, la neutralité technologique, la sécurité juridique, la faisabilité et l’évitement des redondances. Le Conseil fédéral s’engage pour la reconnaissance et la diffusion des principes suisses de réglementation et d’imposition. Il prône des marchés ouverts et s’engage dans le cadre d’initiatives ou mesures internationales contre la fragmentation des marchés. Il préconise en outre au niveau international de mener une politique budgétaire, monétaire et des marchés financiers qui soit axée sur la durabilité. Enfin, le Conseil fédéral appelle à un débat pragmatique et qui tienne dûment compte des chances et des risques inhérents aux nouveaux modèles d’affaires et aux technologies émergentes, aux services financiers et aux infrastructures financières d’avant-garde, ainsi qu’aux améliorations potentielles du système de paiement international et à sa diversification.

Mise en œuvre de normes internationales

Le Conseil fédéral suit dans la mise en œuvre de normes internationales une approche pragmatique et basée sur les risques, se concentrant sur les effets des nouvelles réglementations. Il s’engage en outre en faveur de leur application efficace dans tous les États. Le Conseil fédéral tient également compte, lors de la mise en œuvre des réglementations, des spécificités du marché suisse ainsi que de leurs effets possibles sur d’autres dossiers, notamment sur l’accès aux marchés étrangers. Le DFF vérifie où une différenciation permet de tenir compte des risques, crée une plus-value et est judicieuse au vu des conditions du marché suisse.

Défense des intérêts suisses au niveau international

Le DFF en collaboration avec les services compétents défendent activement les intérêts de la Suisse dans les organes et les discussions pertinents du FMI, du CSF, de l’OCDE et du GAFI, ainsi que dans le cadre du volet financier du G20. Dans l’optique de maximiser l’impact de son engagement international, le Conseil fédéral vérifie en permanence que la participation helvétique dans les organismes internationaux traditionnels ou nouvellement créés du secteur financier et fiscal soit optimale. Il s’engage en vue d’une participation permanente de la Suisse au volet financier du G20. Le Conseil fédéral surveille et anticipe les développements internationaux pertinents pour la Suisse. Il en identifie rapidement les conséquences potentielles, fixe les priorités en conséquence et prend position. Il informe de bonne heure le Parlement. Le cas échéant, le Conseil fédéral cherche à se coordonner et se concerter avec d’autres pays partageant ses vues.

Dernière modification 22.01.2021

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/finanzmarktpolitik/zusammenfassung/handlungsfelder/vernetzt-starken-schweizer-finanzplatz.html