Sustainable for qualitative growth

Ensuring resilience

Stability and growth

The stability of the financial system is a fundamental prerequisite for the sustainable development of the Swiss economy. The Federal Council is committed to the swift conclusion of the regulatory work that remains to be completed in the area of too-big-to-fail. It implements international standards (specifically Basel III) in step with other major financial centres. The FDF regularly reviews the regulatory framework as regards the risks stemming from systemically important financial institutions.

Crisis resistance

Thanks to a sustainable financial policy, the Federal Council ensures that it has sufficient room for manoeuvre to react swiftly and effectively to future crises. It combats excessive debt in the corporate sector and households, removes false incentives and designs the framework such that insurable risks can be covered and corresponding solutions are available on the market. At international level, within the IMF and the G20 Finance Track, the FDF advocates a sustainable global financial architecture, as well as transparent and sound public finances and debt.

Increasing transparency for sustainable investment

Sustainable finance

The Swiss financial centre should further strengthen its position as a leading location for sustainable financial services.15 The framework conditions should be designed to ensure that the competitiveness of Switzerland's financial centre is continuously improved and the financial sector can make an effective contribution to sustainability. For financial markets to adequately take environmental risks into account, it is an important precondition that a high-quality data basis in both the financial sector and the real economy is available, taking international standards into account. Moreover, increased transparency on environmental risks and environmental impact allows investors to make decisions efficiently, promotes innovation capabilities in the financial sector and helps to avoid greenwashing. In order that risks to financial market players are more clearly visible and palpable, external costs of environmental and climate damage from economic activities in the real economy need to be internalised. The Federal Council continues to advocate at international level that greenhouse gas emissions should be appropriately priced using market economy tools, such as charges or emissions trading systems.

Green fintech

Thanks to the more efficient use of digital technology, fintechs are becoming increasingly important for the financial centre, either by acting as innovation partners of traditional financial players or occasionally by replacing their value added. Fintechs are thus essential for the future sustainability and competitiveness of the Swiss financial centre. The Federal Council will position the Swiss financial centre as a global leader in exploiting the potential of digital technology in the area of sustainable finance (green fintech).

Combating financial crime

Money laundering and terrorism financing

The Federal Council greatly values the integrity of the financial centre and has made huge efforts in recent years to identify risks early and improve the mechanism for combating money laundering and terrorist financing. This includes that the relevant international standards are being implemented in national legislation in an efficient and tailored manner. The Federal Council views an effective mechanism for combating financial crime as a prerequisite for the good reputation and sustainable success of a world-leading financial centre. At international level within the FATF, the FDF advocates effective and appropriate solutions, as well as globally harmonised implementation of standards, for example as regards the revision of recommendations on transparency and identifying the beneficial owner in the case of legal entities. The Federal Council will examine whether additional measures may be needed owing to new developments in Switzerland, and involves Parliament and interested groups at an early stage.

Illegal financial flows

The Federal Council is committed to ensuring that causes of illegal financial flows (drugs trade, terrorism, corruption, tax evasion and money laundering) can be effectively combated. In the international debate on illegal financial flows, it advocates appropriate and globally balanced solutions. The FDF, together with the competent offices, coordinates the measures at international level, thereby ensuring the integrity and competitiveness of the financial centre. The FDF maintains its commitment in matters regarding international tax administrative assistance and examines the option of automatic exchange of information (AEIO) with other states and territories that meet the criteria of the global AEIO standard, and particularly with emerging market and developing countries. The Federal Council is committed to repatriating illegally obtained assets and ensures effective international cooperation among judicial authorities. Where there are illegal financial flows which threaten Switzerland's integrity as a financial centre and tax location, the Federal Council raises this for discussion, both bilaterally and within international bodies. As part of technical assistance, Switzerland assists affected states in strengthening their institutions to combat illegal financial flows.

Cyber-risks

The FDF supports financial service providers and the competent authorities with regard to prevention, incident management and improving resilience to cyber-risks. In addition, it is setting up a cybersecurity crisis organisation to deal with cyber-risks in the financial sector, and ensures close cooperation with the National Cybersecurity Centre (NCSC). This supports the industry in developing stable and secure electronic payment systems and value storage systems.

Last modification 22.01.2021

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/zusammenfassung/handlungsfelder/nachhaltig-qualitatives-wachstum.html

Durabilité, en vue d’une croissance qualitative

Garantir la résilience

Stabilité et croissance

La stabilité du système financier est une condition essentielle du développement durable de l’économie suisse. Le Conseil fédéral cherche à conclure rapidement les travaux réglementaires restants liés au régime suisse too big to fail. Il met en œuvre les normes internationales en parallèle aux autres places financières importantes (notamment Bâle III). Le DFF examine régulièrement le dispositif réglementaire visant à contrer les risques liés aux banques d’importance systémique.

Résistance face aux crises

Grâce à sa politique budgétaire durable, le Conseil fédéral veille à avoir suffisamment de marge de manœuvre pour pouvoir réagir rapidement et efficacement en cas de future crise. Il combat tout endettement excessif des entreprises et des ménages privés, élimine les incitations inopportunes et définit les conditions-cadres de façon à ce que les risques assurables puissent être couverts et que des solutions adéquates soient proposées sur le marché. Au niveau international, le DFF s’engage au FMI et dans le cadre du volet financier du G20 en faveur d’une architecture financière mondiale durable, ainsi que pour des finances et une dette publiques transparentes et saines.

Accroître la transparence afin de rendre les investissements durables

Finance durable

La place financière suisse doit renforcer son rôle de référence mondiale en matière de services financiers durables15. Il faut que les conditions-cadres lui permettent d’améliorer continuellement sa compétitivité et que le secteur financier soit à même d’apporter une contribution significative au développement durable. Afin que les marchés financiers puissent dûment prendre en compte les risques environnementaux, il est indispensable de disposer d’une base de données de grande qualité, conforme aux normes internationales, tant dans l’économie financière que dans l’économie réelle. La transparence accrue quant aux risques ou impacts environnementaux permettra en outre aux investisseurs d’adopter des décisions plus rationnelles, encouragera la capacité d’innovation du secteur financier et aidera à éviter tout écoblanchiment (green washing). Or pour que les acteurs des marchés financiers aient une meilleure vision ou perception des risques, il faut pouvoir internaliser dans l’économie réelle les coûts externes des dommages environnementaux ou climatiques résultant de l’activité économique. Le Conseil fédéral continue de s’engager au niveau international en vue de la fixation d’un juste prix pour les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, à l’aide d’instruments relevant de l’économie de marché comme les taxes ou les systèmes d’échange de quotas d’émissions.

FinTech vertes

Avec l’essor des technologies numériques, les entreprises de technologies financières (FinTech) sont appelées à jouer un rôle croissant sur la place financière, soit comme partenaires d’innovation des acteurs traditionnels de la finance, soit en se substituant ponctuellement à eux dans la chaîne de valeur ajoutée. Les FinTech revêtent donc une réelle importance pour la durabilité de la place financière suisse et pour sa future compétitivité. Le Conseil fédéral positionne la place financière suisse comme leader mondial des FinTech vertes, en misant sur le potentiel des technologies numériques dans le domaine de la finance durable.

Combattre la criminalité sévissant dans la place financière

Blanchiment d’argent et financement du terrorisme

Le Conseil fédéral attache une grande importance à l’intégrité de la place financière et a entrepris, au cours des dernières années, de gros efforts pour pouvoir identifier de bonne heure les risques et améliorer le dispositif de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme. Il s’agit dans ce cadre de transposer en droit suisse de manière efficace et adaptée les normes internationales pertinentes. De l’avis du Conseil fédéral, un dispositif performant de lutte contre la criminalité financière est indispensable à la bonne réputation et au succès durable d’une place financière d’envergure mondiale. Au niveau international, le DFF s’engage dans les travaux du GAFI pour l’adoption de solutions efficaces et adéquates, ainsi que pour une mise en œuvre uniforme des normes dans le monde entier, par exemple lors de la révision de la recommandation relative à la transparence et aux bénéficiaires effectifs des personnes morales. Le Conseil fédéral vérifie si d’autres mesures s’imposent, compte tenu des récents développements survenus en Suisse, et implique de bonne heure le Parlement et les milieux concernés.

Flux financiers illégaux

Le Conseil fédéral s’engage à lutter efficacement contre les causes sous-jacentes des flux financiers illégaux (trafic de drogue, terrorisme, corruption, soustraction fiscale et blanchiment). Il fait en sorte, dans le débat international sur les flux financiers illégaux, que des solutions adaptées et globalement équilibrées soient trouvées. Le DFF coordonne avec les offices compétents les mesures au niveau international, en veillant à l’intégrité et à la compétitivité de la place financière.

Le DFF poursuit son engagement sur le terrain de l’assistance administrative internationale en matière fiscale et étudie l’introduction de l’échange automatique de renseignements relatifs aux comptes financiers (EAR) avec d’autres États ou territoires remplissant les conditions de la norme mondiale de l’EAR, notamment avec les pays émergents ou en développement. Le Conseil fédéral œuvre à la restitution des avoirs d’origine illicite et veille à une coopération internationale efficace entre les autorités judiciaires. Au cas où des flux financiers illégaux mettraient en péril l’intégrité de la place financière et fiscale suisse, il abordera la question bilatéralement et dans les organismes internationaux. Enfin, la Suisse apporte aux États concernés son soutien technique en vue du renforcement de leurs institutions traquant les flux financiers illégaux.

Le Conseil fédéral s'engage en faveur du rapatriement des avoirs acquis illégalement et assure une coopération internationale efficace entre les autorités judiciaires.

Cyberrisques

Le DFF soutient les prestataires financiers et les autorités compétentes dans la prévention, la maîtrise des incidents et l’amélioration de la résilience face aux cyberrisques. Il crée également une organisation de gestion des cyberrisques du secteur financier, garantissant au passage l’étroite collaboration avec le Centre national pour la cybersécurité (NCSC). Cela aidera la branche à concevoir des systèmes électroniques de paiement et de conservation des valeurs qui soient stables et sûrs.

Dernière modification 22.01.2021

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/finanzmarktpolitik/zusammenfassung/handlungsfelder/nachhaltig-qualitatives-wachstum.html