Leading worldwide, rooted in Switzerland: Policy for a future-proof Swiss financial centre

A strong financial centre is key for the Swiss economy and Switzerland's standing as an international location. Switzerland should therefore maintain its place among world-leading, modern and globally active financial centres. The Federal Council wants to assist and support this with a sound and dynamic financial market policy.

This financial market policy builds on traditional Swiss strengths such as high productivity, stability, security and trust. In order to maintain a leading position on the international stage in the future while also meeting the needs of the population, these strengths need to be combined with an openness for new technological and international developments, and efforts to increase international competitiveness. In its new strategy presented here, the Federal Council has therefore defined nine specific areas of action for a future-proof Swiss financial centre under the three key thrusts "innovative", "interconnected" and "sustainable".

Policy for a future-proof Swiss financial centreinnovativeinterconnectedsustainable

Innovative

Existing and new financial centre players must be able to exploit the many possibilities offered by new technologies and data-driven business models in an optimal manner. To enable this, the Federal Council is creating a technology-neutral regulatory framework for digital access, digitalising the interfaces with the authorities and promoting innovation in the financial sector.

Interconnected

The international financial market regulatory framework is constantly being refined in the competent international bodies. Through its active involvement in the framework design, the Federal Council represents Switzerland's interests, also with the aim of improving market access from Switzerland. The Federal Council provides attractive and internationally compatible conditions which ensure that the financial centre has global reach. The Federal Council supports the financial sector in communicating its appeal to an international audience.

Sustainable

For financial service providers, as for all sectors of the economy, sustainable growth in all its aspects is the only viable path for future development. This involves not only the fundamental stability of the Swiss financial sector, its integrity and the effective combating of criminal risks, but also – against the background of the 2030 Agenda and especially climate change – tools to ensure the measurability and transparency of service quality and of effective product prices.

Last modification 22.01.2021

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/zusammenfassung.html

Leadership mondial, ancrage en Suisse: Politique pour une place financière suisse tournée vers l’avenir

Une place financière forte s’avère un atout décisif pour l’économie suisse et pour l’attrait du site d’implantation helvétique sur la scène internationale. La place financière suisse doit par conséquent continuer de faire partie des places financières modernes et d’envergure mondiale, qui donnent le ton à l’échelle internationale. Le Conseil fédéral entend l’accompagner et la soutenir sur cette voie avec une politique en matière de marchés financiers solide et dynamique.

Cette politique repose sur les atouts traditionnels de la Suisse que sont une productivité élevée, la stabilité, la sécurité et la confiance. Pour assurer la pérennité de la place financière au niveau international tout en répondant aux besoins de la population, elle doit combiner ces atouts avec l’ouverture aux progrès technologiques et aux développements internationaux, ainsi qu’avec le souci de renforcer la compétitivité internationale. Le Conseil fédéral a par conséquent défini, dans sa nouvelle stratégie basée sur les trois axes que sont l’innovation, l’interconnexion et la durabilité, neuf champs d’action concrets visant à établir une place financière suisse pérenne.

Politique pour une place financière suisse tournée vers l’avenirinnovationinterconnexiondurabilité

Innovation

Les acteurs traditionnels comme les nouveaux acteurs de la place financière doivent pouvoir exploiter de façon optimale les multiples possibilités offertes par les nouvelles technologies et par les modèles d’affaires basés sur les données. À cet effet, le Conseil fédéral définit le cadre réglementaire de l’accès aux données d’une façon qui soit neutre sur le plan technologique, qui numérise les interfaces avec les autorités et qui encourage l’innovation dans le secteur financier.

Interconnexion

La réglementation internationale des marchés financiers est en constante évolution au sein des organismes internationaux compétents. Le Conseil fédéral représente et fait valoir activement les intérêts de la Suisse afin notamment d’améliorer l’accès aux marchés depuis la Suisse. Il veille à la mise en place de conditions-cadres attrayantes et compatibles au niveau international, qui assurent à la place financière une envergure mondiale. Le Conseil fédéral soutient la branche financière dans sa communication visant à faire valoir son attrait au niveau international.

Durabilité

La croissance durable dans toutes ses dimensions constitue la seule voie de développement viable pour les prestataires financiers. Cela passe non seulement par la stabilité systémique fondamentale du secteur financier, son intégrité et une lutte efficace contre les risques criminels, mais aussi, dans le contexte de l’Agenda 2030 et en particulier du changement climatique, par des instruments qui permettent de mesurer la qualité des services et les prix effectifs des produits et d’instaurer la transparence en la matière.

Dernière modification 22.01.2021

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/finanzmarktpolitik/zusammenfassung.html