Commodity trading and finance

Switzerland is a world leader in commodity trading. The Swiss commodity sector includes not only trading companies, but also banks specialised in the financing of commodity trading, goods inspection companies, shipping companies and insurance companies. Its importance for the Swiss economy is as significant as ever. Approximately 900 companies with around 10,000 employees are active in the commodity sector in Switzerland.    

The regulatory and political environment plays a decisive role in terms of Switzerland's appeal as a business location. Commodity trading centres such as Singapore, London and Dubai are major competitors for Switzerland. Given the many connections between the commodity and financial sectors, a prosperous commodity sector is important for Switzerland's financial centre. Banks play a key role in the financing of commodity trading, for instance.

In view of the sector's diversity and its great importance in terms of domestic and foreign policy, the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER) and the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) established an interdepartmental commodities platform in 2013. It is led alternately by SIF, SECO and the FDFA.

Switzerland is pursuing its commodity policy dialogue with the private sector, civil society and the cantons. The Federal Council believes that Switzerland is in a favourable position by international standards thanks to its efforts to ensure a competitive and morally sound business location for companies in the commodity sector. In November 2018, it adopted a report on the situation in the Swiss commodity sector. It issued 16 recommendations on that basis to further enhance the appeal, innovative power, integrity and responsible practices of the Swiss hub. 

Further information

Last modification 12.03.2021

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Berne

info@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/rohstoffhandel.html

Négoce des matières premières

La Suisse fait partie des leaders mondiaux du négoce des matières premières. En Suisse, le secteur des matières premières comprend non seulement des sociétés de négoce, mais aussi des banques spécialisées dans le financement de ce négoce, des sociétés d’inspection des marchandises, des compagnies maritimes et des compagnies d’assurance. Il revêt une grande importance pour l’économie suisse: près de 900 négociants pour environ 10 000 employés sont actifs dans cette branche.    

L’environnement réglementaire et politique joue un rôle crucial pour l’attractivité de la place suisse. Des places de négoce de matières premières telles que Singapour, Londres ou Dubaï représentent une concurrence considérable pour la place suisse. En raison des nombreux liens rattachant la branche des matières premières au secteur financier, la prospérité de cette branche est importante pour la place financière suisse. Les banques jouent par exemple un rôle central dans le financement du négoce des matières premières.

Compte tenu de l’importance de la branche pour la politique intérieure comme extérieure et de la multitude de facettes qu’elle revêt, le Département fédéral des affaires étrangères (DFAE), le Département fédéral de l’économie, de la formation et de la recherche (DEFR) et le Département fédéral des finances (DFF) ont créé, en 2013, une plateforme interdépartementale consacrée aux matières premières et pilotée à tour de rôle par le Secrétariat d’État aux questions financières internationales (SFI), le Secrétariat d’État à l’économie (SECO) et le DFAE.

La Suisse poursuit son dialogue sur la politique des matières premières avec le secteur privé, la société civile et les cantons. Le Conseil fédéral estime que la Suisse occupe une position favorable en comparaison internationale grâce aux efforts qu’elle a fournis pour assurer une place économique compétitive et intègre aux entreprises du secteur des matières premières. En novembre 2018, il a adopté un rapport qui fait état de la situation du secteur suisse des matières premières. Sur cette base, il a émis 16 recommandations visant à renforcer davantage l’attrait, la force d’innovation, l’intégrité et les pratiques responsables du hub suisse. 

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 27.05.2021

Haut de la page

Contact

Secrétariat d'État aux questions financières internationales SFI

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Berne

info@sif.admin.ch

Imprimer contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/finanzmarktpolitik/rohstoffhandel.html