Sustainable Finance

Sustainability in the financial sector is becoming increasingly important, both nationally and internationally. For the Swiss financial centre, sustainability in the financial sector presents a considerable opportunity. The government primarily acts as mediator and facilitator in this context, cultivating an intensive dialogue with the financial industry and interested third parties and supporting the creation of an optimal regulatory framework.

By adopting the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development in 2015, the member states of the UN declared their willingness to jointly meet the 17 Sustainable Development Goals by 2030. Switzerland ratified the Paris Convention on Climate Change in 2017. In 2019, the Federal Council set the objective of zero net greenhouse gas emissions by 2050. Accordingly, sustainability topics are increasingly shaping the financial market.

The importance of sustainable financial investments has risen sharply, for both wealth management and investment advice and pension funds and insurance companies. For example, sustainable financial investment in Switzerland surged from CHF 141.7 billion in 2015 to over CHF 1,163 billion in 2019.

On 24 June 2020, the Federal Council adopted a report and guidelines on sustainability in the financial sector: The Swiss financial centre should further strengthen its position as a leading location for sustainable financial services. The framework conditions should be designed to ensure that the competitiveness of Switzerland's financial centre is continuously improved and the financial sector can make an effective contribution to sustainability.

For financial markets to adequately take environmental risks into account, it is an important precondition that a high-quality data basis in both the financial sector and the real economy is available, taking international standards into account. Moreover, increased transparency on environmental risks and environmental impact allows investors to make decisions efficiently, promotes innovation capabilities in the financial sector and helps to avoid greenwashing.

In order that risks to financial market players are more clearly visible and palpable, external costs of environmental and climate damage from economic activities in the real economy need to be internalised. The Federal Council continues to advocate at international level that greenhouse gas emissions should be appropriately priced using market economy tools, such as charges or emissions trading systems.

Green fintech

Thanks to the more efficient use of digital technology, fintechs are becoming increasingly important for the financial centre, either by acting as innovation partners of traditional financial players or occasionally by replacing their value added. Fintechs are thus essential for the future sustainability and competitiveness of the Swiss financial centre. The Federal Council will position the Swiss financial centre as a global leader in exploiting the potential of digital technology in the area of sustainable finance (green fintech).

Environmental impact testing

In 2017, the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) and the State Secretariat for International Finance (SIF) made it possible for all Swiss pension funds and insurance companies to have the environmental impact of their stock and corporate bond portfolios tested voluntarily and free of charge. Testing was repeated in 2020 and expanded to include banks and asset managers. 

Further information

Last modification 23.08.2021

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Berne

info@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

Links

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/nachhalt_finanzsektor.html

Finance durable

La finance durable gagne en importance, tant au niveau national qu’international. Ce développement constitue une chance pour la place financière suisse. Dans ce contexte, l’État joue avant tout un rôle de médiateur, mène un dialogue nourri avec la branche ainsi que les milieux intéressés, et s’engage en faveur de la mise en place d’un cadre réglementaire optimal.  

Les États membres des Nations Unies se sont déclarés prêts en 2015, en adoptant l’Agenda 2030 pour le développement durable, à atteindre ensemble d’ici là les 17 objectifs de développement durable (Sustainable Development Goals). La Suisse a ratifié en 2017 l’accord de Paris sur le climat. Le Conseil fédéral s’est donné pour objectif en 2019 d’atteindre d’ici à 2050 le niveau de zéro émission nette de gaz à effet de serre.

De ce fait, les thèmes liés au développement durable retiennent toujours plus l’attention des marchés financiers. Les placements financiers durables ont le vent en poupe, dans la gestion de fortune et le conseil en placement comme dans les caisses de pensions et les assurances. C’est ainsi qu’en Suisse les placements financiers durables sont passés de 141,7 milliards de francs en 2015 à plus de 1163 milliards de francs en 2019.

Le 24 juin 2020, le Conseil fédéral a adopté un rapport et des lignes directrices sur le développement durable dans le secteur financier: la place financière suisse doit renforcer son rôle de référence mondiale en matière de services financiers durables. Pour ce faire, il faut que les conditions cadres lui permettent d’améliorer continuellement sa compétitivité et que le secteur financier soit à même d’apporter une contribution significative au développement durable.

Afin que les marchés financiers puissent dûment prendre en compte les risques environnementaux, il est indispensable de disposer d’une base de données de grande qualité, conforme aux normes internationales, tant dans l’économie financière que dans l’économie réelle. La transparence accrue quant aux risques ou impacts environnementaux permettra en outre aux investisseurs d’adopter des décisions plus rationnelles, encouragera la capacité d’innovation du secteur financier et aidera à éviter tout écoblanchiment (green washing).

Pour que les acteurs des marchés financiers aient une meilleure vision ou perception des risques, il faut pouvoir internaliser dans l’économie réelle les coûts externes des dommages environnementaux ou climatiques résultant de l’activité économique. Le Conseil fédéral continue de s’engager au niveau international en vue de la fixation d’un juste prix pour les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, à l’aide d’instruments relevant de l’économie de marché comme les taxes ou les systèmes d’échange de quotas d’émissions.

FinTech vertes

Avec l’essor des technologies numériques, les entreprises de technologies financières (FinTech) sont appelées à jouer un rôle croissant sur la place financière, soit comme partenaires d’innovation des acteurs traditionnels de la finance, soit en se substituant ponctuellement à eux dans la chaîne de valeur ajoutée. Les FinTech revêtent donc une réelle importance pour la durabilité de la place financière suisse et pour sa future compétitivité. Le Conseil fédéral positionne la place financière suisse Politique pour une place financière suisse tournée vers l’avenir comme leader mondial des FinTech vertes, en misant sur le potentiel des technologies numériques dans le domaine de la finance durable. 

Tests de compatibilité climatique

En 2017, l’Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV) et le Secrétariat d’État aux questions financières internationales (SFI) ont donné la possibilité à toutes les caisses de pensions et assurances de Suisse de faire vérifier gratuitement et sur une base volontaire si leurs portefeuilles d’actions et d’obligations d’entreprises étaient compatibles avec les enjeux climatiques. Proposé à nouveau en 2020, ce test a été étendu aux banques et aux gestionnaires d’actifs. 

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 19.01.2021

Haut de la page

Contact

Secrétariat d'État aux questions financières internationales SFI

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Berne

info@sif.admin.ch

Imprimer contact

Liens

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/finanzmarktpolitik/nachhalt_finanzsektor.html