Systemically important banks

The global financial and economic crisis in 2008 showed that a big bank encountering serious difficulties can constitute a considerable burden for the economy, even in Switzerland. The Federal Council wants to prevent such banks from being too big to fail and to prevent the state from having to use tax revenues to save them.

The second review of the too-big-to-fail provisions by the Federal Council shows that Swiss regulation fares well in international comparison. It is suited to reducing the risk of systemically important banks so that no fundamental changes are required.

Gone concern capital requirements are intended to ensure that a bank in difficulty can be restructured and wound up in an orderly manner without financial assistance from the state. Following the introduction of gone concern capital requirements for UBS and Credit Suisse back in 2016, since 1 January 2019 these apply also to the domestically focused systemically important banks (PostFinance, Raiffeisen and Zürcher Kantonalbank). The level of the new requirements reflects the going concern capital requirements already in force today, which ensure the continuation of business activities in the event of major losses. Unlike for the big banks, however, only 40% of the requirements are reflected, as the domestically focused banks are less interconnected internationally.

At the end of November 2019, the Federal Council decided on the corresponding requirements for the parent entities of the two big banks.

Further information

Contact

State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Legal Services
Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 480 09 62

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprojekte/systemrelevante-banken.html

Banques d’importance systémique

La crise financière et économique mondiale de 2008 a montré qu’en Suisse aussi la défaillance d’une banque d’importance systémique constituait un risque ma­jeur pour l’économie. Le Conseil fédéral entend éviter qu’une banque soit «trop grande pour être mise en faillite» (too big to fail) et que l’État doive recourir aux deniers publics pour la sauver.

Le deuxième examen des dispositions sur les établissements trop grands pour être mis en faillite (too big to fail) a montré que la réglementation suisse est bien positionnée en comparaison internationale. Elle permet effectivement de réduire les risques liés aux banques d’importance systémique et ne requiert donc pas de modification fondamentale.

Les exigences de capital gone concern doivent permettre d'assainir ou de liquider de manière ordonnée une banque en difficulté sans aide financière de la part de l'État. Ces exigences avaient déjà été introduites en 2016 pour UBS et Credit Suisse. Elles devront désormais s'appliquer également aux banques d'importance systémique nationale (PostFinance, Raiffeisen et Banque cantonale de Zurich). Alors que, pour les grandes banques, les nouvelles exigences équivalent aux exigences de capital going concern actuelles, qui assurent le maintien des activités en cas de pertes importantes, elles se limiteront à 40 % des exigences going concern pour les banques tournées vers le marché intérieur, qui présentent une interdépendance internationale moindre.

En ce qui concerne les exigences correspondantes pour les maisons mères des deux grandes banques, le Conseil fédéral s'est prononcé à fin novembre 2019.

Informations complémentaires

Contact

Secrétariat d'État aux questions financières internationales SFI

Service juridique
Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 480 09 62

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Imprimer contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprojekte/systemrelevante-banken.html