Depositor protection and bank insolvency

In February 2017, the Federal Council decided to improve the depositor protection system. The time taken to pay out protected deposits in case of a bank becoming bankrupt should be reduced. Furthermore, the upper limit of the system is to be set at 1.6% of the total secured deposits. In addition, the financing of the deposit protection system is to be strengthened with the deposit of securities to the value of 50% of the banks' contribution obligations. 

For the corresponding amendment of the Banking Act, a consultation took place until the summer of 2019. The amendment also includes the insolvency provisions submitted to Parliament under the Financial Institutions Act and rejected to the Federal Council. It also contains a supplementary regulation on the segregation of securities.

The Federal Council adopted the dispatch in June 2020. Parliament is expected to address the bill for the first time in the second half of 2020. It is not expected to come into force until the start of 2022 at the earliest.

 

Further information

Last modification 15.10.2020

Contact

State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Legal Services
Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 480 09 62

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprojekte/einlegerschutz-bankinsolvenz.html

Protection des déposants et insolvabilité bancaire

En février 2017, le Conseil fédéral a décidé d'améliorer le système de protection des déposants. Le délai de versement des dépôts garantis en cas de faillite bancaire doit être raccourci. En outre, la limite supérieure du système doit être fixée à 1,6 % du montant total des dépôts garantis. En outre, le financement du système de garantie des dépôts doit être renforcé par le dépôt de titres représentant 50 % des obligations de contribution des banques.

Une consultation concernant la modification correspondante de la loi sur les banques a eu lieu jusqu'à l'été 2019. Cette modification porte aussi sur les dispositions relatives à l’insolvabilité, qui avaient été soumises au Parlement avec la loi sur les établissements financiers (LEFin) et renvoyées au Conseil fédéral, et contient en outre des règles complémentaires en matière de ségrégation des titres.

Le Conseil fédéral a adopté le message en juin 2020. Le Parlement devrait examiner le projet pour la première fois durant le second semestre 2020. Il est prévu que la loi sur les banques partiellement révisée entre en vigueur au plus tôt au début de l'année 2022.

 

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 15.10.2020

Contact

Secrétariat d'État aux questions financières internationales SFI

Service juridique
Bundesgasse 3
3003 Berne
Tel.: +41 58 480 09 62

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Imprimer contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprojekte/einlegerschutz-bankinsolvenz.html