Regulatory projects

Appropriate measures in national regulation should, in particular, ensure the interests of market players which focus on the domestic market, e.g. when implementing international standards. Financial stability is also a focus point, but innovation must be possible. Disproportionate barriers to market entry, e.g. for fintech firms, should therefore be removed by adjusting the legal framework. Ongoing dialogue with the industry is important for all of these initiatives.

Systemically important banks

The global financial and economic crisis in 2008 showed that a big bank encountering serious difficulties can constitute a considerable burden for the economy, even in Switzerland. The Federal Council wants to prevent such banks from being too big to fail and to prevent the state from having to use tax revenues to save them. 

TBTF 2

The second review of the too-big-to-fail provisions by the Federal Council shows that Swiss regulation fares well in international comparison. It is suited to reducing the risk of systemically important banks so that no fundamental changes are required. 

Gone concern capital requirements are intended to ensure that a bank in difficulty can be restructured and wound up in an orderly manner without financial assistance from the state. Following the introduction of gone concern capital requirements for UBS and Credit Suisse back in 2016, since 1 January 2019 these apply also to the domestically focused systemically important banks (PostFinance AG, Raiffeisen and Zürcher Kantonalbank). The level of the new requirements reflects the going concern capital requirements already in force today, which ensure the continuation of business activities in the event of major losses. Unlike for the big banks, however, only 40% of the requirements are reflected, as the domestically focused banks are less interconnected internationally.

2019, the Federal Council will decide on the corresponding requirements for the parent entities of the two big banks.                  

 

Depositor protection and bank insolvency

On 15 February 2017, the Federal Council decided to improve the depositor protection system. The time taken to pay out protected deposits in case of a bank becoming bankrupt should be reduced. Furthermore, the upper limit of the system is to be set at 1.6% of the total secured deposits. In addition, the financing of the deposit protection system is to be strengthened with the deposit of securities to the value of 50% of the banks' contribution obligations. 

For the corresponding amendment of the Banking Act, a consultation takes place until the summer of 2019. The amendment will also include the insolvency provisions submitted to Parliament under the Financial Institutions Act and rejected to the Federal Council. It also contains a supplementary regulation on the segregation of securities.

Consultation

 

Implementing Basel III

Basel III is the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision's (BCBS) comprehensive package of reforms which, in particular, aims to strengthen solvency and liquidity in the banking sector. In November 2017, the Federal Council decided to incorporate further elements of Basel III into national law. As of 2018, core capital must amount to at least 3% of total exposure (leverage ratio). The special requirements of up to 10% for systemically important banks remain. As of 2019, the new risk diversification regulations will also come into force and the Liquidity Coverage Ratio (LCR) must be fully achieved by then. The Federal Council will decide on the introduction of the Net Stable Funding Ratio (NSFR) at the end of 2019.

Federal Financial Services Act (FinSA) and Financial Institutions Act (FinIA)

The Financial Services Act (FinSA) and Financial Institutions Act (FinIA) are part of the new regulatory financial market architecture. The purpose of both laws is to create a level playing field, boost the competitiveness of the financial centre and improve client protection. 

The FinSA contains rules on providing financial services and offering financial instruments for all financial service providers and makes it easier for clients to enforce their claims against financial service providers. A differentiated supervisory regime for financial institutions (portfolio managers and trustees, managers of collective assets, fund management companies and securities firms) will be introduced with the FinIA. 

Parliament adopted both bills in the final votes on 15 June 2018. The referendum deadline expired unused in autumn 2018. In parallel, work has begun on the ordinance provisions. It seems realistic that the two new laws will come into force at the beginning of 2020. 

Dispatch

Curia Vista

Consultation 

 
 

Collective Investment Schemes Act (CISA)

The Limited Qualified Investor Fund (L-QIF) is an innovative fund product designed to enhance the attractiveness and innovative capacity of Switzerland as a fund centre. The L-QIF is neither subject to approval nor approval by the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) nor is it supervised by the latter. However, it is only open to qualified investors and must be managed by an institution approved and supervised by FINMA - usually a fund management company (administration and portfolio management). The corresponding amendment to the Collective Investment Schemes Act (CISA) is scheduled for consultation in summer 2019.

Federal Council press release

Insurance Policies Act (IPA)

The Insurance Policies Act (IPA) is over one hundred years old and no longer meets the requirements and needs of a modern law. Some urgent consumer protection concerns were implemented with a partial revision in 2006. The dispatch submitted by the Federal Council in June 2017 for a further partial revision is intended to adapt insurance contract law in other selected areas to the changed circumstances and to the need for reasonable and feasible insurance cover. 

The draft takes up Parliament's proposal from the total revision of the IPA that failed in 2013 and has been under parliamentary deliberation since the first quarter of 2018. Entry into force of the partially revised IPA could occur by 2020.

Dispatch

Insurance Oversight Act (IOA)

In September 2016, the Federal Council instructed the FDF to prepare a revision of the Insurance Supervision Act (IOA) in collaboration with other authorities and the insurance industry. A legal basis should also be established which, in the event of insolvency, allows an insurance company to be restructured rather than left to go bankrupt. Furthermore, a client categorisation and associated facilitation by the supervisory authorities is to be introduced. In addition to other points for revision, the provisions on group supervision and insurance distribution should also be revised. The consultation on the partial revision of the VAG ended in February 2019. A message from the Federal Council is expected at the end of 2019 or the beginning of 2020.

Consultation 

Amendments to the Anti-Money Laundering Act

The FATF conducted its fourth review of Switzerland in 2016. In its mutual evaluation report, it acknowledged the generally good quality of the Swiss system for combating money laundering and terrorist financing. At the same time, it identified weaknesses in certain areas and issued recommendations. In June 2017, the Federal Council instructed the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) to prepare a corresponding consultation draft which also reinforces the integrity of the Swiss financial centre. On 1 June 2018, the Federal Council initiated the consultation on amendments to the Anti-Money Laundering Act (AMLA). The consultation will last until 21 September 2018. The Federal Council will probably adopt the dispatch for the attention of Parliament in the first half of 2019. Entry into force is not expected until the start of 2021 at the earliest.

 

 

Last modification 08.05.2019

Top of page

Contact

Legal Services

Tel.: +41 58 465 34 81

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprojekte.html

Projets de réglementation

La réglementation nationale – notamment lorsqu’il s’agit de mettre en œuvre des normes internationales – doit prévoir des dispositions proportionnées à leur but et qui préservent en particulier les intérêts des acteurs dont les activités se concentrent sur le marché national. Les travaux doivent en outre viser la stabilité financière tout en permettant l’innovation. Il convient donc d’éliminer les obstacles disproportionnés à l’accès au marché, notamment pour les entreprises actives dans le domaine des technologies financières (FinTech), en modifiant les conditions-cadres juridiques. Enfin, il est important de mener tous les projets en dialoguant en permanence avec la branche.

Banques d’importance systémique

La crise financière et économique mondiale de 2008 a montré qu’en Suisse aussi la défaillance d’une banque d’importance systémique constituait un risque ma­jeur pour l’économie. Le Conseil fédéral entend éviter qu’une banque soit «trop grande pour être mise en faillite» (too big to fail) et que l’État doive recourir aux deniers publics pour la sauver. 

TBTF 2

Le deuxième examen des dispositions sur les établissements trop grands pour être mis en faillite (too big to fail) a montré que la réglementation suisse est bien positionnée en comparaison internationale. Elle permet effectivement de réduire les risques liés aux banques d’importance systémique et ne requiert donc pas de modification fondamentale. 

Les exigences de capital gone concern doivent permettre d'assainir ou de liquider de manière ordonnée une banque en difficulté sans aide financière de la part de l'État. Ces exigences avaient déjà été introduites en 2016 pour UBS et Credit Suisse. Elles devront désormais s'appliquer également aux banques d'importance systémique nationale (PostFinance SA, Raiffeisen et Banque cantonale de Zurich). Alors que, pour les grandes banques, les nouvelles exigences équivalent aux exigences de capital going concern actuelles, qui assurent le maintien des activités en cas de pertes importantes, elles se limiteront à 40 % des exigences going concern pour les banques tournées vers le marché intérieur, qui présentent une interdépendance internationale moindre.

En ce qui concerne les exigences correspondantes pour les maisons mères des deux grandes banques, le Conseil fédéral prendra une décision en 2019.                              

 

Protection des déposants et insolvabilité bancaire

Concernant la modification correspondante de la loi sur les banques, une consultation a eu lieu jusqu'à l'été 2019. Cette modification porte aussi sur les dispositions relatives à l’insolvabilité, qui ont été soumises au Parlement avec la loi sur les établissements financiers (LEFin) et renvoyées au Conseil fédéral et contient également un règlement complémentaire sur la ségrégation des titres. Le message du Conseil fédéral est attendu au printemps 2020.

Concernant la modification correspondante de la loi sur les banques, une consultation a lieu jusqu'à l'été 2019. Cette modification portera aussi sur les dispositions relatives à l’insolvabilité, qui ont été soumises au Parlement avec la loi sur les établissements financiers (LEFin) et renvoyées au Conseil fédéral, et contient également un règlement complémentaire sur la ségrégation des titres. Le message du Conseil fédéral est attendu au printemps 2020.

Consultation

Mise en œuvre de Bâle III

Bâle III est un ensemble de réformes élaborées par le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire (Comité de Bâle) visant à renforcer la solvabilité et la liquidité des établissements bancaires. En novembre 2017, le Conseil fédéral a décidé de reprendre d’autres éléments de Bâle III dans le droit suisse. Depuis 2018, les fonds propres de base doivent s’élever à au moins 3 % de l’engagement total de l’établissement (ratio de levier), sous réserve d’exigences encore plus strictes pour les banques d’importance systémique, avec un taux pouvant atteindre 10 %. De plus, de nouvelles prescriptions en matière de répartition des risques s’appliqueront à partir de 2019 et les exigences relatives au ratio de liquidités à court terme (Liquidity Coverage Ratio, LCR) devront être entièrement satisfaites d’ici là. Quant au ratio structurel de liquidités à long terme (Net Stable Funding Ratio, NSFR), le Conseil fédéral décidera de l'introduction à la fin de 2019. 

 

Loi sur les services financiers (LSFin) et loi sur les établissements financiers (LEFin)

La LSFin et la LEFin font partie de la nouvelle architecture des marchés financiers. Elles visent à créer des conditions de concurrence uniformes, à renforcer la compétitivité de la place financière et à améliorer la protection des clients.

La LSFin définit, pour tous les prestataires de services financiers, des règles concernant tant la fourniture de ces services que l’offre d’instruments financiers et simplifie par ailleurs pour les clients l’exercice de leurs prétentions. La LEFin introduit, quant à elle, des règles de surveillance différenciées pour les établissements financiers (gestionnaires de fortune et trustees, gestionnaires de fortune collective, directions de fonds et maisons de titres).

Les Chambres fédérales ont adopté les deux projets de loi lors des votes finaux du 15 juin 2018. Le délai référendaire a expiré à l'automne 2018 sans qu'aucune demande de référendum n'ait été déposée. Parallèlement, les travaux portant sur les dispositions des ordonnances ont commencé. Une entrée en vigueur des deux nouvelles lois début 2020 semble réaliste. 

Message

Curia Vista

Texte pour le vote final LSFin/LEFin

Consultation 

Loi sur les placements collectifs (LPCC)

La nouvelle catégorie de fonds Limited Qualified Investor Fund (L-QIF) est destinée à renforcer l'attractivité des fonds de placement suisses et à faciliter la mise sur le marché de produits innovants. Ce type de fonds n'est soumis ni à l'approbation ni à l'autorisation de l'Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA) et n'est pas contrôlé par cette dernière. Réservé aux investisseurs qualifiés, il doit être géré par une institution agréée et contrôlée par la FINMA, généralement une société de gestion de fonds (administration et gestion de portefeuille). La procédure de consultation concernant la modification correspondante de la loi sur les placements collectifs de capitaux (LPCC) court jusqu’en automne 2019.

Communiqué du Conseil fédéral 

Consultation

Loi sur le contrat d’assurance (LCA)

Créée il y a plus de cent ans, la LCA ne répond plus aux exigences et aux besoins d’une loi moderne. La révision partielle de 2006 a déjà permis de tenir compte des besoins les plus urgents en matière de protection des consommateurs. Le message concernant une nouvelle révision partielle, présenté par le Conseil fédéral en juin 2017, prévoit d’adapter certains autres points de la LCA au contexte et aux besoins actuels concernant une couverture d’assurance raisonnable et réalisable. 

Le projet reprend les demandes que le Parlement avait faites en 2013, lorsqu’il avait rejeté la révision totale de la LCA. Il est examiné par les Chambres fédérales depuis le premier trimestre de 2018. La révision partielle de la LCA pourrait entrer en vigueur début 2020.

Message

Curia vista 

Loi sur la surveillance des assurances (LSA)

En septembre 2016, le Conseil fédéral a chargé le DFF d’élaborer un projet de révision de la LSA, en collaboration avec d’autres autorités et avec la branche des assurances. Il s’agit notamment de créer une base légale permettant, en cas d’insolvabilité d’une entreprise d’assurance, d'assainir celle-ci plutôt que d’en prononcer la faillite. Il est également prévu d’introduire une classification des clients et d’assouplir la surveillance. La révision portera également sur d’autres points, en particulier sur les dispositions relatives à la surveillance des groupes et à la distribution d’assurances. La consultation sur la révision partielle de la LSA s'est terminée en février 2019. Un message du Conseil fédéral est attendu pour le printemps 2020.

Consultation 

Modification de la loi sur le blanchiment d’argent

En 2016, le GAFI a évalué pour la quatrième fois la situation de la Suisse. Dans son rapport d’évaluation mutuelle, il a reconnu la bonne qualité d’ensemble du dispositif suisse de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme, mais a relevé aussi certains points faibles et émis des recommandations à cet égard. En juin 2017, le Conseil fédéral a chargé le Département fédéral des finances (DFF) de préparer un projet destiné à la consultation qui renforce en outre l’intégrité de la place financière suisse. La consultation concernant la modification de la loi sur le blanchiment d'argent (LBA) a pris fin le 21 septembre 2018. À fin juin 2019, le Conseil fédéral a adopté le message au Parlement relatif à ce projet. L'entrée en vigueur interviendrait ainsi au plus tôt début 2021.  

Message

Dernière modification 09.07.2019

Haut de la page

Contact

Service juridique

Tel.: +41 58 465 34 81

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Imprimer contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprojekte.html