Financial market regulation

The financial markets are among the most heavily regulated sectors of the economy. The most important goals of financial market regulation are protection of the individual (protection of creditors, investors and insured persons), system stability and properly functioning financial markets.    

Through the increasing cross-border integration of financial markets, international standards have a substantial impact on financial market regulation. Switzerland is actively involved in the corresponding international bodies that draw up these standards. If the same cross-border rules apply to everyone, this ultimately strengthens the competitiveness of the domestic financial centre.

When formulating or revising financial market regulations, SIF pays particular attention to the following points:

  • Involvement of stakeholders. Broad-based exchanges with the industry take place during regular meetings on general topics and specific projects. Where appropriate, customers (e.g. insured persons) are included in these exchanges.

  • Cost/benefit analyses. In the case of new regulatory projects, cost/benefit analyses are carried out and the probable economic impact is evaluated right from the outset (quick check and regulatory impact assessment).

  • Ex post evaluations. Together with the administration, independent experts examine whether existing regulations are effective, and whether there is a need for deregulation or greater regulation.

Contact

State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Legal Services
Bundesgasse 3
3003 Berne

Tel.: +41 58 480 09 62

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-.html

Réglementation des marchés financiers

Les marchés financiers comptent parmi les secteurs économiques les plus régulés. Leur réglementation a pour objectifs principaux la protection individuelle (des créanciers, des investisseurs et des assurés), la stabilité du système et la garantie du bon fonctionnement de ces marchés.

En raison de l’interdépendance transfrontalière croissante des marchés financiers, les normes internationales influencent considérablement la réglementation dans ce domaine. La Suisse participe activement à la définition de ces normes au sein des instances internationales concernées. L’application de règles identiques pour tous sur le plan international renforce notamment la compétitivité de la place financière nationale.

Lors de la définition ou de la révision de dispositions relatives aux marchés financiers, le SFI tient compte en particulier des points suivants:

  • Participation des milieux concernés: les échanges avec la branche ont lieu régulièrement et portent sur des aspects généraux ou sur des projets spécifiques. Ils reposent sur une large base. Dans certains cas, les clients (les assurés par ex.) participent également aux échanges.

  • Examen du rapport coût/utilité: dès le lancement d’un nouveau projet de réglementation, le rapport coût/utilité et les conséquences économiques probables du projet sont examinés («quick check» et analyse d’impact de la réglementation).

  • Évaluation a posteriori: en collaboration avec l’administration, des experts indépendants vérifient l’efficacité des réglementations existantes et identifient un éventuel besoin d’assouplissement ou de renforcement.

Contact

Secrétariat d'État aux questions financières internationales SFI

Service juridique
Tel.: +41 58 480 09 62

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Imprimer contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-.html