Stablecoins

The Federal Council is closely monitoring developments in the area of stablecoins. International cooperation is essential in view of the global nature of some stablecoin projects. Switzerland is actively involved in the relevant work in the competent bodies, especially the Financial Stability Board.    

Stablecoins are cryptocurrencies whose value is intended to be stabilised by underlying assets (e.g. fiat currencies or commodities). They aim to limit the high volatility of cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin, which makes them more suitable for payments. For this reason, the demand for stablecoins is growing strongly worldwide.

The Swiss financial centre is attractive for innovative business models, including stablecoin projects with an international focus. Switzerland recognises the opportunities of such projects for a more efficient international payment system, but it also takes the risks seriously. It attaches great importance to clear regulatory requirements and good international cooperation. 

Switzerland is committed to ensuring that the challenges posed by stablecoins in terms of financial stability and anti-money laundering are addressed by means of international cooperation. In October 2020, the Financial Stability Board (FSB) published recommendations on the regulation, supervision and oversight of global stablecoins. Switzerland continues to participate actively in this work.

FSB recommendations


Libra/Diem project

In Switzerland, the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) is responsible for the authorisation procedure. A stablecoin project has to meet stringent stability and anti-money laundering requirements in order receive a licence.

In April 2020, the Libra Association applied to FINMA for a payment system licence in Switzerland.

Following the redimensioning of the project, in particular the restriction to US dollars and the focus on activities in the USA, the Diem Association (the former Libra Association) suspended the licence application in May 2021.

 
 
 

Further information

Last modification 14.05.2021

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Berne

info@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/digit_finanzsektor/libra.html

Cryptomonnaies stables (stablecoins)

Le Conseil fédéral suit de près les développements liés aux cryptomonnaies stables (stable coins). En raison de la dimension globale de projets dans ce domaine, une coopération à l’échelle internationale est indispensable. La Suisse participe activement aux travaux dans ce domaine au sein des organismes compétents, notamment du Conseil de stabilité financière.

Les Stablecoins sont des crypto-monnaies dont la valeur est destinée à être stabilisée par des actifs sous-jacents (par exemple, des monnaies fiduciaires ou des matières premières). Ils visent à limiter la forte volatilité des crypto-monnaies telles que le bitcoin, ce qui les rend plus adaptées aux paiements. C'est pourquoi la demande de monnaies stables connaît une forte croissance dans le monde entier.

La place financière suisse est attrayante pour les modèles économiques innovants, y compris pour les projets de cryptomonnaies stables de portée internationale. La Suisse reconnaît les chances qu'offre ce genre de projets visant à créer un système de paiement international plus efficace, tout en prenant au sérieux les risques qu'il présente. Elle attache une grande importance à des exigences réglementaires claires et à une bonne coopération internationale.

La Suisse s'engage pour que les défis posés par les stable coins en matière de stabilité financière et de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent notamment fassent l’objet d’une coopération internationale. En octobre 2020, le Conseil de Stabilité Financière (CSF) a publié des recommandations sur la réglementation, la supervision et la surveillance des stable coins d’importance globale. La Suisse continue de participer activement à ces travaux.

Recommandations du FSB (en anglais)


Le projet Libra /Diem

En Suisse, la procédure d’autorisation relève de l’Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA). Pour qu’un projet de stable coin puisse obtenir une licence, il doit remplir des conditions strictes en matière de stabilité et de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent.

En avril 2020, la Libra Association a demandé à la FINMA une licence de système de paiement en Suisse.

Suite au redimensionnement du projet, notamment la restriction aux dollars américains et la focalisation sur les activités aux USA, la Diem Association (l'ancienne Libra Asscociation) a suspendu la demande de licence en mai 2021.

 

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 14.05.2021

Haut de la page

Contact

Secrétariat d'État aux questions financières internationales SFI

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Berne

info@sif.admin.ch

Imprimer contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/finanzmarktpolitik/digit_finanzsektor/libra.html