Switzerland and Australia sign joint declaration on introduction of automatic exchange of information in tax matters

Bern, 03.03.2015 - Today in Canberra, Switzerland and Australia signed a joint declaration on the introduction of the automatic exchange of information in tax matters on a reciprocal basis. This is the first such declaration signed by Switzerland with a partner state. In accordance with their commitment to the Global Forum, Switzerland and Australia intend to start collecting data in 2017 and first transmit data in 2018, after the necessary legal basis has been created in both countries.

The joint declaration signed by Switzerland and Australia meets the criteria set by the Federal Council in the negotiation mandates of 8 October 2014. Aside from the EU and the United States, the negotiations initially concern individual other countries with which there are close economic ties and which provide their taxpayers with sufficient scope for regularisation. Australia fits this profile.

From a legal viewpoint, the two countries will exchange information automatically based on the Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement on the Automatic Exchange of Financial Account Information (MCAA). The MCAA is based on the international standard for the exchange of information developed by the OECD. During the Global Forum meeting in Berlin last October, almost 100 states committed to adopting the standard and to starting exchanging information on this basis for the first time in 2017 or 2018.

The joint declaration specifies that each jurisdiction is satisfied with the confidentiality rules provided for in the other jurisdiction with regard to tax. Moreover, Australia has established a regularisation procedure for its taxpayers. Finally, Australia has also declared its willingness to hold talks on improving market access for Swiss financial service providers.

Following the signing of this declaration, the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) will prepare a consultation draft on the introduction of the automatic exchange of information in tax matters with Australia. The corresponding Federal decree will be submitted to Parliament for approval.


Address for enquiries

Mario Tuor, Head of SIF Communications
+41 58 462 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

The Federal Tax Administration
http://www.estv.admin.ch

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-56422.html

La Suisse et l’Australie signent une déclaration commune visant à introduire l’échange automatique de renseignements fiscaux

Berne, 03.03.2015 - La Suisse et l’Australie ont signé aujourd’hui à Canberra une déclaration politique commune pour introduire l’échange automatique de renseignements en matière fiscale sur une base réciproque. Il s’agit de la première déclaration du genre que la Suisse signe avec un Etat partenaire. La Suisse et l’Australie souhaitent, conformément à leur engagement vis-à-vis du Forum mondial, procéder à la collecte des données dès 2017 et au premier échange en 2018, une fois les bases légales nécessaires mises en place dans les deux Etats.

La déclaration signée entre la Suisse et l'Australie répond aux critères fixés dans les mandats de négociation du Conseil fédéral datant du 8 octobre 2014. Outre l'UE et les Etats-Unis, les négociations concernent aussi, dans une première phase, certains autres pays avec lesquels la Suisse entretient d'étroites relations économiques et qui, le cas échéant, mettent à la disposition de leurs contribuables des possibilités suffisantes de régularisation. L'Australie correspond à ce profil.

D'un point de vue juridique, les deux Etats pratiqueront l'échange automatique par le biais de l'Accord multilatéral entre autorités compétentes concernant l'échange automatique de renseignements relatifs aux comptes financiers (Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement ; MCAA). Le MCAA est lui-même basé sur la norme internationale d'échange de renseignements développée par l'OCDE. Près de 100 juridictions se sont engagées, lors du Forum mondial de Berlin en octobre 2014, à appliquer cette norme et à pratiquer les premiers échanges selon celle-ci en 2017 ou en 2018.

La déclaration commune constate que les deux parties sont satisfaites du niveau réciproque de confidentialité en matière fiscale. Par ailleurs, l'Australie a mis en place une procédure de régularisation pour ses contribuables. Enfin, elle s'est déclarée prête à mener des pourparlers en vue d'une amélioration de l'accès au marché pour les prestataires de services financiers suisses.

Suite à cette signature, le Département fédéral des finances (DFF) préparera un projet de consultation en vue de l'introduction de l'échange automatique de renseignements en matière fiscale avec l'Australie. Cette mesure fera l'objet d'un arrêté fédéral soumis à l'approbation de l'Assemblée fédérale.


Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Mario Tuor, Chef de la communication SFI
+41 58 462 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Auteur

Département fédéral des finances
http://www.dff.admin.ch

Administration fédérale des contributions
http://www.estv.admin.ch

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-56422.html