Limitation on ombudsman affiliation requirement

During its meeting on 11 December 2020, the Federal Council brought the limitation on the ombudsman affiliation requirement into force with effect from 1 February 2021. In the future, the ombudsman affiliation requirement will apply only to those financial service providers that serve retail clients.  

On 25 September 2020, Parliament adopted the Federal Act on the Adaptation of Federal Law to Developments in Distributed Ledger Technology (DLT bill). With the blanket law, various federal laws will be adapted in such a way that Switzerland can continue to develop as a leading, innovative and sustainable location in the blockchain and DLT area.

As part of the parliamentary deliberations on the DLT blanket law, Parliament also adopted amendments to the Financial Services Act (FinSA) and the Financial Institutions Act (FinIA) in connection with the ombudsman affiliation requirement. In the future, the ombudsman affiliation requirement will apply only to those financial service providers that serve retail clients. It does not apply to financial service providers serving solely institutional or professional clients (excluding high-net-worth retail clients who have declared themselves to be professionals). Financial institutions that provide no financial services at all do not have to be affiliated to an ombudsman in any case.

The current legal situation requires all financial service providers to be affiliated to an ombudsman by 25 December 2020. In order to avoid a situation whereby financial service providers that serve solely institutional or professional clients have to be affiliated to an ombudsman initially, only to be released from this requirement a few months later, the limitation on the ombudsman affiliation requirement decided by Parliament shall be brought into force on the earliest possible date. Since it is first necessary to wait for the referendum deadline to expire, this is 1 February 2021. The affiliation requirement for financial service providers serving solely institutional or professional clients would be contrary to the clear intention of the parliament. For this reason, it has been agreed with FINMA that the supervisory authority will not enforce this requirement in the period from 26 December 2020 to 31 January 2021.

Further details:

SIF Legal Services
rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch
Tel. +41 58 465 34 81
 

Last modification 11.12.2020

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/dokumentation/fachinformationen/ombudsstelle.html

Limitation de l’obligation de s’affilier à un organe de médiation

Lors de sa séance du 11 décembre 2020, le Conseil fédéral a décidé de mettre en vigueur la limitation de l’obligation de s’affilier à un organe de médiation au 1er février 2021. À l'avenir, cette obligation ne s'appliquera plus qu'aux prestataires fournissant des services financiers à des clients privés.  

Le 25 septembre 2020, le Parlement a adopté la loi fédérale sur l’adaptation du droit fédéral aux développements de la technologie des registres électroniques distribués (projet de loi sur la TRD). Cet acte modificateur unique apporte des amendements à diverses autres lois fédérales qui permettront à la Suisse de continuer à se développer en tant que centre innovant et durable dans le domaine de la blockchain et de la TRD.

Lors des débats relatifs à la loi sur la TRD, le Parlement a également modifié les lois fédérales sur les services financiers (LSFin) et sur les établissements financiers (LEFin) en ce qui concerne l’obligation d'affiliation à un organe de médiation. À l'avenir, cette obligation ne s'appliquera plus qu'aux prestataires fournissant des services financiers à des clients privés. Ceux qui offrent leurs services exclusivement à des clients institutionnels ou professionnels (hormis les clients privés fortunés ayant déclaré être des professionnels) en seront dispensés. Les établissements financiers ne fournissant pas de services financiers ne doivent de toute façon pas s’affilier à un organe de médiation.

La situation juridique actuelle exige que tous les prestataires de services financiers s’affilient à un organe de médiation avant le 25 décembre 2020. Afin d'éviter que les prestataires fournissant leurs services uniquement à des clients institutionnels ou professionnels doivent s’affilier à un organe de médiation dans un premier temps pour être libérés de cette obligation quelques mois plus tard, la limitation de l’obligation d'affiliation décidée par le Parlement doit entrer en vigueur le plus rapidement possible. Comme il faut tout d’abord attendre l’échéance du délai référendaire, ce sera le cas le 1er février 2021. Obliger les prestataires de services financiers qui n’offrent leurs services qu’à des clients institutionnels ou professionnels à s’affilier à un organe de médiation serait contraire à l’intention claire du législateur. C’est pourquoi il a été convenu avec l’Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA) que celle-ci n’exigera pas le respect de cette obligation pendant la période du 26 décembre 2020 au 31 janvier 2021.

Interlocuteur:

Service juridique du SFI
rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch
Tél. +41 58 46 53481
 

Dernière modification 11.12.2020

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/dokumentation/fachinformationen/ombudsstelle.html