Guidance on Federal Act on Implementation of Recommendations of Global Forum

31.10.2019 

The Federal Act on the Implementation of Recommendations of the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes (Global Forum) will enter into force on 1 November 2019. In its press release of 27 September 2019, the Federal Council promised to provide guidance on the implementation of the act. This is now available.

 
 

Around 57,000 companies are affected by the changes brought about by the act. The guidance, which will be updated as necessary, will help those affected to implement the act.

The main features of the act are as follows:

  • Effective from 1 November 2019, bearer shares will be permitted only if the company has equity securities listed on a stock exchange or has structured its bearer shares as intermediated securities.

  • Impermissible bearer shares will be converted into registered shares by law on 1 May 2021.

  • Shareholders who have not complied with their reporting duty and whose shares have been converted may apply to the courts for entry in the company's share register within five years of the act coming into force. Shares held by non-registered shareholders will become void on 1 November 2024.

  • Fines will be imposed on shareholders and partners who do not report the beneficial owners and on boards of directors that do not maintain the share register, register of capital contributions or the list of beneficial owners of shares.

  • Legal entities headquartered abroad with effective administration in Switzerland are obliged to keep a register of their owners at the effective place of administration.

Further details:

Brigitte Hofstetter, Exchange of Information & Individual Taxation Section, State Secretariat for International Finance SIF, +41 58 464 09 51, brigitte.hofstetter@sif.admin.ch

 
 
 

Last modification 07.11.2019

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/dokumentation/fachinformationen/anleitungen_global_forum.html

Instructions relatives à la loi fédérale sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations du Forum mondial

31.10.2019 

La loi fédérale sur la mise en œuvre des recommandations du Forum mondial sur la transparence et l’échange de renseignements à des fins fiscales entrera en vigueur le 1er novembre 2019. Comme le Conseil fédéral l’a indiqué dans son communiqué du 27 septembre 2019 concernant la mise en vigueur, l’administration fédérale a rédigé des instructions relatives à l’application de la loi.

 
 

Quelque 57 000 entreprises sont concernées par les modifications instaurées par la loi. Les instructions, qui seront mises à jour au besoin, aideront les personnes concernées à appliquer la loi.

Dans les grandes lignes, la loi fixe le cadre suivant:

  • À compter du 1er novembre 2019, les actions au porteur ne sont plus autorisées que si la société détient des titresde participation cotés en bourse ou si les actions au porteur sont émises sous forme de titres intermédiés.

  • Le 1er mai 2021, les actions au porteur non autorisées seront converties de plein droit en actions nominatives.

  • Les actionnaires qui n’ont pas rempli l’obligation d’annoncer et dont les actions ont été converties disposent d’un délai de cinq ans à compter de l’entrée en vigueur de la loi pour demander au tribunal leur inscription au registre des actions de la société. Les actions d’actionnaires qui ne se seront pas annoncés seront nulles, à compter du 1er novembre 2024.

  • Encourent une amende, d’une part, les actionnaires ou associés qui ne se conforment pas à leur obligation d’annoncer l’ayant droit économique et, d’autre part, les dirigeants ou membres d’un conseil d’administration qui ne tiennent pas le registre des actions, le registre des parts ou la liste des ayants droit économiques.

  • Les entités juridiques dont le siège principal se trouve à l’étranger et l’administration effective en Suisse doivent disposer des informations sur leurs détenteurs au lieu de l’administration effective.
     

Renseignements :

Brigitte Hofstetter, Section Échange de renseignements et fiscalité des personnes physiques, Secrétariat d’État aux questions financières internationales SFI, +41 58 464 09 51, brigitte.hofstetter@sif.admin.ch

 
 

Dernière modification 07.11.2019

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/dokumentation/fachinformationen/anleitungen_global_forum.html