Switzerland suspends AEOI with Bulgaria

During its meeting on 20 September 2019, the Federal Council decided to immediately suspend the automatic exchange of financial account information (AEOI) with Bulgaria due to a problem with the country's data security. The systems and databases of Swiss tax administrations and financial institutions are not affected by this incident.           

The first automatic exchange on a reciprocal basis between Switzerland and Bulgaria took place in 2018 within the framework of the bilateral agreement between Switzerland and the European Union (EU). Following a data security incident affecting the Bulgarian National Revenue Agency in July 2019, the Agency confirmed to the Swiss authorities that individuals with tax residence in Switzerland holding financial accounts in Bulgaria and individuals with tax residence in Bulgaria with financial accounts in Switzerland were affected by the disruption.

In accordance with the Federal Act on the International Automatic Exchange of Information on Tax Matters (AEIA), the Federal Council had to formally approve the suspension of the exchange of data with Bulgaria. The Federal Tax Administration (FTA) will therefore not provide the Bulgarian tax authorities with 2018 financial account data supplied to it by the Swiss financial institutions at the end of September 2019.

Bulgaria will only receive information from its AEOI partners again once the data security problem has been resolved and the corrective measures taken have been validated by the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes (Global Forum).


Contact :

Section Exchange of Information and Individual Taxation Section, State Secretariat for International Finance SIF, Tel. + 41 58 462 42 13, iaib@sif.admin.ch

 

 

 
 

Last modification 20.09.2019

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/dokumentation/fachinformationen/aia_bulgarien.html

La Suisse suspend l'EAR avec la Bulgarie

Le Conseil fédéral a décidé, lors de sa séance du 20 septembre 2019, de suspendre immédiatement l’échange automatique de renseignements (EAR) sur les comptes financiers avec la Bulgarie, en raison d’un problème survenu dans la sécurité des données de cet Etat. Les systèmes et les banques de données des administrations fiscales et des institutions financières suisses ne sont pas affectés par cet incident.      

Un premier échange automatique réciproque entre la Suisse et la Bulgarie a eu lieu en 2018, dans le cadre de l’accord bilatéral entre la Suisse et l’Union européenne (UE). Suite à un incident en matière de sécurité des données dont a été victime l’Agence nationale de taxation bulgare en juillet 2019, celle-ci a confirmé aux autorités suisses que des personnes ayant leur résidence fiscale en Suisse avec des comptes financiers en Bulgarie, et inversement que des personnes ayant leur résidence fiscale en Bulgarie avec des comptes financiers en Suisse, étaient touchées par ce problème.

En vertu de la loi sur l’échange automatique de renseignements en matière fiscale (LEAR), le Conseil fédéral a dû  formellement approuver la suspension de l’échange de données  avec la Bulgarie. L’Administration fédérale des contributions (AFC) ne livrera donc pas aux autorités fiscales bulgares à fin septembre 2019 les données sur les comptes de 2018, que lui ont transmises les institutions financières suisses.

La Bulgarie pourra seulement recevoir à nouveau des données de la part de ses partenaires EAR lorsque le problème de sécurité des données sera résolu et que le Forum mondial sur la transparence et l'échange de renseignements à des fins fiscales (Forum mondial) aura validé les mesures correctives adoptées.


Contact:

Section Échange de renseignements et fiscalité des personnes physiques, Secrétariat d'État aux questions financières internaionales SFI, tél. + 41 58 462 42 13, iaib@sif.admin.ch

 

Dernière modification 20.09.2019

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/dokumentation/fachinformationen/aia_bulgarien.html