Double taxation agreements

Double taxation agreements (DTAs) prevent the double taxation of private individuals and legal entities with an international nexus in the area of taxes on income and capital. They are therefore an important element in promoting international economic activities. Switzerland currently has DTAs with over 100 countries and is seeking to extend its agreement network further. Switzerland also has eight agreements for the avoidance of double taxation with respect to inheritance and estate taxes.  

Country information
(in German, link to the Federal Tax Administration FTA)
 
Double taxation agreements: overview
 
Shipping and air transport: overview
 
Texts of agreements: Classified Compilation of Federal Legislation
(in German) 


Double taxation typically occurs when two states tax the same income or assets of a taxpayer. Most of the provisions of a DTA are dedicated to avoiding double taxation by giving the contracting states the right to tax the individual types of income and assets. However, they merely restrict the contracting states' taxation right. The basis for taxation lies in the contracting states' domestic law. 

The list of persons who can benefit from a DTA is long and varied and includes: 

  • Persons who simultaneously have a permanent residence in two states;

  • Export companies and groups with foreign subsidiaries that are protected from double taxation by a DTA; 

  • Employed persons with temporary work assignments abroad.

DTAs additionally have an important function for investments of all kinds abroad, as they avoid double taxation on profits and revenue from foreign investments. Moreover, a DTA generally contains certain bans on discrimination, a dispute resolution mechanism and a clause on the exchange of information upon request.

The DTA with Zambia and the protocols amending the DTAs with Ecuador, the United Kingdom and the United States have been in force since the beginning of 2019. In addition, protocols amending the DTAs with Bahrain, Iran, Ireland, Kuwait, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, South Korea, Sweden and Ukraine were signed.
    

The outcomes of the base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS) project contain recommendations which require existing DTAs to be amended. Existing DTAs can be adapted to the treaty-related solutions developed in the BEPS project by means of the Multilateral Convention to Implement Tax Treaty Related Measures (BEPS Convention). 

The BEPS Convention came into force on 1 December 2019. With it, Switzerland intends to adapt the DTAs with Argentina, Austria, Chile, the Czech Republic, Iceland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Portugal, South Africa and Turkey to the treaty-related BEPS minimum standards. 

In order for the amendments introduced by the BEPS Convention to take effect, Switzerland must make an additional notification to the depositary of the BEPS Convention indicating that the necessary procedures have been completed. The first such case concerned Luxembourg. In a Memorandum of Understanding of 12 May 2020, the competent authorities of Switzerland and Luxembourg adopted the exact wording of the amendments provided in the BEPS Convention (see RO 2020 2641 and RO 2020 2715, in German). The procedure has thus been completed and Switzerland has made the aforementioned notification to the depositary of the BEPS Convention. The amendments are reflected in the double taxation agreement between Switzerland and Luxembourg.

Switzerland intends to adapt DTAs which will not be amended by the BEPS Convention to the BEPS minimum standards by means of bilateral amendments to the DTAs.

Further information

Media

26.08.2020
Federal Council adopts dispatches on new double taxation agreement with Bahrain and amendments to DTA with Kuwait

20.07.2020
Switzerland and Cyprus sign protocol of amendment to their double taxation agreement

16.07.2020
Switzerland and Malta sign protocol of amendment to their double taxation agreement

14.07.2020
Switzerland and Liechtenstein sign protocol of amendment to their double taxation agreement

29.11.2019
BEPS Convention enters into force

25.11.2019
Switzerland and Bahrain sign double taxation agreement

7.11.2019
Switzerland and Kuwait sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

28.10.2019
Amendments to double taxation agreement with United Kingdom in force

20.09.2019
Federal Council adopts dispatches on amendment of double taxation agreements with Ireland and Korea  

08.08.2019
Switzerland and New Zealand sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

30.07.2019
New double taxation agreement between Switzerland and Zambia enters into force

20.06.2019
Switzerland and Norway sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

19.06.2019
Switzerland and Sweden sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

13.06.2019
Switzerland and Ireland sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

12.06.2019
Switzerland and Netherlands sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

03.06.2019
Switzerland and Iran sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

17.05.2019
Switzerland and South Korea sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

24.01.2019
Switzerland and Ukraine sign protocol of amendment to double taxation agreement

Last modification 18.09.2020

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/bilateral/steuerabkommen/doppelbesteuerungsabkommen.html

Conventions contre les doubles impositions

Les conventions contre les doubles impositions (CDI) visent à éviter que le revenu ou la fortune des personnes physiques ou des personnes morales remplissant des critères de rattachement à l'étranger ne soient doublement assujettis à l'impôt. Ces conventions sont donc un élément important de la promotion des activités économiques sur la scène internationale. La Suisse en a conclu plus de 100 jusqu'à présent et s'efforce d'en étendre encore le réseau. En outre, elle a signé huit conventions visant à éviter la double imposition des successions.

Pays
(Lien vers le site Internet de l'Administration fédérale des contributions)

Conventions contre les doubles impositions: vue d'ensemble

Navigation maritime et navigation aérienne: vue d'ensemble

Texte des conventions: Recueil systématique du droit fédéral

Il y a double imposition lorsque deux États prélèvent des impôts sur les mêmes éléments du revenu ou de la fortune d'un assujetti. La plupart des dispositions d'une CDI visent à éviter les doubles impositions en ce sens qu'elles attribuent aux États contractants le droit de fiscaliser un type de revenu ou de fortune. Toutefois, elles ne font que limiter le droit de fiscalisation des États contractants, celui-ci étant inscrit dans la législation nationale de l'État en question.

La liste des personnes pouvant bénéficier des CDI est longue et hétéroclite. Elle comprend par exemple:

  • les personnes qui ont un domicile fixe dans deux États;

  • les entreprises d'exportation et les groupes ayant des filiales à l'étranger; 

  • les personnes dont l'activité lucrative prévoit l'exécution de missions temporaires à l'étranger.

Les CDI revêtent en outre une importance essentielle pour les investissements en tout genre à l'étranger, car elles préviennent la double imposition des bénéfices et des revenus générés par ces investissements. En règle générale, elles contiennent également des dispositions interdisant la discrimination, un mécanisme de règlement des différends et une clause relative à l'échange de renseignements sur demande.

La CDI avec la Zambie et les protocoles d'amendement des CDI avec l'Équateur, les États-Unis et la Grande-Bretagne sont entrés en vigueur au début de l'année 2019. En outre, la Suisse a signé de nouveaux protocoles d'amendement des CDI avec Bahreïn, l'Iran, l'Irlande, le Koweït, la Norvège, la Nouvelle-Zélande, les Pays-Bas, la République de Corée, la Suède et l'Ukraine.
    

Le projet de lutte contre l'érosion de la base d'imposition et le transfert de bénéfices (Base Erosion and Profit Shifting, BEPS) s'est achevé sur la formulation de recommandations concernant la modification des CDI existantes. Celles-ci peuvent être adaptées aux solutions développées dans le cadre du projet BEPS, par la voie de la convention multilatérale pour la mise en œuvre des mesures relatives aux conventions fiscales pour prévenir l'érosion de la base d'imposition et le transfert de bénéfices (convention BEPS).

La convention BEPS est entrée en vigueur le 1er décembre 2019. La Suisse entend s'appuyer sur cette convention pour transposer les dispositions ayant valeur de normes minimales dans les CDI qu'elle a conclues avec l'Afrique du Sud, l'Argentine, l'Autriche, le Chili, l'Islande, l'Italie, la Lituanie, le Luxembourg, le Mexique, le Portugal, la République tchèque et la Turquie.

Afin que les modifications basées sur la convention BEPS puissent prendre effet, la Suisse doit adresser une nouvelle notification au dépositaire avec lequel l'accomplissement des procédures requises est pertinent. Le premier cas de ce genre concerne la CDI avec le Luxembourg: les autorités compétentes de la Suisse et du Luxembourg ont inscrit dans l'Accord amiable du 12 mai 2020 le texte exact des modifications fondées sur la convention BEPS (cf. RO 2020 2641 et RO 2020 2715). Ainsi, la procédure est accomplie, et la Suisse a adressé la notification correspondante au dépositaire de la convention BEPS. Les modifications seront mises en œuvre par la voie de la CDI entre la Suisse et le Luxembourg. 

En ce qui concerne les CDI qui ne sont pas modifiées sur la base de la convention BEPS, la Suisse prévoit de les adapter aux normes minimales de manière bilatérale.

Informations complémentaires

Médias

26.08.2020
Le Conseil fédéral adopte les messages relatifs à la nouvelle convention contre les doubles impositions avec Bahreïn et aux modifications de la CDI avec le Koweït

20.07.2020
La Suisse et Chypre signent un protocole de modification de leur CDI

16.07.2020
La Suisse et Malte signent un protocole de modification de leur CDI

14.07.2020
La Suisse et le Liechtenstein signent un protocole de modification de leur CDI

29.11.2019
La convention BEPS entre en vigueur

25.11.2019
La Suisse et Bahreïn signent une convention contre les doubles impositions

7.11.2019
La Suisse et le Koweït signent un protocole modifiant la convention contre les doubles impositions

28.10.2019
Le protocole de modification de la convention contre les doubles impositions avec le Royaume-Uni est entré en vigueur

20.09.2019
Le Conseil fédéral adopte les messages concernant la modification de conventions contre les doubles impositions conclues avec l'Irlande et la Corée

08.08.2019
La Suisse et la Nouvelle-Zélande signent un protocole modifiant la convention contre les doubles impositions

30.07.2019
Entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle convention contre les doubles impositions entre la Suisse et la Zambie

20.06.2019
La Suisse et la Norvège signent un protocole modifiant la convention contre les doubles impositions

19.06.2019
La Suisse et la Suède signent un protocole modifiant la convention contre les doubles impositions

13.06.2019
La Suisse et l’Irlande signent un protocole modifiant la convention contre les doubles impositions

12.06.2019
La Suisse et les Pays-Bas signent un protocole modifiant la convention contre les doubles impositions

03.06.2019
La Suisse et l'Iran signent un protocole modifiant la convention contre les doubles impositions und Iran

17.05.2019
La Suisse et la Corée du Sud signent un protocole modifiant la convention contre les doubles impositions

24.01.2019
La Suisse et l’Ukraine signent un protocole modifiant la convention contre les doubles impositions

Dernière modification 18.09.2020

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/bilateral/steuerabkommen/doppelbesteuerungsabkommen.html