FATCA agreement

The agreement between Switzerland and the United States on cooperation to simplify the implementation of FATCA entered into force on 2 June 2014. The corresponding implementing act has been in force since 30 June 2014.

The Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) is a unilateral set of US regulations that applies worldwide for all countries. It requires foreign financial institutions to disclose information on US accounts to the Internal Revenue Service or levy a high tax.

The administrative and financial burden associated with the implementation of FATCA is considerable for foreign financial institutions. The FATCA agreement reduces this burden as it makes provision for administrative simplifications for Swiss financial institutions.

Models 1 and 2

FATCA implementation in Switzerland is based on Model 2, which means Swiss financial institutions disclose account details directly to the US tax authority with the consent of the US clients concerned. Where US clients do not give their consent, the United States has to request this data through normal administrative assistance channels.

Since 20 September 2019 – when the protocol of amendment to the double taxation agreement between Switzerland and the USA came into force – FATCA group requests can be made for cases from 30 June 2014. Further information, in particular guidance on preparing FATCA group requests, can be found on the Federal Tax Administration website:

FATCA group requests

On 8 October 2014, the Federal Council approved the mandate for negotiations with the United States on switching to Model 1, which provides for the automatic exchange of information. It is still unknown at the present time when there will be a corresponding agreement.

42_EN

FATCA Qualification Committee

The FATCA Qualification Committee promotes cooperation between the stakeholders involved. It deals with issues arising from the implementation of the FATCA agreement. However, Switzerland is not autonomous in the interpretation of the agreement. In certain cases, consultation with the USA is required. The assessments reflect the opinion of the FATCA Qualification Committee, which has been consulted together with the relevant US authorities where necessary.

Leadership of the Qualification Committee lies with SIF. The other members include the Federal Tax Administration FTA, the Federal Social Insurance Office FSIO and the following institutions: the Swiss Bankers Association, the Swiss Pension Fund Association, the Swiss Insurance Association, the Swiss Funds & Asset Management Association, SwissHoldings, the Swiss Association of Asset Managers and SIX Group.

Further information


Last modification 13.08.2020

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/bilateral/lander/vereinigen-staaten-von-amerika-usa/fatca-abkommen.html

L'accord FATCA

L'accord conclu entre la Suisse et les États-Unis portant sur une coopération en vue de faciliter la mise en œuvre de FATCA («Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act») est entré en vigueur le 2 juin 2014. La loi d'application correspondante est entrée en vigueur le 30 juin 2014.

La loi fiscale américaine «Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act» (FATCA) est une réglementation américaine unilatérale, qui est valable pour tous les pays. Elle oblige les établissements financiers étrangers à transmettre aux autorités fiscales américaines des informations relatives aux comptes américains ou à percevoir un impôt élevé.

La mise en œuvre de FATCA implique des démarches administratives et des charges financières importantes pour les institutions financières étrangères. Ces formalités sont réduites par l'accord FATCA car celui-ci prévoit des allégements administratifs pour les institutions financières suisses.

Modèles 1 et 2

En Suisse, la mise en œuvre de FATCA s'effectue selon le modèle 2. Les établissements financiers suisses doivent ainsi directement transmettre les données de clients américains, avec l'accord de ces derniers, au fisc américain. Pour obtenir les données des clients ayant refusé de donner leur accord, les États‑Unis doivent passer par la procédure d'assistance administrative ordinaire.

Depuis le 20 septembre 2019, date de l'entrée en vigueur du protocole modifiant la convention entre la Suisse et les États-Unis en vue d'éviter les doubles impositions (CDI), les demandes groupées FATCA sont admissibles pour des faits qui se sont produits à partir du 30 juin 2014. De plus amples informations, notamment des instructions concernant la préparation de demandes groupées sous l'accord FATCA, sont disponibles sur le site Internet de l'AFC:

Demandes groupées FATCA

Le 8 octobre 2014, le Conseil fédéral a adopté un mandat afin de négocier avec les États-Unis le passage au modèle 1, qui prévoit l'échange automatique de renseignements. Pour l'heure, aucune date n'a encore été fixée pour la conclusion de ce nouvel accord avec les États-Unis.

42_FR

Organe de qualification concernant FATCA

L'organe de qualification concernant FATCA a pour but de favoriser la collaboration entre les acteurs concernés. Il examine les questions qui se posent dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de l'accord FATCA. La Suisse n'est cependant pas libre d'interpréter l'accord à sa guise. Une concertation avec les États‑Unis est ainsi nécessaire dans certains cas. Les opinions exprimées reflètent le point de vue de l'organe de qualification concernant FATCA, après consultation des autorités américaines compétentes, si nécessaire.

L'organe de qualification concernant FATCA est placé sous la direction du Secrétariat d'État aux questions financières internationales. En font également partie l'Administration fédérale des contributions, l'Office fédéral des assurances sociales et les institutions suivantes: Association suisse des banquiers (ASB), Association suisse des Institutions de prévoyance (ASIP), Association Suisse d'Assurances (ASA), Swiss Funds & Asset Management Association (SFAMA), SwissHoldings, Association Suisse des Gérants de fortune (ASG) et SIX Group.

Informations complémentaires


Dernière modification 12.08.2020

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/bilateral/lander/vereinigen-staaten-von-amerika-usa/fatca-abkommen.html