United States of America

Switzerland's intergovernmental contacts with the US regarding financial and tax matters are diverse and are regularly used by the authorities. In recent years, the focus has been on the amendment to the double taxation agreement, the implementation of the FATCA agreement and the US banking programme.

Double taxation agreement

The protocol of amendment to the double taxation agreement (DTA) in the field of income tax between Switzerland and the US entered into force on 20 September 2019. It is a milestone in the tax relations between the two countries as it introduces the exchange of information upon request between Switzerland and the US in tax matters, in accordance with international standards. Furthermore, the entry into force of the protocol paves the way for a further revision of the DTA. The aim of such a revision is to make further improvements which take account of developments since the DTA was signed in 1996.

Agreements with the United States

FATCA

The Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) is a unilateral set of US regulations that applies worldwide for all countries. With FATCA, the United States wishes to ensure that all accounts held abroad by US taxpayers can be taxed. The agreement between Switzerland and the United States on cooperation to simplify the implementation of FATCA entered into force on 2 June 2014; the corresponding implementing act has been in force since 30 June 2014.

FATCA agreement

US banking programme

As a result of the Joint Statement signed in August 2013 and the unilateral US programme of the US Department of Justice (DoJ) that came into force at the same time, 80 Swiss banks have registered with the DoJ. In doing so, they have taken the opportunity to regularise their past.

Those banks against which the DoJ had already opened criminal investigations before August 2013 were not allowed to participate in the US programme. These banks sought individual solutions to regularise their past. A number of banks are still in negotiations with the DoJ.

Further information

Last modification 19.08.2020

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/bilateral/lander/vereinigen-staaten-von-amerika-usa.html

États-Unis

Les contacts bilatéraux entre la Suisse et les États-Unis en matière fiscale et financière sont aussi variés que réguliers entre les autorités respectives des deux pays. Ces dernières années, la modification de la convention contre les doubles impositions, la mise en œuvre de l'accord FATCA et le programme américain concernant les banques ont constitué les principaux thèmes de discussion.

Conventions contre les doubles impositions

Le protocole modifiant la convention entre la Suisse et les États-Unis en vue d'éviter les doubles impositions (CDI) en matière d'impôts sur le revenu est entré en vigueur le 20 septembre 2019. Il s'agit d'une étape importante dans les relations fiscales bilatérales car il instaure entre les deux pays l'échange de renseignements sur demande, conformément à la norme internationale. L'entrée en vigueur du protocole ouvre également la voie à une nouvelle révision de la CDI, qui vise à apporter des améliorations à celle-ci, en tenant compte des développements intervenus depuis la signature de la CDI en 1996.

Accords et conventions avec les Etats-Unis

FATCA

La loi fiscale américaine «Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act» (FATCA) est une réglementation américaine unilatérale, qui est valable pour tous les pays. Elle doit permettre aux États‑Unis d'imposer tous les comptes détenus à l'étranger par des personnes qui sont soumises à l'impôt aux États-Unis. L'accord conclu entre la Suisse et les États-Unis portant sur une coopération en vue de faciliter la mise en œuvre de FATCA est entré en vigueur le 2 juin 2014. La loi d'application correspondante est entrée en vigueur le 30 juin 2014.

Accord FATCA

Programme américain pour les banques

La déclaration commune signée en août 2013 entre la Suisse et les États-Unis, assortie du programme unilatéral du Département de la justice américain (Department of Justice, DoJ) simultanément entré en vigueur, ont permis aux banques suisses de régulariser leur passé. Au total, 80 banques suisses se sont annoncées auprès du DoJ et ont ainsi profité de cette possibilité de régularisation.

Les banques contre lesquelles le DoJ avait déjà ouvert une procédure pénale avant le mois d'août 2013 n'ont pas pu participer à ce programme. Elles sont dû chercher des solutions individuelles pour régulariser leur passé. Pour certaines d'entre elles, des négociations avec le DoJ sont encore en cours.

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 19.08.2020

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/bilateral/lander/vereinigen-staaten-von-amerika-usa.html