European Union

Access to EU markets is of strategic importance for the Swiss financial sector. In the tax arena, the agreement between Switzerland and the EU on the automatic exchange of financial account information has been in force since 1 January 2017. The TRAF tax reform, which abolished controversial tax regimes, came into force on 1 January 2020.

Financial sector

Numerous pieces of EU financial market legislation include provisions that regulate relations with third countries. These provisions regularly provide for market access and/or reduced prudential requirements if the third country has equivalent regulation (equivalence).

Equivalence procedures are an important element in maintaining the competitiveness of the Swiss financial centre. Recognition of the equivalence of Swiss regulation and supervision by the EU enables Swiss financial service providers to access some areas of the EU internal market or to benefit from regulatory simplifications for foreign business.

In recent years, various equivalence decisions have been adopted by the EU in recognition of the Swiss legal framework. SIF is committed to the rapid initiation and conclusion of further equivalence procedures in several areas.

Equivalence procedures with the EU

Taxation

The agreement between Switzerland and the EU on the automatic exchange of financial account information (AEOI) has been in force since 1 January 2017 and applies for all EU member states. The agreement implements the global AEOI standard of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). It helps to combat cross-border tax evasion.

AEOI agreement with the EU (in French, German and Italian)

On 14 October 2014, Switzerland and the 28 EU member states signed a joint statement on business taxation, in which Switzerland undertook to abolish five controversial tax regimes and the EU member states reaffirmed their intention to repeal any countermeasures taken once the tax regimes in question had been abolished.

Swiss voters approved the Federal Act on Tax Reform and AHV Financing (TRAF) in a referendum in May 2019. With the full entry into force of the TRAF on 1 January 2020, Switzerland abolished tax regimes that were no longer in line with international standards. Internationally compatible tax measures, such as a patent box, were introduced to ensure that Switzerland remains competitive. The economics and finance ministers of the EU member states acknowledged this progress and decided during their meeting on 10 October 2019 to remove Switzerland from their tax list.

TRAF

 

Further information

Last modification 24.09.2020

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/bilateral/lander/europaeische-union-eu.html

Union européenne

L’accès des établissements financiers suisses aux marchés de l’Union européenne revêt une importance stratégique. Dans le domaine fiscal, l’accord entre la Confédération et l’Union européenne sur l’échange automatique d’informations relatives aux comptes financiers est en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 2017. La réforme fiscale (RFFA), qui a pris effet le 1er janvier 2020, a supprimé les régimes fiscaux contestés.

Domaine financier

De nombreux actes juridiques de l’UE relevant du droit des marchés financiers contiennent des dispositions réglant les rapports avec des États tiers. Ces dispositions prévoient souvent la possibilité d’accéder au marché ou d’assouplir la surveillance prudentielle lorsque l’État tiers dispose d’une réglementation jugée équivalente à celle de l’UE.

Les procédures d’équivalence constituent un élément important pour le maintien de la compétitivité de la place financière suisse. La reconnaissance par l’Union européenne (UE) de l’équivalence de la réglementation et de la surveillance suisses permet aux prestataires suisses de services financiers d’accéder à certains segments du marché intérieur européen ou de bénéficier d’allégements réglementaires dans leurs activités à l’étranger.

Au cours des dernières années, plusieurs reconnaissances d’équivalence de la règlementation suisse ont été obtenues auprès de l’UE. Le SFI s’engage pour une introduction rapide ou une conclusion rapide d’autres procédures d’équivalence dans plusieurs domaines.

Procédures d'équivalences avec l'UE

Domaine fiscal

Depuis le 1er janvier 2017, l’accord entre la Confédération et l’UE sur l’échange automatique d’informations relatives aux comptes financiers (EAR) est en vigueur et s’applique à tous les États membres de l’UE. L’accord met en œuvre la norme internationale sur l’EAR de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE). Il contribue à la lutte contre la fraude fiscale transfrontalière.

Accord sur l’EAR avec l’UE

Le 14 octobre 2014, la Suisse et les 28 États membres de l’UE ont signé une déclaration commune sur la fiscalité des entreprises. Dans cette déclaration, la Suisse s’est engagée à abolir cinq régimes fiscaux contestés, tandis que les États de l’UE ont confirmé qu’ils supprimeraient leurs éventuelles mesures de rétorsion dès l’abolition des régimes en question.

La loi fédérale relative à la réforme fiscale et au financement de l’AVS (RFFA) a été acceptée par le peuple suisse, lors de la votation populaire de mai 2019. Depuis l’entrée en vigueur complète de la RFFA le 1er janvier 2020, la Suisse a supprimé les régimes fiscaux qui n’étaient plus conformes aux normes internationales. Des mesures fiscales compatibles avec celles-ci, telles que la patent box, ont été arrêtées pour que la Suisse demeure compétitive. Reconnaissant les progrès réalisés, les ministres des finances et de l’économie des États membres de l’UE ont décidé, lors de leur séance du 10 octobre 2019, de rayer la Suisse de leur liste.

RFFA

Informations complémentaires

Dernière modification 24.09.2020

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/bilateral/lander/europaeische-union-eu.html