European Union EU

In the financial sector, SIF is committed to ensuring that, within the framework of equivalence procedures, the EU takes account of both Switzerland's special position in contractual and economic terms and its efforts to achieve partial approximation of the relevant legal provisions. This should ensure that Swiss providers are offered the possibilities of equivalence procedures under objective and transparent conditions. In the tax area, the agreement between Switzerland and the EU on the automatic exchange of financial account information has been in force since 1 January 2017. Moreover, Switzerland and the EU member states signed a mutual understanding on business taxation in 2014. In this, Switzerland undertook to abolish five tax regimes, while the EU member states reaffirmed their intention to abolish any countermeasures taken. The tax regimes will be abolished as part of the TRAF tax reform on 1 January 2020.

In the financial sector

Numerous EU legislative acts in financial market law include provisions which regulate the relationship with third countries. These provisions regularly provide for market access and/or reduced prudential requirements if the third country has equivalent regulation (equivalence). In its report on financial market policy for a competitive Swiss financial centre, published in 2016, the Federal Council identified precisely these equivalence procedures as an important element for maintaining and improving market access for Swiss providers in the EU area. To this end, recognition of the equivalence of Swiss financial market regulation should be achieved with the EU where this makes economic sense.

In recent years, recognition of the equivalence of the Swiss legal framework has already been obtained from the EU, particularly in the following areas:

  • Recognition of Swiss central counterparty regulation (2015);
  • Recognition of the equivalence of Swiss rules for the solvency of insurance companies (2015);
  • Recognition of Swiss trading venues (2017): with the decision of the EU Commission of December 2017 on the recognition of Swiss trading venues (in accordance with Article 23 of Regulation (EU) No. 600/2014 of the European Parliament and Council of 15 May 2014 on markets in financial instruments and amending Regulation (EU) No. 648/2012 (MiFIR]), EU investment firms can trade securities traded in the EU on Swiss stock exchanges until the end of 2018. The Federal Council underlined in a statement that Switzerland fulfils the conditions for recognition of stock market equivalence every bit as much as other third countries that have been granted indefinite recognition (press release).

SIF is particularly committed to the rapid initiation and conclusion of further equivalence procedures in the following areas:

  • Recognition of Swiss trading venues beyond 2018 (in accordance with Article 23 of the MiFIR);
  • Recognition of Swiss derivatives regulation (in accordance with Article 13 of Regulation (EU) No. 648/2012 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 4 July 2012 on OTC derivatives, central counterparties and trade repositories [EMIR]);
  • Extension of the EU passport for managers of alternative investment funds to third countries (in accordance with Article 67 of Directive 2011/61/EU of the European Parliament and of the Council of 8 June 2011 on Alternative Investment Fund Managers and amending Directives 2003/41/EC and 2009/65/EC and Regulations (EC) No 1060/2009 and (EU) No 1095/2010 [AIFMD]);
  • Procedure for cross-border transactions with professional investors in accordance with Articles 46/47 of the MiFIR.

Among other things, the annual regulatory dialogue between the EU Commission and SIF provides an opportunity to take up this issue and to discuss the progress made in the equivalence procedures.

In the tax sector

On 14 October 2014, Switzerland and the 28 EU member states signed a joint statement on business taxation, thereby putting an end to a controversy which had put a strain on relations between Switzerland and the EU for a number of years. Switzerland undertook to abolish five controversial tax regimes, while the EU members states confirmed that they would lift any countermeasures taken against these regimes as soon as the regimes in question had been abolished.

In May 2019, voters approved the Federal Act on Tax Reform and AHV Financing (TRAF) with over 66% of votes in favour. With this law, Switzerland will abolish tax regimes no longer compatible with international standards as of 1 January 2020. The law introduces internationally accepted tax relief measures such as a patent box, thereby ensuring that Switzerland remains an attractive business location.

The economics and finance ministers of the EU member states acknowledged this progress and decided at their meeting on 10 October 2019 to remove Switzerland from their tax list. 

 

Further information

Last modification 14.10.2019

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/bilateral/europa/europaeische-union-eu.html

Union européenne (UE)

Dans le domaine financier, le SFI œuvre pour que l’UE tienne compte, dans les procédures d’équivalence, de la position particulière de la Suisse sur les plans contractuel et économique ainsi que des efforts accomplis par cette dernière pour adapter au moins en partie son propre droit aux prescriptions de l’UE. Le but est de faire en sorte que les prestataires suisses bénéficient des possibilités offertes par les procédures d’équivalence en toute objectivité et transparence. Dans le domaine fiscal, l’accord entre la Suisse et l’UE sur l’échange automatique d’informations relatives aux comptes financiers est en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 2017. En outre, la Suisse et les États membres de l’UE ont signé une déclaration commune sur l’imposition des entreprises en 2014. Dans cette déclaration, la Suisse s’est engagée à abolir cinq régimes fiscaux tandis que les États de l’UE ont confirmé qu’ils supprimeraient leurs éventuelles mesures de rétorsion. Les régimes seront abolis au 1er janvier 2020 dans le cadre de la réforme fiscale RFFA.

Domaine financier

De nombreux actes juridiques de l’UE relevant du droit des marchés financiers contiennent des dispositions réglant les rapports avec des États tiers. Or ces dispositions prévoient souvent la possibilité d’accéder au marché ou d’assouplir la surveillance prudentielle lorsque l’État tiers dispose d’une réglementation jugée équivalente à celle de l’UE. Dans son rapport sur la Politique en matière de marchés financiers pour une place financière suisse compétitive publié en 2016, le Conseil fédéral a reconnu que les procédures d’équivalence sont fondamentales pour préserver et améliorer l’accès au marché intérieur de l’UE pour les prestataires suisses de services financiers. Il s’agit donc d’obtenir de l’UE la reconnaissance de l’équivalence de la réglementation suisse des marchés financiers dans les domaines importants du point de vue économique.

Au cours des dernières années, plusieurs reconnaissances d’équivalence de la règlementation suisse ont déjà été obtenues auprès de l’UE, en particulier dans les domaines suivants: 

  • Reconnaissance de la réglementation suisse concernant les contreparties centrales (2015);
  • Reconnaissance de l’équivalence des règles suisses en matière de solvabilité des assurances (2015);
  • Reconnaissance des bourses suisses (2017): la décision de la Commission européenne de décembre 2017 relative à la reconnaissance des bourses suisses (selon l’art. 23 du règlement (UE) n° 600/2014 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 15 mai 2014 concernant les marchés d’instruments financiers et modifiant le règlement (UE) n° 648/2012 [MiFIR]), permet aux entreprises d’investissement européennes de négocier les titres cotés dans l’UE sur les bourses suisses jusqu’à fin 2018. Au sujet de cette décision, le Conseil fédéral a déclaré que la Suisse remplissait toutes les conditions de reconnaissance de l’équivalence boursière, au même titre que les États tiers qui avaient obtenu une reconnaissance illimitée (communiqué de presse). 

Le SFI s’engage pour une introduction rapide ou une conclusion rapide d’autres procédures d’équivalence notamment dans les domaines suivants: 

  • Reconnaissance des bourses suisses au-delà de 2018 (selon l’art. 23 MiFIR);
  • Reconnaissance de la réglementation suisse sur les produits dérivés (selon l’art.  13 du règlement (UE) n° 648/2012 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 4 juillet 2012 sur les produits dérivés de gré à gré, les contreparties centrales et les référentiels centraux  [EMIR]);
  • Prolongation du passeport européen pour les gestionnaires de fonds d’investissement alternatifs dans des États tiers (selon l’art. 67 de la directive 2011/61/UE du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 8 juin 2011 sur les gestionnaires de fonds d’investissement alternatifs et modifiant les directives 2003/41/CE et 2009/65/CE ainsi que les règlements (CE) n° 1060/2009 et (UE) n° 1095/2010 [AIFMD]);
  • Procédure pour l’exercice d’activités d’investissement transfrontalières destinées à des investisseurs professionnels selon les art. 46 et 47 MiFIR. 

Le dialogue entre la Commission européenne et le SFI sur la réglementation offre notamment l’occasion de traiter ce sujet et de discuter des progrès accomplis concernant les procédures d’équivalence.

Domaine fiscal

Le 14 octobre 2014, la Suisse et les 28 États membres de l’UE ont signé une déclaration commune sur la fiscalité des entreprises, mettant ainsi un terme à une controverse qui avait pesé sur les relations entre la Suisse et l’UE pendant de nombreuses années. La Suisse s’est engagée à abolir cinq régimes fiscaux controversés, tandis que les États membres de l'UE ont confirmé qu'ils supprimeront leurs éventuelles mesures de rétorsion dès que les régimes en question auront été abrogés.

En mai 2019, la loi fédérale relative à la réforme fiscale et au financement de l'AVS (RFFA) a été acceptée en votation populaire par plus de 66% des voix. Par cette loi, la Suisse abolit au 1er janvier 2020 les régimes fiscaux qui ne sont plus compatibles avec les standards internationaux. La loi prévoit des mesures fiscales d'allégement acceptées sur le plan international, telles qu'une patent box, afin que la Suisse conserve sa compétitivité.

Reconnaissant les progrès réalisés, les ministres des finances et de l'économie des États membres de l'UE ont décidé, lors de leur séance du 10 octobre 2019, de rayer la Suisse de leur liste fiscale.

Informations complémentaires

Médias

Dernière modification 14.10.2019

Haut de la page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/fr/home/bilateral/europa/europaeische-union-eu.html