Another four double taxation agreements with Iceland, Cyprus, Estonia and Uzbekistan in force

Bern, 24.11.2015 - Another four double taxation agreements (DTAs) between Switzerland and Cyprus, Iceland, Estonia and Uzbekistan have come into force. They contain provisions on administrative assistance in accordance with the internationally applicable standard. They will also promote the development of bilateral economic relations.

Switzerland has concluded its first ever DTA with Cyprus. The new DTA was signed on 25 July 2014 and came into force on 15 October 2015.

The DTA with Iceland replaces the agreement which had been in force since 1989. It was signed on 10 July 2014 and came into force on 6 November 2015.

Finally, the DTAs with Estonia and Uzbekistan, which both date from 2002, have been updated with a protocol of amendment. The protocol of amendment to the DTA with Estonia was signed on 25 August 2014 and came into force on 16 October 2015. The protocol of amendment to the DTA with Uzbekistan was signed on 1 July 2014 and came into force on 14 October 2015.

The four DTAs will therefore be applicable from 1 January 2016.

To date, Switzerland has signed 53 DTAs and ten tax information exchange agreements (TIEAs) that are in line with the international exchange of information standard. Of these, 46 DTAs and seven TIEAs will be in force at the end of November 2015.

Address for enquiries

Bilateral Tax Issues and Double Taxation Treaties Section, State Secretariat for International Financial Matters SIF
Tel. +41 58 462 71 29,


Federal Department of Finance