Legal Entity Identifier (LEI)

In the wake of the 2008 financial crisis, international efforts to develop a uniform global identification system for financial market participants, i.e. a legal entity identifier (LEI), were stepped up. As a unique global identification number, the LEI allows not just authorities but also financial market participants to reliably identify contracting parties in financial market transactions. The LEI thus helps to identify risks in the financial sector at an earlier stage and promote financial stability.

At the international level, the LEI is currently used primarily to identify parties to derivatives transactions. On 1 January 2016, the LEI was introduced into Swiss law in the area of reporting duties such as these under the Financial Market Infrastructure Act. It is already clear that the LEI is becoming increasingly important, also in other financial market areas (such as in the resolution of banks or anti-money laundering).

The current structure of the LEI system has three tiers:

  • The Regulatory Oversight Committee (ROC) is an internationally broad-based committee with over 60 authorities from more than 40 countries. It comprises central banks, finance ministries and oversight authorities, and coordinates and oversees the LEI system.

  • The second tier is made up of the Global Legal Entity Identifier Foundation as the operational arm of the LEI system and a link to the third tier.

  • The third tier covers local operation units that allocate LEI numbers. The legal basis is to be established in Switzerland so that the Federal Statistical Office can issue LEI numbers. 

Switzerland is represented in the Legal Entity Identifier Regulatory Oversight Committee (LEI ROC) with two seats that are held by the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) and the Swiss National Bank (SNB). Safeguarding Switzerland's interests includes both active involvement in the LEI ROC and the early identification of relevant developments.

    

Further information


Last modification 26.10.2017

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/themen/internationales-finanz--und-waehrungssystem/legal-entity-identifier--lei-.html

Legal Entity Identifier (LEI)

Im Nachgang zur Finanzkrise 2008 wurden die internationalen Bestrebungen intensiviert, ein weltweit standardisiertes Identifikationssystem für Finanzmarktteilnehmer (sog. Legal Entity Identifier, LEI) zu entwickeln. Als eindeutige, global standardisierte Identifikationsnummer erlaubt der LEI sowohl Behörden als auch Finanzmarktteilnehmern die zuverlässige Identifikation von Vertragspartnern, namentlich in Finanzmarktgeschäften. Der LEI trägt somit dazu bei, Risiken im Finanzsektor früher zu erkennen und die Finanzstabilität zu fördern.

International dient der LEI derzeit vor allem der Identifizierung von Parteien bei Derivategeschäften. Am 1. Januar 2016 hat der LEI mit dem Finanzmarktinfrastrukturgesetz im Bereich solcher Meldepflichten Eingang in das Schweizer Recht gefunden. Es zeichnet sich bereits heute eine zunehmende Bedeutung des LEI ab, auch in anderen Finanzmarktbereichen (etwa bei der Abwicklung von Banken oder der Geldwäschereibekämpfung).

Die heutige Struktur des LEI-Systems umfasst drei Ebenen: 

  • Das Regulatory Oversight Committee (ROC) ist ein international breit abgestütztes Gremium von über 60 Behörden aus über 40 Ländern. Es vereint Zentralbanken, Finanzministerien sowie Aufsichtsbehörden und koordiniert und beaufsichtigt das LEI-System. 

  • Die zweite Ebene bildet die Global Legal Entity Identifier Foundation als operativer Teil des LEI-Systems und Bindeglied zur dritten Ebene.

  • Letztere umfasst dezentrale Vergabestellen, die LEI-Nummern vergeben. In der Schweiz sollen die rechtlichen Grundlagen geschaffen werden, damit das Bundesamt für Statistik LEI-Nummern vergeben kann. 

Die Schweiz ist im Regulatory Oversight Committee (ROC) des LEI mit zwei Sitzen vertreten, die vom Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartement (EFD) und von der Schweizerischen Nationalbank (SNB) eingenommen werden. Die Interessenswahrung der Schweiz umfasst dabei sowohl eine aktive Mitwirkung im LEI ROC als auch das frühzeitige Erkennen relevanter Entwicklungen.

 

Weiterführende Informationen


Letzte Änderung 26.10.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/themen/internationales-finanz--und-waehrungssystem/legal-entity-identifier--lei-.html