Financial market policy

The Federal Council supports a sound financial market policy that is dynamic at the same time. This policy is based on stable objectives and guidelines, but it also needs to be sufficiently adaptable in order to allow for an optimal response to  evelopments in the rapidly changing financial environment.

With the report «Financial market policy for a competitive Swiss financial centre», the Federal Council is specifying the principles. Five key thrusts of the financial market policy demonstrate how the Swiss financial centre's opportunities and challenges will be addressed and how the centre's competitiveness should be maintained:

  • Maintaining and improving market access: Possible bilateral agreements will be sought with partner countries, as will EU recognition of the equivalence of Swiss financial market regulation in areas where this is meaningful from an economic perspective.

  • Allowing for innovation: Disproportionate barriers to market entry, e.g. for fintech firms, should be removed by adjusting the legal framework. The financial market policy should play a supportive role also in the area of sustainable investments.

  • Optimising regulatory content and processes: Reform projects are to be carried out in consultation with the sector. Economic impact analyses will be started at an early stage and will go into more depth as regulatory projects progress. Moreover, comprehensive and independent ex-post evaluations will be carried out on important financial market regulations.

  • Limiting systemic risks: In accordance with its statutory mandate, the Federal Council will continue to carry out periodic reviews of its "too-big-to-fail" regime for systemically important banks. In addition, more attention should be paid to systemic risks in the real estate market and in the area of occupational pensions. 

  • Ensuring international compliance in the areas of taxation and money laundering: Internationally recognised standards are a benchmark for Switzerland's policy in the areas of taxation and money laundering. In order to achieve a level playing field, Switzerland is committed to broad implementation of these global standards in international bodies.


A stable and competitive financial sector that functions well is a mainstay of the Swiss economy. It is the federal government's job to provide optimal framework conditions for this sector's business activities. The Swiss financial centre should continue to assert itself as one of the world's leading locations for financial business and even be able to strengthen this role.

 

Further information

Last modification 07.02.2018

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/themen/finanzmarktpolitik.html

Finanzmarktpolitik

Der Bundesrat befürwortet eine solide und gleichzeitig dynamische Finanzmarktpolitik. Diese richtet sich einerseits nach beständigen Zielsetzungen und Grundsätzen aus, andererseits muss sie anpassungsfähig genug sein, um bestmöglich auf Entwicklungen im sich rasch wandelnden Finanzumfeld reagieren zu können.

Der Bundesrat legt die Grundlagen in seinem Bericht «Finanzmarktpolitik für einen wettbewerbsfähigen Finanzplatz Schweiz» fest. Fünf Stossrichtungen zeigen auf, wie den Chancen und Herausforderungen für den Finanzplatz Schweiz begegnet wird und wie dessen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit erhalten werden soll:  

  • Marktzugang wahren und verbessern: Angestrebt werden mögliche bilaterale Vereinbarungen mit Partnerländern sowie, im Verhältnis mit der EU und wo dies volkswirtschaftlich sinnvoll ist, die Anerkennung der Gleichwertigkeit der Schweizer Finanzmarktregulierung.

  • Innovationen ermöglichen: Unverhältnismässige Markteintrittshürden, beispielsweise für Fintech-Unternehmen, sollen mittels Anpassungen der rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen abgebaut werden. Auch im Bereich nachhaltiger Kapitalanlagen soll die Finanzmarktpolitik unterstützend wirken.

  • Regulierungsinhalte und -prozesse optimieren: Reformvorhaben erfolgen im Dialog mit der Branche. Ökonomische Wirkungsanalysen werden frühzeitig begonnen und begleitend zu den Regulierungsprojekten vertieft. Zudem sollen wichtige Finanzmarktregulierungen einer umfassenden und unabhängigen Ex-post-Evaluation unterzogen werden.

  • Systemrisiken begrenzen: Der Bundesrat wird gemäss seinem gesetzlichen Auftrag das Schweizer «Too-big-to-fail»-Regime für systemrelevante Banken weiterhin periodisch überprüfen. Zudem soll verstärkt auf die Systemrisiken im Immobilienmarkt und im Bereich der beruflichen Vorsorge geachtet werden. 

  • Internationale Konformität im Steuer- und Geldwäschereibereich sicherstellen: Die global anerkannten Standards sind Massstab für die Politik der Schweiz im Steuer- und Geldwäschereibereich. Um gleich lange Spiesse sicherzustellen, setzt sich die Schweiz in den internationalen Gremien für eine breite Umsetzung dieser globalen Standards ein.

Ein stabiler, funktionsfähiger und kompetitiver Finanzsektor ist ein wichtiges Standbein der Schweizer Volkswirtschaft. Es ist Aufgabe des Staates, für die Geschäftstätigkeiten dieses Sektors optimale Rahmenbedingungen bereitzustellen. Der Finanzplatz Schweiz soll sich weiterhin als einer der global führenden Standorte für das Finanzgeschäft behaupten und diese Rolle noch stärken können. 

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 19.02.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/themen/finanzmarktpolitik.html