Sharing economy

OECD Model Rules for sharing and gig economy platforms

In July 2020, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) adopted Model Rules for the automatic exchange of information (AIA) on natural persons and legal entities that earn their income by offering services via online platforms. In June 2021, the Model Rules were expanded. The Model Rules are not binding for the countries.

In view of the increasing number of natural persons and legal entities that earn their income by offering services via online platforms, many countries have taken measures to ensure the correct taxation of this income. These include, for example, withholding tax regimes or obligations to exchange information between tax authorities and online platforms. Due to a lack of harmonisation, these unilateral measures lead to disproportionately high costs for the relevant sectors because they have to be aware of and implement a large number of regulations. The OECD Model Rules were therefore created to provide a globally standardised set of rules.

The Model Rules provide for a regular exchange of information about service providers on online platforms. The information that is to be exchanged must be collected by the online platforms of the respective country and transmitted to the tax authorities of that country. These authorities then forward the information to the tax authorities of those countries with which a corresponding AEOI agreement exists. In particular, this concerns the rental of immovable property such as holiday homes and personal services, e.g. transport services.

The Model Rules define the information to be exchanged for online platforms. They include identification information of the providers (e.g. name, address, tax identification number, etc.) and financial information (income generated by the respective providers). This AEOI is not binding for the countries (no minimum standard).

SIF has looked into the possible introduction of the OECD rules. Work via internet-mediated platforms is still not very widespread in Switzerland (see Federal Statistical Office press release of 19 Mai 2020). Introducing the OECD Model Rules would incur considerable costs for the online platforms concerned. At the same time, the additional tax receipts will probably be small. Moreover, Switzerland as a data provider is unlikely to play a major role internationally. SIF has therefore concluded that it would be premature to introduce the OECD Model Rules in Switzerland at this time. It is monitoring national and international developments in this regard and, should the situation change, it will re-examine whether to introduce the Rules.

OECD, July 2020 “Model Rules for Reporting by Platform Operators with respect to Sellers in the Sharing and Gig Economy

Last modification 23.07.2021

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/steuer_informationsaust/automatischer-informationsaustausch/sharing-economy.html

Sharing Economy

OECD-Musterregeln für Plattformen der «Sharing and Gig Economy»

Im Juli 2020 verabschiedete die Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (OECD) Musterregeln für einen automatischen Austausch von Informationen (AIA) über natürliche und juristische Personen, die ihr Einkommen mit dem Anbieten von Dienstleistungen über Onlineplattformen erwirtschaften. Im Juni 2021 wurden die Musterregeln erweitert. Die Musterregeln sind für die Staaten nicht verbindlich.

Vor dem Hintergrund einer steigenden Anzahl natürlicher und juristischer Personen, die ihr Einkommen mit dem Anbieten von Dienstleistungen über Onlineplattformen erwirtschaften, haben zahlreiche Staaten Massnahmen ergriffen, um die korrekte Besteuerung dieser Einkommen sicherzustellen. Dazu zählen beispielsweise Quellensteuerregime oder Pflichten zum Informationsaustausch zwischen Steuerbehörden und Onlineplattformen. Diese unilateralen Massnahmen führen mangels Harmonisierung zu unverhältnismässig hohen Kosten für die betroffene Branche, weil sie eine Vielzahl von Regelungen kennen und umsetzen muss. Mit den OECD-Musterregeln wurde deshalb ein Angebot eines weltweit standardisierten Regelwerks geschaffen.

Gegenstand der Musterregeln ist ein in regelmässigen Abständen stattfindender Austausch von Informationen über Dienstleistungsanbieterinnen und -anbieter auf Onlineplattformen. Die auszutauschenden Informationen müssen von den Onlineplattformen des jeweiligen Staates gesammelt und an die Steuerbehörde dieses Staates übermittelt werden. Diese leitet die Informationen anschliessend an die Steuerbehörde jener Staaten weiter, mit denen ein entsprechendes AIA-Abkommen besteht. Betroffen sind insbesondere die Vermietung von unbeweglichem Eigentum wie Ferienunterkünfte sowie persönliche Dienstleistungen wie Fahrdienste.

Die Musterregeln definieren die für die Onlineplattformen auszutauschenden Informationen. Sie umfassen Identifikationsinformationen der Anbieterinnen und Anbieter (beispielsweise Name, Adresse, Steueridentifikationsnummer etc.) und Finanzinformationen (von den entsprechenden Anbieterinnen und Anbietern generiertes Einkommen). Dieser AIA ist für die Staaten nicht verbindlich (kein Mindeststandard).

Das SIF hat eine Einführung dieser OECD-Musterregeln geprüft. Die internetbasierte Plattformarbeit ist in der Schweiz bisher wenig verbreitet (vgl. Medienmitteilung des Bundesamtes für Statistik vom 19. Mai 2020). Die Einführung der OECD-Musterregeln wäre für die betroffenen Onlineplattformen mit namhaften Kosten verbunden. Gleichzeitig dürften die steuerlichen Mehreinnahmen gering ausfallen. Überdies dürfte die Schweiz als Datenlieferantin international nicht im Fokus stehen. Das SIF gelangt deshalb zum Schluss, dass eine Einführung der OECD-Musterregeln in der Schweiz derzeit verfrüht wäre. Das SIF verfolgt die diesbezüglichen nationalen und internationalen Entwicklungen und würde bei veränderter Ausgangslage die Einführung erneut prüfen.

OECD, July 2020 “Model Rules for Reporting by Platform Operators with respect to Sellers in the Sharing and Gig Economy

Letzte Änderung 22.07.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/multilateral/steuer_informationsaust/automatischer-informationsaustausch/sharing-economy.html