Country-by-country reports

With the exchange of country-by-country reports is Switzerland implementing a minimum standard of the G20 countries and the OECD to combat base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS).  

On 1 December 2017, the relevant legal framework entered into force. This includes the Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement on the Exchange of Country-by-Country Reports (ACRE agreement), the associated law (ACREA) and the ordinance (ACREO). Multinationals in Switzerland will thus be obliged to start drawing up a country-by-country report from the 2018 tax year. Switzerland will thus exchange country-by-country reports with the following partner states from 2020 and will be able to receive such reports from then at the latest:

Andorra8 Germany Netherlands
Argentina3 Greece New Zealand1
Australia1 Guernsey Nigeria11
Austria Hong Kong9 Norway1
Belgium Hungary8 Pakistan2
Bermuda11 Iceland Peru11
Brazil1   India1 Poland2
British Virgin Islands11 Indonesia3 Portugal4
Bulgaria13 Ireland1 Qatar11
Canada Isle of Man Romania11
Cayman Islands11 Italy Russia8
Chile Japan Saudi Arabia8
China8 Jersey Seychelles7
Colombia1 Korea1 Singapore1
Costa Rica11 Latvia8,12 Slovak Republic1
Croatia Liechtenstein Slovenia
Curaçao11 Lithuania1 South Africa1
Cyprus11 Luxembourg Spain
Czech Republic Malaysia Sweden1
Denmark Malta Turks and Caicos Islands11
Estonia4 Mauritius8 United Arab Emirates9
Finland1 Mexico United Kingdom1  
France1 Monaco8 Uruguay5   

1 Exchange as of June 2018 (including in Switzerland voluntarily submitted country-by-country reports)

2 Exchange as of September 2018 (including in Switzerland voluntarily submitted country-by-country reports)

3 Exchange as of December 2018 (including in Switzerland voluntarily submitted country-by-country reports)

4 Exchange as of March 2019 (including in Switzerland voluntarily submitted country-by-country reports)

5 Exchange as of June 2019 (including in Switzerland voluntarily submitted country-by-country reports)

6 Exchange as of September 2019 (including in Switzerland voluntarily submitted country-by-country reports)

7 Exchange as of December 2019 (including in Switzerland voluntarily submitted country-by-country reports)

8 Exchange as of 2020 (for tax periods as of 2018)

9 Exchange as of 2021 (for tax periods as of 2019)

10 Exchange as of 2022 (for tax periods as of 2020)

11 These partner states will only transmit and not receive country-by-country reports

12 In Switzerland voluntarily submitted country-by-country reports for the tax period 2016 have been exchanged with Latvia in June 2018. Since then no further country-by-country reports are exchanged with Latvia. Latvia has confirmed to Switzerland that multinational enterprise groups whose ultimate parent entity is resident in Switzerland are not required to file a country-by-country report in Latvia for tax periods 2016 and 2017.

 13 In Switzerland voluntarily submitted country-by-country reports for the tax periods 2016 and 2017 have been exchanged with Bulgaria from June 2018 until June 2019. Since then Bulgaria receives no further country-by-country reports, but continues to transmit them to Switzerland. Switzerland will transmit country-by-country reports (including in Switzerland voluntarily submitted country-by-country reports) to Bulgaria at a later stage, once Bulgaria meets again the conditions for receipt. Bulgaria has confirmed to Switzerland that multinational enterprise groups whose ultimate parent entity is resident in Switzerland and have submitted the country-by-country report in Switzerland are not required to file a country-by-country report in Bulgaria.

What is a country-by-country report? 

Country-by-country reports provide information on how the turnover generated and the taxes paid by a multinational group of companies are distributed globally. Furthermore, they contain information on the most important economic activities of the multinational in the individual countries. These reports have to be drawn up by multinationals with an annual consolidated turnover of more than EUR 750 million or the equivalent in the national currency as of 1 January 2015. Approximately 200 groups established in Switzerland are likely to be concerned. 

Country-by-country reports will be transmitted automatically on an annual basis to the tax authorities of the countries where these groups have business units so long as a bilateral foundation for the exchange exists. The data is directed exclusively at tax authorities and will not be published.

Swiss business units of groups which are domiciled abroad can be obliged to submit a country-by-country report in Switzerland in certain cases. However, as Switzerland indicated in the dispatch of 23 November 2016, this obligation will be restricted to cases for which the OECD Model Law makes provision for in the report on BEPS action 13.

Further information

Last modification 03.03.2020

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/steuer_informationsaust/automatischer-informationsaustausch/cbcr.html

Länderbezogene Berichte

Mit dem Austausch der länderbezogenen Berichten setzt die Schweiz einen Mindeststandard der G20-Staaten und der OECD zur Bekämpfung der Gewinnverkürzung und -verlagerung (Base Erosion and Profit Shifting, BEPS) um.

Am 1. Dezember 2017 sind die relevanten Rechtsgrundlagen in Kraft getreten. Es handelt sich um die multilaterale Vereinbarung der zuständigen Behörden über den Austausch länderbezogener Berichte (ALBA-Vereinbarung) sowie das zugehörige Gesetz (ALBAG) und die Verordnung (ALBAV). Multinationale Unternehmen in der Schweiz werden damit verpflichtet, ab dem Steuerjahr 2018 erstmals einen länderbezogenen Bericht zu erstellen. Die Schweiz wird somit ab 2020 mit folgenden Partnerstaaten länderbezogene Berichte austauschen und spätestens ab diesem Datum solche Berichte erhalten können:

Andorra8 Insel Man1 Norwegen1
Argentinien3 Irland1 Österreich4
Australien1 Island4 Pakistan2
Belgien1 Italien1 Peru11
Bermudas11 Japan1 Polen2
Brasilien1 Jersey1 Portugal4
Britische Jungferninseln11 Kaimaninseln11 Republik Korea1
Bulgarien13 Kanada8 Rumänien11
Chile8 Katar11 Russland8
China8 Kolumbien1 Saudi-Arabien8
Costa Rica11 Kroatien8 Schweden1
Curaçao11 Lettland8,12 Seychellen7
Dänemark1 Liechtenstein1 Singapur1
Deutschland1 Litauen1 Slowakei1
Estland4 Luxemburg1 Slowenien1
Finnland1 Malaysia1 Spanien1
Frankreich1 Malta1 Südafrika1
Griechenland1 Mauritius8 Tschechien5
Grossbritannien1 Mexiko1 Turks- und Caicosinseln11
Guernsey1 Monaco8 Ungarn8
Hongkong9 Neuseeland1 Uruguay5
Indien1 Niederlande1 Vereinigte Arabische Emirate9
Indonesien3 Nigeria11 Zypern11

1 Austausch ab Juni 2018 (einschliesslich freiwillig in der Schweiz eingereichte länderbezogene Berichte)

2 Austausch ab September 2018 (einschliesslich freiwillig in der Schweiz eingereichte länderbezogene Berichte)

3 Austausch ab Dezember 2018 (einschliesslich freiwillig in der Schweiz eingereichte länderbezogene Berichte)

4 Austausch ab März 2019 (einschliesslich freiwillig in der Schweiz eingereichte länderbezogene Berichte)

5 Austausch ab Juni 2019 (einschliesslich freiwillig in der Schweiz eingereichte länderbezogene Berichte)

6 Austausch ab September 2019 (einschliesslich freiwillig in der Schweiz eingereichte länderbezogene Berichte)

7 Austausch ab Dezember 2019 (einschliesslich freiwillig in der Schweiz eingereichte länderbezogene Berichte)

8 Austausch ab 2020 (für Steuerperioden ab 2018)

9 Austausch ab 2021 (für Steuerperioden ab 2019)

10 Austausch ab 2022 (für Steuerperioden ab 2020)

11 Diese Partnerstaaten werden länderbezogene Bericht nur übermitteln und nicht erhalten

12 Freiwillig in der Schweiz eingereichte länderbezogene Berichte für die Steuerperiode 2016 wurden im Juni 2018 mit Lettland ausgetauscht. Seither werden mit Lettland keine weiteren länderbezogene Berichte mehr ausgetauscht. Lettland hat gegenüber der Schweiz bestätigt, dass multinationale Konzerne, deren Konzernobergesellschaft in der Schweiz ansässig ist, für Steuerperioden 2016 und 2017 in Lettland keinen länderbezogenen Bericht einreichen müssen.

13 Freiwillig in der Schweiz eingereichte länderbezogene Berichte für die Steuerperioden 2016 und 2017 wurden von Juni 2018 bis Juni 2019 mit Bulgarien ausgetauscht. Seither erhält Bulgarien keine länderbezogene Berichte mehr, sondern übermittelt solche nur noch an die Schweiz. Die Schweiz wird die länderbezogenen Berichte (einschliesslich freiwillig in der Schweiz eingereichte länderbezogene Berichte) zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt an Bulgarien übermitteln, sobald Bulgarien die Voraussetzungen für den Erhalt wieder erfüllt. Bulgarien hat gegenüber der Schweiz bestätigt, dass multinationale Konzerne, deren Konzernobergesellschaft in der Schweiz ansässig ist und die den länderbezogenen Bericht in der Schweiz eingereicht haben, in Bulgarien keinen länderbezogenen Bericht einreichen müssen.

Was ist ein länderbezogener Bericht?

Der länderbezogene Bericht informiert darüber, wie die erwirtschafteten Umsätze und die entrichteten Steuern eines multinationalen Konzerns weltweit verteilt sind. Er enthält weiter Angaben über die wichtigsten wirtschaftlichen Tätigkeiten des Konzerns in den einzelnen Ländern. Der Bericht muss von multinationalen Konzernen mit einem jährlichen konsolidierten Umsatz von über 750 Millionen Euro oder dem Gegenwert in der Landeswährung per 1. Januar 2015 erstellt werden. Davon dürften rund 200 in der Schweiz ansässige Konzerne betroffen sein.

Der länderbezogene Bericht wird jährlich automatisch an die Steuerbehörden der Staaten übermittelt, in denen diese Konzerne über Geschäftseinheiten verfügen, sofern eine staatsvertragliche Grundlage für den Austausch besteht. Die Daten richten sich ausschliesslich an die Steuerbehörden und werden nicht veröffentlicht.

Schweizer Geschäftseinheiten von Konzernen, die im Ausland ansässig sind, können in gewissen Fällen zur Einreichung eines länderbezogenen Berichts in der Schweiz verpflichtet werden. Diese Verpflichtung wird jedoch auf Fälle beschränkt sein, die das Mustergesetz der OECD im Bericht zu BEPS Massnahme 13 vorsieht, so wie es die Schweiz in der Botschaft vom 23. November 2016 dargelegt hat. 

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 03.03.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/multilateral/steuer_informationsaust/automatischer-informationsaustausch/cbcr.html