Financial accounts

With the help of the global standard for the automatic exchange of information on financial accounts (AEOI) tax transparency should be increased and cross-border tax evasion and should be prevented. The global standard makes provision for the mutual exchange of information on financial accounts between states and territories that have agreed among themselves to the AEOI. Aside from Switzerland, over 100 states and territories, including all major financial centres, have declared their intention to adopt the standard.

Switzerland usually implements the AEOI according to the Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement on the Automatic Exchange of Financial Account Information (MCAA). Bilateral treaties on the AEOI have been concluded with the EU, Hong Kong and Singapore.

The legal basis for the AEOI entered into force on 1 January 2017. The Federal Tax Administration (FTA) is responsible for the implementation of the AEOI.

The list of the activated bilateral exchange relationships of all states and territories can be viewed on the OECD website. The following list contains the AEOI partner states of Switzerland. It is kept regularly up to date and has priority over the list of the OECD (as at 13.12.2018): 

Partner state               
Approval1 Entry into force2
Andorra 17.040  01.01.2018 
Anguilla3 18.055 01.01.2019 
Antigua and Barbuda4 17.040 01.01.2019
Argentina 17.040  01.01.2018
Aruba5 17.040  01.01.2019
Australia 15.076 01.01.2017
Bahamas3 18.055 01.01.2019
Bahrain3 18.055 01.01.2019
Barbados 17.040  01.01.2018
Belize5 17.040  01.01.2018
Bermuda3
17.040  01.01.2018
Brazil 17.040  01.01.2018
British Virgin Islands3 17.040  01.01.2018
Canada 16.057   01.01.2017 
Cayman Islands3 17.040  01.01.2018
Chile 17.040  01.01.2018
China (People's Republic) 17.040  01.01.2018
Colombia 17.040   01.01.2018 
Cook Islands5 17.040  01.01.2018
Costa Rica5 17.040  01.01.2018
Curaçao5 17.040  01.01.2018
European Union6,7 15.081   01.01.2017 
Faroe Islands 17.040  01.01.2018
Greenland 17.040   01.01.2018 
Grenada5 17.040  01.01.2019
Guernesey 16.057 01.01.2017
Hong Kong8 18.055 01.01.2018
Isle of Man 16.057   01.01.2017 
Iceland 16.057   01.01.2017 
India 17.040  01.01.2018
Indonesia 17.040  01.01.2018
Israel9 17.040  01.01.2019
Japan 16.057 01.01.2017
Jersey 16.057 01.01.2017
Kuwait3 18.055 01.01.2019
Liechtenstein 17.040  01.01.2018
Malaysia 17.040  01.01.2018
Marshall Islands3 17.040  01.01.2019
Mauritius 17.040  01.01.2018
Mexiko 17.040  01.01.2018
Monaco 17.040  01.01.2018
Montserrat5 17.040  01.01.2018
Nauru3 18.055 01.01.2019
New Zealand 17.040  01.01.2018
Norway 16.057   01.01.2017 
Overseas municipalities of the NL (Bonaire, Saint Eustatius, Saba) 18.055 01.01.2019 
Panama5 18.055 01.01.2019
Qatar3,4 18.055 01.01.2019
Russia 17.040  01.01.2018
Saint Kitts and Nevis5 17.040  01.01.2018
Saint Lucia5 17.040  01.01.2018
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines5 17.040  01.01.2018
San Marino 17.040   01.01.2018 
Saudi Arabia 17.040   01.01.2018 
Seychelles 17.040  01.01.2018
Singapore8 18.055  01.01.2018 
South Africa  17.040   01.01.2018 
South Korea 16.057   01.01.2017 
Turks und Caicos Islands3 17.040   01.01.2018 
United Arab Emirates3 17.040  01.01.2019
Uruguay 17.040  01.01.2018

1: Item number for parliamentary deliberations.

2: From the date of entry into force on 1 January of a certain year a jurisdiction is considered as a participating jurisdiction. Since then the financial institutions subject to the reporting requirement will collect – with the reservations of notes 3 and 4 – account information concerning persons resident for tax purposes in the respective partner jurisdictions from this date. This information will be exchanged between the competent authorities for the first time in the following year.

3: These jurisdictions have declared themselves to be "permanent non-reciprocal jurisdictions", i. e. they will supply account information to the partner jurisdictions on a permanent basis but will not receive such data.

4: As the convention on the mutual administrative assistance in tax matters will enter into force in 2019 in these partner jurisdictions, it will be applicable to taxable periods beginning on or after 1 January 2020. Therefore, the first exchange of information will be carried out in 2021.

5: These partner jurisdictions must implement a Global Forum action plan on confidentiality and data security. There will be no reciprocal exchange of data until this action plan has been successfully implemented. Reporting Swiss financial institutions must nevertheless collect the relevant data from the time of activation of the AEOI and forward it to the Federal Tax Administration by the specified deadline. The FTA will transmit this data to the partner jurisdictions only if they have satisfactorily implemented their action plan and an updated Global Forum review has confirmed this.

6: The bilateral AEOI agreement with the EU applies for all 28 EU member states and is also applicable for the Åland Islands, the Azores, French Guiana, Gibraltar, Guadeloupe, the Canary Islands, Madeira, Martinique, Mayotte, La Réunion and Saint Martin.

7: Cyprus and Romania must implement a Global Forum action plan on confidentiality and data security. The comments in note 5 apply also to these two countries.

8: Switzerland has signed bilateral agreements with Hong Kong and Singapore regarding the introduction of the AEOI from 2018/2019. The agreements are provisionally applied since 1 January 2018.

9: Israel has not adopted its national implementation legislation yet. As this constitutes a key condition for the introduction of the AEOI, the implementation of AEOI with Israel has to be postponed for one year (2019/2020 and not 2018/2019 as originally foreseen). 

Further information

Last modification 13.12.2018

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/steuer_informationsaust/automatischer-informationsaustausch/automatischer-informationsaustausch1.html

Finanzkonten

Mit Hilfe des globalen Standards für den automatischen Informationsaustausch über Finanzkonten (AIA) soll die Steuertransparenz erhöht und die grenzüberschreitende Steuerhinterziehung verhindert werden. Der globale Standard sieht vor, dass Staaten und Territorien, die den AIA untereinander vereinbart haben, gegenseitig Informationen über Finanzkonten austauschen. Nebst der Schweiz haben sich über 100 Staaten, darunter alle wichtigen Finanzzentren, zur Übernahme des Standards bekannt.

Die Schweiz setzt den AIA grundsätzlich basierend auf der Multilateralen Vereinbarung der zuständigen Behörden über den automatischen Informationsaustausch über Finanzkonten (Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement; MCAA) um. Mit der EU, Hongkong und Singapur wurde der AIA auf der Grundlage bilateraler Staatsverträge vereinbart.

Die rechtlichen Grundlagen für den AIA sind am 1. Januar 2017 in Kraft getreten. Für den Vollzug des AIA ist die Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (ESTV) zuständig.  

Die Liste der aktivierten bilateralen Austauschbeziehungen sämtlicher Staaten und Territorien kann auf der Webseite der OECD eingesehen werden. Die nachstehende Liste enthält die AIA-Partnerstaaten der Schweiz. Sie wird regelmässig aktualisiert und ist massgebend gegenüber den Listen der OECD (Stand 13.12.2018):

Partnerstaat                 
Genehmigung1 Inkrafttreten2
Andorra 17.040  01.01.2018 
Anguilla3 18.055 01.01.2019 
Antigua und Barbuda4 17.040 01.01.2019
Argentinien 17.040 01.01.2018
Aruba5 17.040 01.01.2019
Australien 15.076 01.01.2017
Bahamas3 18.055 01.01.2019
Bahrain3 18.055 01.01.2019
Barbados 17.040 01.01.2018
Belize5 17.040 01.01.2018
Bermuda3
17.040 01.01.2018
Brasilien 17.040 01.01.2018
Britische Jungferninseln3 17.040 01.01.2018
Cayman Inseln3  17.040 01.01.2018
Chile 17.040 01.01.2018
China (Volksrepublik) 17.040 01.01.2018
Cookinseln5 17.040 01.01.2018
Costa Rica5 17.040 01.01.2018
Curaçao5 17.040 01.01.2018
Europäische Union6,7 15.081   01.01.2017 
Färöer Inseln  17.040 01.01.2018
Grenada5 17.040 01.01.2019
Grönland 17.040 01.01.2018
Guernsey 16.057 01.01.2017
Hongkong8 18.055 01.01.2018
Indien 17.040 01.01.2018
Indonesien 17.040 01.01.2018
Insel Man  16.057   01.01.2017 
Island 16.057 01.01.2017
Israel9 17.040 01.01.2019
Japan 16.057 01.01.2017
Jersey 16.057 01.01.2017
Kanada  16.057   01.01.2017 
Katar3,4 18.055 01.01.2019
Kolumbien  17.040  01.01.2018 
Kuwait3 18.055 01.01.2019
Liechtenstein 17.040 01.01.2018
Malaysia 17.040 01.01.2018
Mauritius 17.040 01.01.2018
Marshallinseln3 17.040 01.01.2019
Mexiko 17.040 01.01.2018
Monaco 17.040 01.01.2018
Montserrat5 17.040 01.01.2018
Nauru3 18.055 01.01.2019
Neuseeland  17.040   01.01.2018 
Norwegen   16.057   01.01.2017 
Panama5 18.055 01.01.2019
Republik Korea (Südkorea)  16.057  01.01.2017 
Russland  17.040 01.01.2018
San Marino  17.040  01.01.2018 
Saint Kitts und Nevis5 17.040 01.01.2018
Saint-Lucia5 17.040 01.01.2018
Saint Vincent und die Grenadinen5 17.040 01.01.2018
Saudi-Arabien  17.040  01.01.2018 
Seychellen 17.040 01.01.2018
Singapur8  18.055  01.01.2018 
Südafrika  17.040  01.01.2018 
Turks und Caicos Inseln3 17.040  01.01.2018 
Überseegemeinden der Niederlande (Bonaire, Saint Eustatius, Saba) 18.055  01.01.2019 
Uruguay 17.040 01.01.2018
Vereinigte Arabische Emirate3 17.040 01.01.2019

1: Geschäftsnummer für die parlamentarischen Beratungen.

2: Ab dem Inkrafttreten auf den 1. Januar eines bestimmten Jahres gilt ein Staat als teilnehmender Staat. Die meldepflichtigen Finanzinstitute sammeln ab diesem Zeitpunkt – unter Vorbehalt von Note 3 und 4 – Kontoinformationen von steuerlich in den jeweiligen Partnerstaaten ansässigen Personen. Diese Informationen werden zwischen den zuständigen Behörden erstmals im Herbst des darauffolgenden Jahres ausgetauscht.

3: Diese Staaten und Territorien haben sich als „ständige nichtreziproke Jurisdiktionen“ erklärt, d. h. sie werden dauerhaft Kontoinformationen an die Partnerstaaten liefern, jedoch keine solchen Daten erhalten. 

4: Da das Amtshilfeübereinkommen für diese Staaten erst im Laufe des Jahres 2019 in Kraft treten wird, ist es nur auf Steuerperioden anwendbar, die am 1. Januar 2020 oder nach diesem Zeitpunkt beginnen. Der erste Datenaustausch wird somit erst 2021 durchgeführt werden.

5: Diese Partnerstaaten müssen einen Aktionsplan des Global Forum zur Vertraulichkeit und Datensicherheit umsetzen. Solange dieser Aktionsplan nicht erfolgreich umgesetzt ist, findet kein reziproker Datenaustausch statt. Meldende schweizerische Finanzinstitute müssen ab dem Zeitpunkt der Aktivierung des AIA dennoch die relevanten Daten sammeln und diese innert vorgegebener Frist an die Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung weiterleiten. Letztere wird diese Daten nur an die Partnerstaaten übermitteln, wenn diese ihren Aktionsplan in zufriedenstellender Weise umgesetzt haben werden und eine aktualisierte Prüfung des Global Forum dies bestätigen wird.

6: Das bilaterale AIA-Abkommen mit der EU gilt für alle 28 EU-Mitgliedstaaten und ist auch für die Åland-Inseln, die Azoren, Französisch-Guayana, Gibraltar, Guadeloupe, die Kanarischen Inseln, Madeira, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion und Saint-Martin anwendbar.

7: Zypern und Rumänien müssen einen Aktionsplan des Global Forum zur Vertraulichkeit und Datensicherheit umsetzen. Die Ausführungen in Note 5 gelten ebenfalls für diese zwei Staaten.

8: Die Schweiz hat mit Hongkong und Singapur bilaterale Abkommen zur Einführung des AIA ab 2018/2019 unterzeichnet. Die Abkommen werden ab dem 1. Januar 2018 vorläufig angewendet.

9: Israel hat die erforderliche nationale Umsetzungsgesetzgebung noch nicht beschlossen. Es handelt sich dabei jedoch um eine Grundvoraussetzung für die Aktivierung des AIA, so dass die Umsetzung des AIA mit Israel um ein Jahr aufgeschoben wird (2019/2020 statt wie ursprünglich vorgesehen 2018/2019).

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 28.02.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/multilateral/steuer_informationsaust/automatischer-informationsaustausch/automatischer-informationsaustausch1.html