Legal Entity Identifier (LEI)

In the wake of the 2008 financial crisis, international efforts to develop a uniform global identification system for financial market participants, i.e. a legal entity identifier (LEI), were stepped up. As a unique global identification number, the LEI allows not just authorities but also financial market participants to reliably identify contracting parties in financial market transactions. The LEI thus helps to identify risks in the financial sector at an earlier stage and promote financial stability.

At the international level, the LEI is currently used primarily to identify parties to derivatives transactions. On 1 January 2016, the LEI was introduced into Swiss law in the area of reporting duties such as these under the Financial Market Infrastructure Act. The LEI is becoming increasingly important, also in other financial market areas (such as in the resolution of banks or anti-money laundering).

The current structure of the LEI system has three tiers:

  • The Regulatory Oversight Committee (ROC) is an internationally broad-based committee with over 70 authorities from more than 40 countries. It comprises central banks, finance ministries and oversight authorities, and coordinates and oversees the LEI system.

  • The second tier is made up of the Global Legal Entity Identifier Foundation as the operational arm of the LEI system and a link to the third tier.

  • The third tier covers local operation units that allocate LEIs.In Switzerland, e.g. the Federal Statistical Office is an accredited issuer for LEIs.

Switzerland is represented in the ROC of the LEI with two seats that are held by the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) and the Swiss National Bank (SNB). Safeguarding Switzerland's interests includes both active involvement in the ROC and the early identification of relevant developments.

Further information

Last modification 14.08.2019

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/gremien/w_gremien/legal-entity-identifier--lei-.html

Legal Entity Identifier (LEI)

Im Nachgang zur Finanzkrise 2008 wurden die internationalen Bestrebungen intensiviert, ein weltweit standardisiertes Identifikationssystem für Finanzmarktteilnehmer (sog. Legal Entity Identifier, LEI) zu entwickeln. Als eindeutige, global standardisierte Identifikationsnummer erlaubt der LEI sowohl Behörden als auch Finanzmarktteilnehmern die zuverlässige Identifikation von Vertragspartnern, namentlich in Finanzmarktgeschäften. Der LEI trägt dazu bei, Risiken im Finanzsektor früher zu erkennen und die Finanzstabilität zu fördern.

International dient der LEI u.a. der Identifizierung von Parteien bei Derivategeschäften. Am 1. Januar 2016 hat der LEI mit dem Finanzmarktinfrastrukturgesetz im Bereich solcher Meldepflichten Eingang in das Schweizer Recht gefunden. Es zeichnet sich eine zunehmende Bedeutung des LEI ab, auch in anderen Finanzmarktbereichen (etwa bei der Abwicklung von Banken oder der Geldwäschereibekämpfung).

Die heutige Struktur des globalen LEI-Systems umfasst drei Ebenen: 

  • Die erste Ebene bildet das Regulatory Oversight Committee (ROC). Das ROC ist ein international breit abgestütztes Gremium von über 70 Behörden aus über 40 Ländern. Es vereint Zentralbanken, Finanzministerien sowie Aufsichtsbehörden und koordiniert und beaufsichtigt das LEI-System. 

  • Die zweite Ebene bildet die in Basel beheimatete Global Legal Entity Identifier Foundation als operativer Teil des LEI-Systems und Bindeglied zur dritten Ebene.

  • Die dritte Ebene umfasst dezentrale Vergabestellen, die LEI-Nummern vergeben. In der Schweiz agiert bspw. das Bundesamt für Statistik als akkreditierte Vergabestelle für LEIs. 

Die Schweiz ist im ROC des LEI mit zwei Sitzen vertreten, die vom Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartement (EFD) und von der Schweizerischen Nationalbank (SNB) eingenommen werden. Die Interessenswahrung der Schweiz umfasst dabei sowohl eine aktive Mitwirkung im ROC als auch das frühzeitige Erkennen relevanter Entwicklungen.

 

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 14.08.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/multilateral/gremien/w_gremien/legal-entity-identifier--lei-.html