IMF reports and statistics on Switzerland

The monitoring and analysis of its member states' economic and financial market policy is one of the IMF's main tasks. These so-called surveillance activities help in the early detection of macroeconomic imbalances (such as balance of payment problems and unsustainable debt developments) and risks to financial sector stability. They form the basis for advising members on implementing appropriate economic policy measures.

As part of its surveillance activities, the IMF carries out country evaluations (Article IV consultations) and financial sector assessments. It also ensures that member states provide the requisite statistical data in good time and in sufficient quality, and meet the agreed international standards. The willingness to cooperate and data transparency towards the IMF are conditions of Fund membership. IMF surveillance creates an important global public good.

IMF Article IV consultations with Switzerland

Like all the IMF's members, Switzerland regularly conducts Article IV consultations with the IMF. The associated in-depth dialogue with the authorities, the private sector and civil society is summarised in a report together with recommendations on policies to foster growth and stability, and approved after discussion by the IMF Executive Board. The associated reports are published by the IMF with the agreement of Switzerland.

Swiss participation in the Financial Sector Assessment Program (FSAP)


Since 1999, the IMF has evaluated, in particular, its members' financial markets and institutions, regulation and oversight as part of its Financial Sector Assessment Program (FSAP). This evaluation includes an assessment of national financial market regulations' compliance with internationally recognised standards. Since 2010, the most systemically important financial centres have committed to carrying out a FSAP exercise roughly every five years. The observations and recommendations from the FSAP flow into the Article IV consultations mentioned above. Switzerland is in favour of these IMF activities and regularly submits to assessments of its financial sector. The reports and background studies are published by the IMF with the agreement of Switzerland.
Financial Sector Assessment Program, FSAP (IWF website)

Applying the SDDS Plus statistical standard

An essential basis for the IMF's surveillance activities is access to comprehensive, reliable and sufficiently up-to-date data from its members. Data transparency can both help to prevent economic and financial crises and contribute to resolving them. To this end, the IMF has drawn up internationally recognised statistical standards which should ensure that this continues into the future. Industrialised countries, including Switzerland, are providing economic and financial data that comply with a higher standard. Since December 2020, Switzerland has published the data relevant for the IMF's surveillance activities according to this higher standard, SDDS Plus (Special Data Dissemination Standard Plus).
> Switzerland applying IMF's SDDS Plus
> Federal Statistical Office Switzerland – National Data Summary Page (NDSP)
IMF – Dissemination Standards Bulletin Board (DSBB)

Last modification 09.12.2021

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/gremien/iwf/iwf-berichte-statistiken.html

IWF-Berichte und Statistiken zur Schweiz

Die Beobachtung und Analyse der Wirtschafts- und Finanzmarktpolitik seiner Mitglieder ist eine der Hauptaufgaben des IWF. Diese sogenannte Überwachungstätigkeit des IWF dient der Früherkennung von makroökonomischen Ungleichgewichten (wie Zahlungsbilanzungleichgewichten und nicht-nachhaltigen Schuldenentwicklungen) sowie Stabilitätsrisiken im Finanzsektor. Sie bildet die Basis für die Beratung der Mitgliedschaft bei der Umsetzung geeigneter wirtschaftspolitischer Massnahmen.

Im Rahmen seiner Überwachungstätigkeit führt der IWF Länderexamen (Artikel IV-Konsultationen) und Finanzsektorprüfungen durch. Auch stellt er sicher, dass die Mitgliedsländer die notwendigen statistischen Daten zeitgerecht und in hinreichender Qualität bereitstellen und vereinbarte internationale Standards erfüllen. Die Bereitschaft zur Kooperation und die Datentransparenz gegenüber dem IWF sind Verpflichtungen der Mitgliedschaft. Die IWF-Überwachung schafft ein wichtiges globales öffentliches Gut.

Artikel IV-Konsultationen des IWF mit der Schweiz

Wie alle Mitglieder führt auch die Schweiz regelmässige Artikel IV-Konsultationen mit dem IWF durch. Der damit verbundene vertiefte Dialog mit Behörden, Privatsektor und Zivilgesellschaft wird in einem Bericht mit Empfehlungen für eine wachstums- und stabilitätsfördernde Politik zusammengefasst und nach Beratung vom IWF-Exekutivrat verabschiedet. Die entsprechenden Berichte werden mit Zustimmung der Schweiz vom IWF veröffentlicht.

Teilnahme der Schweiz am Financial Sector Assessment Program (FSAP)

Der IWF überprüft seit 1999 im Rahmen von Finanzsektorexamen (FSAP) im Besonderen die Finanzmärkte und -institutionen sowie die Regulierung und Aufsicht der Mitgliedsländer. Teil dieser Beurteilung ist die Konformität der nationalen Finanzmarktregulierung mit international anerkannten Standards. Seit September 2010 haben sich die systemisch wichtigsten Finanzplätze dazu verpflichtet, rund alle fünf Jahre ein FSAP durchzuführen. Die Erkenntnisse und Empfehlungen aus den FSAP fliessen in die oben genannten Artikel IV-Konsultationen ein. Die Schweiz befürwortet diese Arbeiten des IWF und lässt seinen Finanzsektor in regelmässigen Abständen überprüfen. Die Berichte und Hintergrundstudien des IWF werden mit Zustimmung der Schweiz veröffentlicht.
Financial Sector Assessment Program, FSAP (Webseite IWF)

Anwendung des Statistikstandards SDDS Plus

Eine notwendige Grundlage für die Überwachungstätigkeit des IWF ist der Zugang zu umfassenden, verlässlichen und hinreichend aktuellen Daten der Mitglieder. Datentransparenz kann zur Vorbeugung von Wirtschafts- und Finanzkrisen, aber auch zu deren Lösung, beitragen. Der IWF hat hierfür international anerkannte Statistikstandards entwickelt, welche dies auch in Zukunft sicherstellen sollen. Industrieländer, so auch die Schweiz, stellen dabei Volkswirtschafts- und Finanzdaten bereit, die einem höheren Standard genügen. Seit Dezember 2020 veröffentlicht sie die für die Überwachungstätigkeit des IWF relevanten Daten nach diesem höheren Statistikstandard SDDS Plus (Special Data Dissemination Standard Plus).
> Schweiz wendet IWF-Standard SDDS Plus an
> Federal Statistical Office Switzerland – National Data Summary Page (NDSP)
IMF – Dissemination Standards Bulletin Board (DSBB)

Letzte Änderung 11.11.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/multilateral/gremien/iwf/iwf-berichte-statistiken.html