Switzerland in the International Monetary Fund (IMF)

The main task of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) is to ensure the stability of the international financial and monetary system. Switzerland has an important voice in the IMF and is a reliable partner in initiatives to maintain global financial stability. As a constituency leader, it is permanently represented in the IMF Ministerial Committee and Executive Board, where it plays an active role. The IMF's almost universal membership with 190 countries gives it a high degree of legitimacy as a multilateral player.

Switzerland has been a member of the IMF since 1992. The Head of the FDF represents Switzerland in the International Monetary and Financial Committee (IMFC). The IMFC convenes every six months, and these meetings are followed by meetings of the G20 finance ministers and central bank governors. The Executive Board oversees the day-to-day business of the IMF and approves guidelines for the institution's activities. Switzerland and Poland have alternated their seat on the Executive Board since 2014. The constituency has a voting share of 2.89%, whereby Switzerland has a share of 1.21%.
Overview of Switzerland's relations with the IMF
IMFC Statements of the head of department  (website FDF)

As an open and dynamic economy with a significant financial sector and its own currency, Switzerland has a major interest in helping to shape global financial and monetary cooperation. It is important to Switzerland that the IMF exercises its mandate to ensure the stability of the international financial system in a credible and effective manner and, as a major multilateral player, treats its members equally. Consequently, based on the principles of Switzerland's policy in the IMF, approved by the Federal Council, the country is committed to ensuring that the IMF conducts its activities in a rule-oriented and transparent manner and remains financially sound. At the same time, Switzerland promotes sustainability in the monetary, budgetary, debt and financial sector policies of the IMF's member countries.
> Principles of Switzerland's policy in the IMF

The IMF's activities cover the following dimensions. It performs these tasks in ongoing dialogue with its members:

The Federal Department of Finance (FDF) and the Swiss National Bank (SNB) jointly attend to Switzerland's membership of the IMF. Moreover, there is close cooperation with the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) and the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) regarding development policy issues. The FDF regularly reports to Parliament on Switzerland's financial commitment to the IMF, as well as on the monetary assistance provided by Switzerland. For the IMF itself, the Independent Evaluation Office (IEO) is tasked with critically reviewing the IMF's activities.
Independent Evaluation Office of the IMF (IEO)

The IMF explains its activities and current focus areas in detail on its website.

Further information

Media

Last modification 28.07.2022

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/gremien/iwf.html

Mitgliedschaft der Schweiz im Internationaler Währungsfonds (IWF)

Die Schweiz hat im Internationalen Währungsfonds (IWF) eine gewichtige Mitsprache. Sie ist als Leiterin einer Stimmrechtsgruppe permanent im IWF-Ministergremium und im Exekutivrat vertreten und bringt sich dort aktiv ein. Die Schweiz ist eine verlässliche Partnerin bei Initiativen zur Wahrung der Stabilität des internationalen Finanz- und Währungssystems. Mit einer beinahe universellen Mitgliedschaft von 190 Ländern verfügt der IWF über eine grosse Legitimität als multilateraler Akteur.

Die Schweiz ist seit 1992 Mitglied des IWF. Der Vorsteher bzw. die Vorsteherin des EFD vertritt die Schweiz im Ministergremium (International Monetary and Financial Committee, IMFC). Der IMFC tagt halbjährlich, woran sich jeweils auch Treffen der G20 Finanzminister und Zentralbankgouverneure orientieren. Als Leiterin einer Stimmrechtsgruppe bestehend aus Aserbaidschan, Kasachstan, Kirgisische Republik, Polen, Serbien, Schweiz, Tadschikistan, Turkmenistan und Usbekistan nimmt die Schweiz permanent Einsitz im IWF-Exekutivrat. Den Exekutivsitz rotiert sie seit 2014 mit Polen. Die Gruppe hat einen Stimmenanteil von 2,89 Prozent, wobei der Anteil der Schweiz 1,21 Prozent beträgt.
Übersicht der Beziehungen der Schweiz zum IWF

Als offene und dynamische Volkswirtschaft mit bedeutendem Finanzsektor und eigener Währung hat die Schweiz ein grosses Interesse an der Mitgestaltung der globalen Finanz- und Währungskooperation. Für die Schweiz ist wichtig, dass der IWF sein Mandat zur Sicherung der Stabilität des internationalen Finanzsystems in glaubwürdiger und effektiver Weise ausübt und als gewichtiger multilateraler Akteur seine Mitglieder gleichberechtigt behandelt. Deshalb setzt sie sich – gestützt auf die vom Bundesrat gutgeheissenen Grundsätze der schweizerischen Politik im IWF – dafür ein, dass der IWF seine Tätigkeiten regelorientiert und transparent ausübt und finanziell solide bleibt. Zugleich wirkt die Schweiz im IWF auf Nachhaltigkeit in der Geld-, Haushalts-, Schulden- und Finanzsektorpolitik in den Mitgliedsländern hin.
Grundsätze der schweizerischen Politik im IWF 

Die Tätigkeiten des IWF umfassen die folgenden Dimensionen. Er erfüllt diese Aufgaben im laufenden Dialog mit seinen Mitgliedern:

Die Mitgliedschaft der Schweiz im IWF wird durch das Eidgenössische Finanzdepartement (EFD) und die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) gemeinsam wahrgenommen. Für die Entwicklungspolitik betreffende Fragen gibt es überdies eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft (SECO) und der Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit (DEZA). Über das finanzielle Engagement der Schweiz im IWF, wie auch über die von der Schweiz geleisteten Währungshilfe berichtet das EFD regelmässig an das Parlament. Für den IWF selbst ist das unabhängige Evaluationsbüro (Independent Evaluation Office, IEO) damit beauftragt, die Aktivitäten des IWF kritisch zu prüfen.
Independent Evaluation Office des IWF (IEO)

Der IWF erläutert seine Tätigkeiten und aktuellen thematischen Schwerpunkte umfassend auf seiner Homepage.

Weiterführende Informationen

Medien

Letzte Änderung 13.10.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/multilateral/gremien/iwf.html