Work of the Global Forum on AEOI implementation

At the Global Forum plenary meeting in Punta del Este, Uruguay, in November 2018, progress in AEOI implementation was reported. In 2018, a total of 4,500 bilateral exchanges were made under the new AEOI standard by 86 jurisdictions.

In order to ensure the effective implementation of the AEIO standard, the first comprehensive peer reviews are set to begin in 2020. The members of the Global Forum have developed detailed terms of reference for these reviews. As part of the staged approach, the Global Forum conducts preliminary assessments, the results of which may lead to recommendations or action plans.

The preliminary assessments consist of four elements:

  • The Global Forum assesses whether the jurisdictions meet the confidentiality and data security regulations. A panel of experts from the member states, which includes an expert from Switzerland, carries out the preliminary assessments. The assessments may lead to action plans. Data is exchanged on a non-reciprocal basis for as long as an action plan has not been implemented.

  • The Global Forum examines whether the states and territories have correctly implemented the AEOI standard into their national law. The assessment also focuses on the lists of exempt accounts and non-reporting financial institutions. The Global Forum has reviewed the Swiss AEIO legal bases and adopted recommendations. On 27 February 2019, the Federal Council initiated a consultation on the revision of the Federal Act and the Ordinance on the AEOI. The aim is to implement the recommendations of the Global Forum. The consultation process will last until 12 June 2019 and the bill is due to be discussed by Parliament in spring 2020.

  • The Global Forum set up a monitoring system in order to ensure that signatory states and territories have an appropriate AEOI network. With this in mind, the Federal Council the Federal Council adopted on 29 May 2019 the dispatch on the introduction of the automatic exchange of financial account information (AEOI) with 19 further partner states. . The entry into force of the AEOI with these new partner states is planned for 1 January 2020, with the first exchange of data to take place in 2021.

  • The provision of the necessary administrative and information technology for the AEOI to function correctly is being assessed.

Last modification 29.05.2019

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/gremien/global_forum/arbeiten-des-global-forum-betreffend-die-aia-umsetzung-.html

Arbeiten des Global Forum betreffend die AIA-Umsetzung

An der Plenarversammlung des Global Forum im November 2018 in Punta del Este, Uruguay, wurde über die Fortschritte bei der AIA-Umsetzung berichtet. 2018 haben insgesamt 4500 bilaterale Austausche unter dem AIA-Standard von 86 Jurisdiktionen stattgefunden.

Um eine effektive Umsetzung des AIA-Standards sicherzustellen, sollen erste umfassende Länderüberprüfungen im Jahr 2020 beginnen. Die Mitglieder des Global Forum haben detaillierte Kriterien (Terms of reference) für diese Prüfungen entwickelt. Im Rahmen des „Staged Approach“ führt das Global Forum Vorevaluationen durch, deren Resultate zu Empfehlungen oder Aktionsplänen führen können.

Die Vorevaluationen bestehen aus vier Elementen:

  • Das Global Forum prüft, ob die Jurisdiktionen die Bestimmungen zur Vertraulichkeit und Datensicherheit einhalten. Ein Panel von Experten aus den Mitgliedstaaten, zu denen auch ein Schweizer Experte gehört, führt diese Vorevaluationen durch. Die Evaluationen können einen Aktionsplan nach sich ziehen. Solange der Aktionsplan nicht umgesetzt ist, erfolgt der Datenaustausch auf nicht-reziproker Basis.

  • Das Global Forum untersucht, ob die Staaten und Territorien den AIA-Standard korrekt in ihrem Landesrecht umgesetzt haben. Die Evaluation befasst sich ferner mit den Listen der ausgenommenen Konten und der nicht meldenden Finanzinstitute. Das Global Forum hat die Schweizer AIA-Rechtsgrundlagen geprüft und Empfehlungen verabschiedet. Der Bundesrat hat am 27. Februar 2019 die Vernehmlassung zur Revision des Bundesgesetzes und der Verordnung über den AIA eröffnet. Damit sollen die Empfehlungen des Global Forum umgesetzt werden. Die Vernehmlassung dauert bis zum 12. Juni 2019. Die Vorlage soll im Frühling 2020 in die parlamentarische Beratung kommen.

  • Das Global Forum hat ein Monitoring eingerichtet, um sicherzustellen, dass die verpflichteten Staaten und Territorien über ein angemessenes AIA-Netz verfügen. Im Hinblick darauf hat der Bundesrat am 29. Mai 2019 die Botschaft zur Einführung des AIA mit 19 weiteren Partnerstaaten verabschiedet  Das Inkrafttreten des AIA mit diesen neuen Partnerstaaten ist per 1. Januar 2020 vorgesehen, ein erster Datenaustausch soll 2021 erfolgen.

  • Die Bereitstellung der für das korrekte Funktionieren des AIA erforderlichen administrativen und informationstechnischen Ressourcen wird evaluiert.

Letzte Änderung 29.05.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/multilateral/gremien/global_forum/arbeiten-des-global-forum-betreffend-die-aia-umsetzung-.html