Global Forum

The Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes (Global Forum) ensures that the international standards regarding transparency and the exchange of information for tax purposes are complied with and are implemented in a uniform manner internationally.

First round of reviews

Switzerland successfully underwent the first round of peer reviews in the area of administrative assistance in tax matters on request. As part of this review (Phase 2)1, Switzerland was given the rating of largely compliant in July 2016. Within the framework of the first round, the Global Forum carried out a total of 268 reviews and assigned ratings to 119 jurisdictions. The reviews are based on the Terms of Reference. Ten elements are assessed and each element is rated as compliant, largely compliant, partially compliant, or non-compliant. These results are then combined to provide an overall rating.

1 The first round of reviews includes two phases: Phase 1 and Phase 2, whereby the Global Forum assigns an overall rating for Phase 2. The second round of reviews is not divided into phases.

 

Second round of reviews

The second round of peer views began for all Global Forum members in 2016 and is based on revised assessment criteria. New elements are assessed, such as the quality of a tax authority's requests, group requests and the identification of beneficial owners. The measures taken by the member states to implement the recommendations from the first round of reviews are also examined.

The first reports from this round were received at the 26th Peer Review Group meeting in July 2017. As the host, Switzerland organised the meeting in Geneva and in doing so underlined its commitment to the Global Forum. This was the first meeting of its kind to be held in Switzerland. 

Switzerland's second review round started at the end of 2018. The final report is expected at the end of 2019. On 21 November 2018, the Federal Council adopted the dispatch on the implementation of the Global Forum's recommendations on Switzerland's phase 2 review. The Parliament is discussing the corresponding bill.

Further information

Last modification 15.05.2019

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/gremien/global_forum.html

Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes

Das Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes (Global Forum) sorgt dafür, dass die internationalen Standards hinsichtlich Transparenz und Informationsaustausch zu Steuerzwecken auf internationaler Ebene eingehalten und in einheitlicher Weise umgesetzt werden.

Erste Prüfungsrunde

Die Schweiz hat die erste Runde der Peer Review im Bereich Steueramtshilfe auf Anfrage bereits erfolgreich durchlaufen. Im Rahmen dieser Prüfung (Phase 2)1 erhielt sie im Juli 2016 die Note weitgehend konform (largely compliant). Im Rahmen der ersten Runde hat das Global Forum insgesamt 268 Prüfungen durchgeführt und Noten an 119 Jurisdiktionen vergeben. Die Überprüfungen stützten sich dabei auf Bewertungskriterien – Terms of Reference – ab. Beurteilt werden zehn Elemente, wobei jedes Element wiederum mit den Teilnoten konform, weitgehend konform, teilweise konform oder nicht konform bewertet wird, woraus sich sodann eine Gesamtnote ergibt.

1 Die erste Prüfungsrunde umfasste zwei Phasen: Phase 1 und Phase 2, wobei das Global Forum am Ende der Phase 2 eine Gesamtnote erteilte. Die zweite Prüfungsrunde wird nicht mehr in Phasen eingeteilt. 

Zweite Prüfungsrunde

Für alle Global Forum Mitglieder hat 2016 die zweite Runde der Peer Review begonnen, die sich auf überarbeitete Bewertungskriterien stützt. Es werden neue Elemente geprüft etwa die Qualität der Anfragen einer Steuerbehörde, Gruppenanfragen oder die Identifizierung von Nutzungsberechtigten. Geprüft werden auch die von den Mitgliedstaaten getroffenen Massnahmen zur Umsetzung der Empfehlungen aus dem ersten Evaluationszyklus.

Am Treffen der 26. Peer-Review-Gruppe im Juli 2017 wurden die ersten Berichte dieser Runde angenommen. Als Gastgeber hat die Schweiz dieses Treffen in Genf ausgerichtet und damit die Bedeutung ihres Engagements im Global Forum unterstrichen. Es war überhaupt das erste Treffen dieser Art, das in der Schweiz stattfand. 

Die zweite Prüfungsrunde der Schweiz hat Ende 2018 begonnen. Mit dem finalen Bericht wird Ende 2019 gerechnet. Das Parlament hat am 21. Juni 2019 das Bundesgesetz zur Umsetzung von Empfehlungen des Global Forums gutgeheissen.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 14.08.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/multilateral/gremien/global_forum.html