G20 Finance Track

As an informal forum for the twenty most important industrialised and emerging countries, the G20 has given crucial boosts to coordinated reforms at a global level since its first summit of heads of state and heads of government. Key questions on the global financial and economic system are addressed in the Finance Track.

Switzerland was invited by the Saudi Arabian G20 presidency as a guest country to all activities of the G20. Switzerland will participate for the fifth time in succession in the Financial Track, which is central to the G20, and for the first time in the G20 summit of heads of state and government, as well as in all ministerial meetings and working groups of the Sherpa Track. The Finance Track concentrates on economic issues and financial matters, whereas the Sherpas' Track deals with all other topics: taxing the digital economy, sustainable and innovative infrastructure investment and financial market regulation in view of digitalisation and climate risks.

The focus of the discussions in the Finance Track is on coordinated steps to stabilise the global economy, structural measures to promote growth and reform proposals for the international financial system. The objective is to detect crises more effectively and at an earlier stage and to prevent the development of global imbalances. At the same time, the international financial, economic and monetary system is to be made more stable.

The Finance Track involves the meetings of the G20 finance ministers and central bank governors in which representatives of international financial institutions such as the IMF, the FSB, the World Bank and the OECD also take part. High-ranking deputies of finance ministers and governors meet prior to this ministerial meetings.

Selected topics are addressed in detail on a technical level in working groups. These expert groups, which are appointed by the finance ministries and are generally co-chaired by an industrialised and emerging market country, meet regularly throughout the year.

Issues concerning financial sector regulation are prepared directly by the Financial Stability Board (FSB). Switzerland is a permanent member of the FSB and is actively involved in its reform projects. The range of topics is broad and covers issues such as systemically important financial institutions (SIFIs), shadow banking, rating agencies and OTC derivatives markets.

Further information

Last modification 20.12.2019

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/multilateral/gremien/g20_financial_track.html

G20 Finance Track

Die G20 hat als Forum der wichtigsten Industrie- und Schwellenländer seit ihrem ersten Gipfel der Staats- und Regierungschefs im Jahr 2008 entscheidende Impulse für koordinierte Reformen auf globaler Ebene gegeben. Die Kernfragen zum globalen Finanz- und Wirtschaftssystem werden im Finance Track behandelt.

Die Schweiz wurde von der G20-Präsidentschaft Saudi-Arabien als Gastland zu allen Arbeiten der G20 für 2020 eingeladen. Sie nimmt damit zum fünften Mal in Folge am für die G20 zentralen Finance Track teil, sowie erstmals am G20-Gipfel der Staats- und Regierungsoberhäupter und an allen Ministertreffen und Arbeitsgruppen des Sherpa Track. Der Finance Track konzentriert sich auf Wirtschafts-, Währungs- und Finanzfragen, während der „Sherpa"-Track alle anderen Themen behandelt: Handel, Investitionen und Umwelt, Klimawandel, Technologie, Forschung und Innovation, Beschäftigung und Bildung, Gesundheit sowie Tourismus. 

Im Zentrum der Diskussionen im Finance Track stehen koordinierte Schritte zur Stabilisierung der Weltwirtschaft, strukturelle Massnahmen zur Wachstumsförderung und Reformvorschläge für das internationale Finanzsystem. Ihr Ziel ist es, Krisen besser und früher zu erkennen und die Entwicklung von globalen Ungleichgewichten zu verhindern. Gleichzeitig soll das internationale Finanz-, Wirtschafts- und Währungssystem stabiler gemacht werden. 

Zum Finance Track gehören die Treffen der Finanzminister und Zentralbankgouverneure der G20, an denen auch Vertreter der internationalen Finanzinstitutionen wie IWF, FSB, Weltbank und OECD teilnehmen. Im Vorfeld dieser Ministertreffen kommen jeweils hochrangige Stellvertreter der Finanzminister und der Gouverneure (Deputies) zusammen. 

Ausgewählte Themen werden auf technischem Niveau in Arbeitsgruppen vertieft. Diese Expertengruppen, die von den Finanzministerien ernannt und in der Regel von einem Industrie- und einem Schwellenland gemeinsam präsidiert werden, treffen sich regelmässig während des Jahres.

Fragen zur Regulierung des Finanzsektors werden direkt vom Financial Stability Board (FSB) vorbereitet. Die Schweiz ist ständiges Mitglied des FSB und arbeitet dort aktiv an den Reformprojekten mit. Die Themenpalette ist breit und deckt unter anderem Fragen der systemrelevanten Finanzinstitutionen, des Shadow Banking, der Ratingagenturen und der ausserbörslichen Derivatmärkte (OTC-Derivatives), ab.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 16.06.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/multilateral/gremien/g20_financial_track.html