Commodity trading and finance

Switzerland is a world leader in commodity trading. The Swiss commodity sector includes not only trading companies, but also banks specialised in the financing of commodity trading, goods inspection companies, shipping companies and insurance companies. Its importance for the Swiss economy is as significant as ever. It is estimated that approximately 500 companies with around 10,000 employees are active in the commodity sector in Switzerland.    

The regulatory and political environment plays a decisive role in terms of Switzerland's appeal as a business location. Commodity trading centres such as Singapore, London and Dubai are major competitors for Switzerland. Given the many connections between the commodity and financial sectors, a prosperous commodity sector is important for Switzerland's financial centre. Banks play a key role in the financing of commodity trading, for instance.

In view of the sector's diversity and its great importance in terms of domestic and foreign policy, the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER) and the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) established an interdepartmental commodities platform in 2013. It is led alternately by SIF, SECO and the FDFA.

Switzerland is pursuing its commodity policy dialogue with the private sector, civil society and the cantons. The Federal Council believes that Switzerland is in a favourable position by international standards thanks to its efforts to ensure a competitive and morally sound business location for companies in the commodity sector. In November 2018, it adopted a report on the situation in the Swiss commodity sector. It issued 16 recommendations on that basis to further enhance the appeal, innovative power, integrity and responsible practices of the Swiss hub. The Federal Council instructed the platform to coordinate the implementation of the 16 recommendations and to draw up a report by the end of 2020. The competent departments are currently in the process of implementing the recommendations.

Further information

Last modification 22.05.2020

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Berne

info@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/rohstoffhandel.html

Rohstoffhandel

Die Schweiz gehört im Rohstoffhandel zu den weltweit führenden Ländern. Der Schweizer Rohstoffsektor umfasst namentlich Handelsunternehmen, aber auch Banken, die sich auf die Finanzierung des Rohstoffhandels spezialisiert haben, Wareninspektionsfirmen, Reedereien und Versicherungen. Die Bedeutung der Schweizer Rohstoffbranche für die Schweizer Volkswirtschaft ist ungebrochen gross. Gemäss Schätzungen sind in der Schweiz gegen 500 Unternehmen mit rund 10‘000 Mitarbeitenden in der Rohstoffbranche tätig.

Das regulatorische und politische Umfeld spielt eine entscheidende Rolle für die Attraktivität des Standortes Schweiz. Rohstoffhandelsplätze wie beispielsweise Singapur, London oder Dubai sind eine erhebliche Konkurrenz für den Schweizer Standort. Aufgrund der vielfältigen Verbindungen zwischen der Rohstoffbranche und dem Finanzsektor ist eine prosperierende Rohstoffbranche auch für den Schweizer Finanzplatz von Bedeutung. Den Banken kommt beispielsweise bei der Finanzierung des Handels mit Rohstoffen eine zentrale Rolle zu.

Aufgrund der innen- und aussenpolitischen Bedeutung der Branche sowie der Vielfältigkeit des Themas haben das Eidgenössische Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA), das Eidgenössische Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung (WBF) sowie das Eidgenössische Finanzdepartement (EFD) 2013 die interdepartementale „Plattform Rohstoffe" gegründet. Die Plattform wird alternierend vom SIF, dem SECO und dem EDA geleitet.

Die Schweiz setzt ihren Dialog über die Rohstoffpolitik mit dem Privatsektor, der Zivilgesellschaft und den Kantonen fort. Der Bundesrat ist der Ansicht, dass die Schweiz dank ihren Bemühungen um einen wettbewerbsfähigen und integren Standort für Rohstoffunternehmen im internationalen Vergleich gut dasteht. Er hat im November 2018 einen Bericht über die Situation im Schweizer Rohstoffsektor verabschiedet. Die darauf basierenden 16 Empfehlungen des Bundesrates sollen die Attraktivität, Innovationskraft, Integrität und verantwortungsvolle Praxis des Schweizer Hubs weiter stärken. Der Bundesrat hat die Plattform beauftragt, die Umsetzung der 16 Empfehlungen zu koordinieren und bis Ende 2020 einen Bericht zu verfassen. Die zuständigen Departemente sind derzeit daran, die Empfehlungen umzusetzen.

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 22.05.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern

info@sif.admin.ch

Kontakt drucken

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/finanzmarktpolitik/rohstoffhandel.html