Sustainable Finance

Sustainability in the financial sector is becoming increasingly important, both nationally and internationally. For the Swiss financial centre, sustainability in the financial sector presents a considerable opportunity. The government primarily acts as mediator and facilitator in this context, cultivating an intensive dialogue with the financial industry and interested third parties and supporting the creation of an optimal regulatory framework.

By adopting the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development in 2015, the member states of the UN declared their willingness to jointly meet the 17 Sustainable Development Goals by 2030. Switzerland ratified the Paris Convention on Climate Change in 2017. In 2019, the Federal Council set the objective of zero net greenhouse gas emissions by 2050. Accordingly, sustainability topics are increasingly shaping the financial market.

The importance of sustainable financial investments has risen sharply, for both wealth management and investment advice and pension funds and insurance companies. For example, sustainable financial investment in Switzerland surged from CHF 141.7 billion in 2015 to over CHF 1,163 billion in 2019.

On 24 June 2020, the Federal Council adopted a report and guidelines on sustainability in the financial sector: The Swiss financial centre should further strengthen its position as a leading location for sustainable financial services. The framework conditions should be designed to ensure that the competitiveness of Switzerland's financial centre is continuously improved and the financial sector can make an effective contribution to sustainability.

For financial markets to adequately take environmental risks into account, it is an important precondition that a high-quality data basis in both the financial sector and the real economy is available, taking international standards into account. Moreover, increased transparency on environmental risks and environmental impact allows investors to make decisions efficiently, promotes innovation capabilities in the financial sector and helps to avoid greenwashing.

In order that risks to financial market players are more clearly visible and palpable, external costs of environmental and climate damage from economic activities in the real economy need to be internalised. The Federal Council continues to advocate at international level that greenhouse gas emissions should be appropriately priced using market economy tools, such as charges or emissions trading systems.

Green fintech

Thanks to the more efficient use of digital technology, fintechs are becoming increasingly important for the financial centre, either by acting as innovation partners of traditional financial players or occasionally by replacing their value added. Fintechs are thus essential for the future sustainability and competitiveness of the Swiss financial centre. The Federal Council will position the Swiss financial centre as a global leader in exploiting the potential of digital technology in the area of sustainable finance (green fintech).

Environmental impact testing

In 2017, the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) and the State Secretariat for International Finance (SIF) made it possible for all Swiss pension funds and insurance companies to have the environmental impact of their stock and corporate bond portfolios tested voluntarily and free of charge. Testing was repeated in 2020 and expanded to include banks and asset managers. 

Further information

Last modification 23.08.2021

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Berne

info@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

Links

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/nachhalt_finanzsektor.html

Nachhaltigkeit im Finanzsektor

Nachhaltigkeit im Finanzbereich gewinnt national und international an Bedeutung. Das ist für den Schweizer Finanzplatz eine grosse Chance. Der Staat übernimmt hierbei die Rolle eines Vermittlers, führt mit der Branche und den interessierten Kreisen einen intensiven Dialog und setzt sich für einen optimalen Regulierungsrahmen ein.

Mit der Verabschiedung der Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung im Jahr 2015 haben sich die UN-Mitgliedstaaten bereit erklärt, die 17 Ziele (Sustainable Development Goals) für nachhaltige Entwicklung bis 2030 gemeinsam zu erreichen. Die Schweiz hat 2017 das Klimaübereinkommen von Paris ratifiziert. Der Bundesrat hat sich 2019 zum Ziel gesetzt, bis 2050 unter dem Strich keine Treibhausgasemissionen mehr auszustossen.

Nachhaltigkeitsthemen prägen entsprechend vermehrt auch den Finanzmarkt. Diesbezügliche Finanzanlagen haben stark an Bedeutung gewonnen, sowohl in der Vermögensverwaltung und der Anlageberatung als auch bei Pensionskassen und Versicherungen. So haben sich in der Schweiz nachhaltige Finanzanlagen von CHF 141,7 Mrd. (2015) auf über CHF 1'163 Mrd. (2019) vervielfacht.

Am 24. Juni 2020 hat der Bundesrat einen Bericht und Leitlinien zur Nachhaltigkeit im Finanzsektor verabschiedet: Der Schweizer Finanzplatz soll seine Position als führender Standort für nachhaltige Finanzdienstleistungen weiter stärken. Die Rahmenbedingungen sind so zu gestalten, dass die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Schweizer Finanzplatzes kontinuierlich verbessert wird und der Finanzsektor einen effektiven Beitrag zur Nachhaltigkeit leisten kann.

Damit die Finanzmärkte die Umweltrisiken gebührend berücksichtigen können, ist es eine wichtige Voraussetzung, dass sowohl in der Finanz- wie auch der Realwirtschaft eine qualitativ hochwertige Datengrundlage in Anlehnung an internationale Standards vorhanden ist. Eine erhöhte Transparenz zu Umweltrisiken und -wirkung erlaubt zudem eine effiziente Entscheidungsfindung der Anleger, fördert die Innovationskraft der Finanzwirtschaft und hilft, Greenwashing zu vermeiden.

Damit die Risiken für die Finanzmarktakteure klarer sicht- und spürbar werden, müssen die externen Kosten der Umwelt- und Klimaschädigung von wirtschaftlichem Handeln in der Realwirtschaft internalisiert werden. Der Bundesrat setzt sich weiterhin international dafür ein, dass Emissionen von Treibhausgasen anhand marktwirtschaftlicher Instrumente, wie Abgaben oder Emissionshandelssystemen, einen adäquaten Preis bekommen.

Green Fintech

Dank der effizienteren Nutzung digitaler Technologien werden Fintechs für den Finanzplatz zunehmend an Bedeutung gewinnen, entweder indem sie als Innovationspartner traditioneller Finanzakteure auftreten oder indem sie deren Wertschöpfung punktuell ablösen. Für die Nachhaltigkeit und künftige Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Schweizer Finanzplatzes sind Fintechs daher von zentraler Bedeutung. Der Bundesrat positioniert den Finanzplatz Schweiz als weltweit führend in der Ausnützung des Potenzials digitaler Technologien im Bereich Sustainable Finance (Green Fintech).

Tests zur Klimaverträglichkeit

Das Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU) und das Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen (SIF) haben 2017 allen Schweizer Pensionskassen und Versicherungen ermöglicht, freiwillig und kostenlos ihre Aktien- und Unternehmensanleihenportfolios auf deren Klimaverträglichkeit testen zu lassen. Dieser Test wurde 2020 erneuert und auf Banken und Asset Manager ausgeweitet. 

 

Weiterführende Informationen

Letzte Änderung 19.01.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern

info@sif.admin.ch

Kontakt drucken

Links

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/finanzmarktpolitik/nachhalt_finanzsektor.html