Integrity of the financial centre

Switzerland attaches great importance to a healthy financial centre. Over the past few decades, Switzerland has gradually established a robust and comprehensive system for combating money laundering and terrorist financing that combines preventive measures with repressive ones.

Switzerland actively participates internationally in the fight against money laundering and terrorist financing. In particular, it plays an active part in the Financial Action Task Force (FATF).

The FATF member states' compliance with the FATF standards is regularly evaluated. The FATF evaluated Switzerland for the fourth time in 2016. Although it acknowledged the overall good quality of the Swiss system, it identified certain shortcomings and made corresponding recommendations.

Parliament adopted the amendment to the Anti-Money Laundering Act on 19 March 2021. The aim of this revision is to implement some of the most important country report recommendations and to improve Switzerland's defence mechanism for money laundering and terrorist financing.

The revision provides for measures for financial intermediaries in the areas of beneficial ownership, updating of client data and reports on suspected money laundering. Moreover, it promotes the transparency of associations and strengthens supervision and controls in the area of precious metals. The revised Anti-Money Laundering Act is expected to enter into force by mid-2022.

 

In addition to the Anti-Money Laundering Act, the Swiss Civil Code, the Swiss Code of Obligations, the Criminal Code, the Precious Metals Control Act and the Financial Market Supervision Act also need to be amended in order to implement the measures.

Coordinating group

The Federal Council additionally established the interdepartmental coordinating group on combating money laundering and the financing of terrorism (CGMF) in 2013. In June 2015, the CGMF published the first report on the national assessment of the risks of money laundering and terrorist financing (NRA). 

National report on risks of money laundering and terrorist financing

The CGMF has also published several analyses of money laundering and terrorist financing risks in various areas (see below: "Further information" > "Reports"). Further analytical reports are being prepared.

Further information

Reports

Reports GAFI

Reports CGMF

Other reports

Last modification 18.03.2021

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Berne

info@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/integritaet-des-finanzplatzes-.html

Integrität des Finanzplatzes

Die Schweiz misst einem gesunden Finanzplatz grosse Bedeutung bei. In den vergangenen Jahrzehnten hat sie schrittweise ein solides und umfassendes System zur Bekämpfung der Geldwäscherei und Terrorismusfinanzierung errichtet, welches präventive mit repressiven Massnahmen verbindet.   

Die Schweiz beteiligt sich auf internationaler Ebene aktiv an der Bekämpfung der Geldwäscherei und Terrorismusfinanzierung. Insbesondere wirkt sie in der Financial Action Task Force (FATF) mit.

Die Mitgliedstaaten der FATF werden regelmässig in Bezug auf die Einhaltung der FATF-Standards geprüft. Die FATF hat die Schweiz 2016 zum vierten Mal geprüft. Obwohl die FATF die insgesamt gute Qualität des schweizerischen Dispositivs anerkannte, identifizierte sie gewisse Schwachstellen und gab entsprechende Empfehlungen ab.

Am 19. März 2021 hat das Parlament die Änderung des Geldwäschereigesetzes verabschiedet. Ziel dieser Revision ist es, einige der wichtigsten Empfehlungen aus dem Länderbericht umzusetzen und das Abwehrdispositiv der Schweiz zur Geldwäscherei und Terrorismusfinanzierung zu verbessern.

Die Revision sieht Massnahmen vor für Finanzintermediäre in den Bereichen wirtschaftliche Berechtigung, Aktualität der Kundendaten und Geldwäschereiverdachtsmeldungen. Zudem fördert sie die Transparenz von Vereinen und verstärkt die Aufsicht und Kontrollen im Bereich der Edelmetalle. Das revidierte Geldwäschereigesetz soll bis Mitte 2022 in Kraft treten.

Für die Umsetzung der Massnahmen sind neben dem Geldwäschereigesetz auch das Zivilgesetzbuch, das Obligationenrecht, das Strafgesetzbuch, das Edelmetallkontrollgesetz und das Finanzmarktaufsichtsgesetz anzupassen.

Koordinationsgruppe

2013 hat der Bundesrat zudem die interdepartementale Koordinationsgruppe zur Bekämpfung der Geldwäscherei und der Terrorismusfinanzierung (KGGT) ins Leben gerufen. Diese hat im Juni 2015 den ersten Bericht über die natio­nale Beurteilung der Geldwäscherei- und Terro­rismusfinanzierungsrisiken (NRA) veröffentlicht. 

Nationaler Bericht über die Risiken der Geldwäscherei und der Terrorismusfinanzierung

Die KGGT hat darüber hinaus mehrere Analysen zu den Geldwäscherei- und Terrorismusfinanzierungsrisiken in verschiedenen Bereichen publiziert (siehe unten: "Weiterführende Informationen" > "Berichte"). Weitere Analyseberichte sind in Erarbeitung.

 

Weiterführende Informationen

Berichte

Berichte GAFI

Berichte KGGT

Weitere Berichte

Letzte Änderung 15.03.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF

Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern

info@sif.admin.ch

Kontakt drucken

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/finanzmarktpolitik/integritaet-des-finanzplatzes-.html