Regulatory process

The implementation of the extensive regulatory efforts since the financial crisis at a national and international level are at an advanced stage. This brings forward the new topic of regulatory process. The main aim of better regulation, as it is known in the EU and favoured in other countries, aims to make regulation more efficient and more effective. Back in 2014, the group of experts on the further development of the financial market strategy made recommendations to improve the regulatory processes, which the Federal Council supported.

Central elements of the new regulatory process are the early involvement of the industry, early estimation of the costs and benefits of a regulation, as well as carrying out ex post evaluations of existing regulations. Exchanges with the industry within the framework of regular meetings have been reinitiated, intensified and given a broader basis. The involvement of the parties concerned has been intensified in a number of specific legislative projects. 

Regulatory impact analyses are an integral part of the entire regulatory process, independent of whether the work at the legislative and ordinance levels takes place. This also involves the early preparation of regulatory outlines which briefly summarise the most important information on a proposal. In addition to the cost/benefit considerations, increased emphasis is generally placed on quantitative issues.

In its report on financial market policy for a competitive financial centre from autumn 2016, the Federal Council stated that well-founded, full and independent ex post evaluation should be performed on selected, important regulations in the financial sphere to ascertain their effectiveness and identify the possible need for deregulation or regulation. The existing regulatory process can be rounded off in this way. The first-time application of this instrument was postponed in agreement with the industry. 

The implementation and continuous optimisation of the new regulatory process is a permanent task and is therefore far from complete. It continues to require the necessary high level of attention from the offices concerned.

Last modification 19.07.2018

Top of page

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprozess.html

Regulierungsprozess

Die Umsetzung der Regulierungsbestrebungen seit der Finanzkrise sowohl auf globaler als auch auf nationaler Ebene ist weit fortgeschritten. Dies bringt ein neues Thema in den Fokus, den Regulierungsprozess als solchen. In der EU mit „Better Regulation“ bezeichnet und auch in anderen Ländern en vogue, geht es im Grundsatz darum, die Regulierung effizienter und effektiver auszugestalten. In der Schweiz hat die Expertengruppe zur „Weiterentwicklung der Finanzmarktstrategie“ bereits Ende 2014 Empfehlungen zur Verbesserung des Regulierungsprozesses ausgearbeitet, die vom Bundesrat unterstützt wurden.

Zentrale Elemente des neuen Regulierungsprozesses sind der frühzeitige Einbezug der Branche, die frühe Einschätzung zu den Kosten und Nutzen einer Regulierung sowie das Durchführen von ex-post Evaluationen von bestehenden Regulierungen. Der Austausch mit der Branche im Rahmen von regelmässig stattfindenden Sitzungen wurde neu aufgegleist, intensiviert und auf eine breitere Basis gestellt. Der Einbezug der Betroffenen wurde auch bei Gesetzesprojekten verstärkt. 

Regulierungsfolgenabschätzungen sind Bestandteil des gesamten Regulierungsprozesses, unabhängig davon ob die Arbeiten auf Gesetzes- oder auf Verordnungsebene stattfinden. Dazu gehört auch das frühzeitige Erstellen von Regulierungsskizzen, die in kurzer Form die wichtigsten Informationen zu einer Vorlage enthalten. Neben qualitativen Kosten- und Nutzenüberlegungen stehen generell vermehrt auch quantitative Fragen im Vordergrund. 

Der Bundesrat hat in seinem Bericht zur Finanzmarktpolitik für einen wettbewerbsfähigen Finanzplatz vom Herbst 2016 festgehalten, dass ausgewählte, wichtige Regulierungen im Finanzbereich einer fundierten, umfassenden und unabhängigen ex-post Evaluation unterzogen werden sollen, um ihre Wirksamkeit zu prüfen und einen möglichen De- oder Re-regulierungsbedarf festzustellen. Damit kann der bestehende Regulierungsprozess komplettiert werden. Die erstmalige Anwendung dieses Instruments wurde jedoch im Einvernehmen mit der Branche aufgeschoben. 

Die Umsetzung und laufende Optimierung des neuen Regulierungsprozesses ist eine Daueraufgabe und damit keineswegs abgeschlossen. Sie erfordert auch weiterhin die Aufmerksamkeit der betroffenen Stellen. 

Letzte Änderung 12.07.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprozess.html