Systemically important banks

The global financial and economic crisis in 2008 showed that a big bank encountering serious difficulties can constitute a considerable burden for the economy, even in Switzerland. The Federal Council wants to prevent such banks from being too big to fail and to prevent the state from having to use tax revenues to save them.

The second review of the too-big-to-fail provisions by the Federal Council shows that Swiss regulation fares well in international comparison. It is suited to reducing the risk of systemically important banks so that no fundamental changes are required.

Gone concern capital requirements are intended to ensure that a bank in difficulty can be restructured and wound up in an orderly manner without financial assistance from the state. Following the introduction of gone concern capital requirements for UBS and Credit Suisse back in 2016, since 1 January 2019 these apply also to the domestically focused systemically important banks (PostFinance, Raiffeisen and Zürcher Kantonalbank). The level of the new requirements reflects the going concern capital requirements already in force today, which ensure the continuation of business activities in the event of major losses. Unlike for the big banks, however, only 40% of the requirements are reflected, as the domestically focused banks are less interconnected internationally.

At the end of November 2019, the Federal Council decided on the corresponding requirements for the parent entities of the two big banks.

Further information

Contact

State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Legal Services
Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 480 09 62

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprojekte/systemrelevante-banken.html

Systemrelevante Banken

Die globale Finanz- und Wirtschaftskrise von 2008 hat auch in der Schweiz gezeigt, dass die Schieflage einer Grossbank eine erhebliche Belastung für die Volkswirtschaft darstellen kann. Der Bundesrat will verhindern, dass solche Banken „zu gross sind, um unterzugehen“ (too big to fail, TBTF) und der Staat Steuergelder zu deren Rettung einsetzen muss.

Die zweite Überprüfung der Too-big-to-fail-Bestimmungen durch den Bundesrat hat gezeigt, dass die Schweizer Regelung im internationalen Vergleich gut dasteht. Sie ist geeignet, das Risiko systemrelevanter Banken zu reduzieren. Es bedarf keiner grundsätzlichen Neuausrichtung.

Gone-concern-Kapitalanforderungen sollen sicherstellen, dass eine in Schwierigkeiten geratene Bank ohne finanzielle Mithilfe des Staates geordnet saniert und abgewickelt werden kann. Nachdem Gone-concern-Kapitalanforderungen für UBS und Credit Suisse bereits 2016 eingeführt wurden, gelten diese seit dem 1. Januar 2019 auch für die inlandorientierten systemrelevanten Banken (PostFinance AG, Raiffeisen und Zürcher Kantonalbank). In der Höhe spiegeln die neuen Anforderungen die schon heute geltenden Going-concern-Kapitalanforderungen, welche die Fortsetzung der Geschäftstätigkeit bei grösseren Verlusten sicherstellen. Die Spiegelung erfolgt aber anders als bei den Grossbanken nur zu 40 Prozent, da die inlandorientieren Banken international weniger verflochten sind.

Ende November 2019 hat der Bundesrat über die entsprechenden Anforderungen für die Stammhäuser der beiden Grossbanken entschieden.

Weiterführende Informationen

Kontakt

Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF

Rechtsdienst
Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 465 34 81

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Kontakt drucken

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprojekte/systemrelevante-banken.html