Federal Financial Services Act (FinSA) and Financial Institutions Act (FinIA)

The FinSA and FinIA are part of the new regulatory financial market architecture. The purpose of both laws is to create a level playing field, boost the competitiveness of the financial centre and improve client protection. 

The FinSA contains rules on providing financial services and offering financial instruments for all financial service providers and makes it easier for clients to enforce their claims against financial service providers. A differentiated supervisory regime for financial institutions (portfolio managers and trustees, managers of collective assets, fund management companies and securities firms) will be introduced with the FinIA. 

Parliament adopted both bills in the final votes on 15 June 2018. The referendum deadline expired unused in autumn 2018. In parallel, work has begun on the ordinance provisions. The two new laws, together with their implementing provisions, have come into force on 1 January 2020. 

Further information

Contact

State Secretariat for International Finance SIF

Legal Services
Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 480 09 62

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/en/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprojekte/fidleg-finig.html

Finanzdienstleistungsgesetz (FIDLEG) und Finanzinstitutsgesetz (FINIG)

Das FIDLEG und das FINIG sind Teil der neuen regulatorischen Finanzmarktarchitektur. Beide Gesetze dienen dazu, einheitliche Wettbewerbsbedin­gungen zu schaffen, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Finanzplatzes zu stärken und den Kundenschutz zu verbessern.

Das FIDLEG enthält für alle Finanzdienstleister Regeln über die Erbringung von Finanzdienstlei­stungen sowie das Anbieten von Finanzinstru­menten und erleichtert es Kundinnen und Kunden, ihre Ansprüche gegenüber Finanzdienstleistern durchzusetzen. Mit dem FINIG wird eine differenzierte Aufsichtsre­gelung für Finanzinstitute (Vermögensverwalter und Trustees, Verwalter von Kollektivvermögen, Fondsleitungen sowie Wertpapierhäuser) einge­führt.

Die eidgenössischen Räte haben die beiden Gesetzesvorlagen am 15. Juni 2018 in den Schlussabstimmungen verabschiedet. Die Referendumsfrist ist im Herbst 2018 unbenutzt abgelaufen. Die beiden neuen Gesetze sind zusammen mit den Vollzugsbestimmungen am 1. Januar 2020 in Kraft getreten.

            

Weiterführende Informationen

Kontakt

Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF

Rechtsdienst
Bundesgasse 3
3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 465 34 81

rechtsdienst@sif.admin.ch

Kontakt drucken

https://www.sif.admin.ch/content/sif/de/home/finanzmarktpolitik/finanzmarktregulierung-und--aufsicht-/regulierungsprojekte/fidleg-finig.html